spicymchaggis wrote: » First off appreciate anyone who takes the time to give some feedback here. So I'm looking at replacing an ancient Grant 50-80 slimline oil boiler that is an external boiler house in a house that was built in the early '80s. It takes a good amount to time to heat the rads in the house, a flush would probably help. The current system in a single zone, all on or all off. Getting multi zones fitted would probably involve extensive work. We recently had a gas line run to the house. There are 8 rads in the house, 3 downstairs, 4 upstairs, and 1 in the converted attic. I'm looking at switching to a combi boiler as we only have one bathroom and the sink in the kitchen. Are there any recommendations as to which boilers or a different type? What type of smart system would recommend for a setup like this? Hive / nest / evohome / Drayton etc... Recommend smart TRVs? What grants are available for a configuration like this? Once again, any help appreciated.
deezell wrote: » Do you have a wall thermostat? Do you have more than one? Do you have a controller box with programable heating times, and possibly programable Hot water times. Do you have a HW cylinder in a hot press, or does you HW come directly from the gas boiler on demand. The above will determine the ease with which a Neat stat can be connected.
spicymchaggis wrote: » Cheers for the feedback. Was leaning towards Honeywell evohome or Tado. Is there any requirement on the boiler for these in particular? Does the boiler need to have opentherm? Does fitting all rads with TRVs count towards SEAI grant for upgrading controls?
strangel00p wrote: » Thanks Deezell and championc for the advice. I have just 1 thermostat in the hall. There is a timer control on the gas boiler and I have a HW cylinder in the hotpress. It would be grand to get an electrician to install a nest thermostat in the hall, but I'm not sure if this is a big and expensive job to do.
deezell wrote: » It's a simple enough install. I'm guessing you can have HW only if you turn on the timer and turn the stat down. This suggests a gravity mode system, timer operates the boiler and the stat operates the circulation pump. HW is heated without the pump. The Nest can be wired easily to control the boiler and circulation pump in gravity mode.
garo wrote: » No need for OpenTherm. Both can work with any boiler at all. Old boilers that are on/off work perfectly. i got the Honeywell Evohome from Electric Ireland - 12 radiator install. Cost me 1600 after grant. Would be cheaper for you with fewer rads. But its the Rolls Royce and a fantastic system. A lot of people here have installed Tado and some have even done a DIY with it. I would go for one or the other or maybe Drayton Wiser. I think for controls grant you need to go from a system with no controls which your on/off system is. So yes you should qualify as long as you install a system to control. Either smart TRVs or a thermostat and zones. As long as you get an SEAI registered installer who is willing to do the paperwork, you can claim a grant.
Brusna wrote: » Another Drayton Wiser system question. I have the dual heating and hot water system. I’m thinking about adding the smart trv’s to the upstairs rads. So the question is what to do with the upstairs thermostat. It’s in the landing and there’s no rad in the landing. Does it act as a master control for the upstairs circuit or will it not be needed. Thanks.
deezell wrote: » I'm assuming the TRVs will be paired to the upstairs zone receiver relay, and would therefore open the zone valve thus calling the boiler. The stat would act for all non TRV rads. I've not fully read the wiser TRV integration. With Tado the zone stat is the relay, and must remain, though it's temperature measuring function can be disabled in favour of one of the associated stats, and vice versa.
Brusna wrote: » The plan would be to put smart trv’s on all the rads on the circuit and they would be paired with heat hub C3 (upstairs circuit). I’m thinking that the existing stat will have to be taken off the system or left there and set to off because If the landing is cooler than the rooms it could call the zone valve to open even though all the trv’s are closed so there would be no place for the water to go.
deezell wrote: » That sounds correct. It's just another device on the hub. If you TRV the entire zone it has no function. Easily tested if you get a few TRVs to start with. Do your rads have existing mechanical TRVs or just rotary valves? If the latter you will need to replace with TRV valve bodies.
Brusna wrote: » Thanks for confirming that. Yeah I recently changed all the valves to mechanical trv’s with this plan in mind.
deezell wrote: » You're way ahead of the curve. There were some serious deals on the Drayton TRVs a while back, though currently only £40 in Amazon and B&Q UK. €50 here in Screwfix.
Brusna wrote: » They are good value at the moment alright but I’ve seen them as low as £34 on Amazon during sales. One negative about changing to the smart trv’s is the time it takes to make changes to schedules will be a lot more as instead of one zone I’ll have five with only one of those different to the other four. But each zone or room will have to be set individually. It’s a pity there isn’t a way to setup and save schedules for different uses, say one for work/school days when everyone is out during the day and another for holidays when people are at home. Then just select the different schedules as needed.
peposhi wrote: » I had Climote heating controls in my previous house and loved it. Now I wish to install it in my new place and I thought of going the DIY way. I can get a second hand unit, replace the current heating controls (standard 3 zone one) and contact Climote to activate. The questions is - do they allow such option or it has to be installed by them, sim-card supplied by them and all the rest? Will be contacting them next week over it, just hoped someone on here has experience on this road and may share if there're any catches/obstacles to be aware of...
deezell wrote: » Why would you install Climote? Why would you pay subs through a SIM card. No geolocation, open window detection, climate adjustment, OpenTherm, TRVs, it's basically a digitised 3 zone timer. Get a smart system, Drayton or Hive or Tado. Drayton wiser kit 3 ideal for a swap in replacement, comes with 2 real stats to put in your zone locations, not just the one built into the controller which may be in a poor location for measuring zone temperature.
bobbyg wrote: » I am in the process of doing a house extension and attic conversion, we are stitching to a combi boiler and chagning all the current rads to new ones. I am wondering what would be our best option for smart controls. We have google home throughout the house so would the nest thermostat be the best option. Does this allow us zone the heating, sorry I am completely clueless with this sort of stuff.
peposhi wrote: » Had a quick look at the prices... ScrewFix have the Drayton yoke for €235. The Climote I found would cost me €50 and whatever yearly subscription there will be...