Arghus wrote: » That was Sinéad O' Carroll who "let herself down" - whatever that means.
healy1835 wrote: » No. Not even remotely true.
Ol' Donie wrote: »
TRANQUILLO wrote: » The george gibney one is such a rip off of serial season 1. The car conversations , the piano music. Almost identikit podcasting by numbers.
TRANQUILLO wrote: » I thought she was very good that day regarding Peterson and then let herself down on the Belfast Rugby trial one ( im 90% sure it was her, hope I am not confusing her with the normally brilliant Angela Nagle).
duffman13 wrote: » Wouldnt consider myself left wing or I certainly havent noticed it. Usually with podcasts you can pick it up fairly quickly but I have been listening to them years and it hasnt smacked me in the face yet. I just started the blindboy podcast and he is pretty good on some stuff but overtly left leaning from what I have heard so far. Jordan Peterson is like a touch point for a lot of people. Take his political and religious views out and I can listen to him as he is interesting on certain topics. I dunno maybe I am just too thick to notice whether someone is left leaning or right leaning unless there are very clear on it. As you said, its the best sports podcast out there and that is why I listen to it.
Ol' Donie wrote: » Fùckin veil. There is no veil. What does that even mean?
Arghus wrote: » It just means that the usual bolloxology that fills up elsewhere on the site is here now too. I wouldn't say any veil has slipped with the lads in relation to how they talk about political or cultural hot topics. They've been pretty consistent in all of the fourteen years I've been listening to them. Everything sounds like a "left wing echo chamber" if you're to the right of it. And if you post about it on boards.ie chances are you are pretty far to that right IMO. Looking back on that Peterson talk. I thought it was a really good example of Ken not being afraid to make an ass of himself, almost on purpose, in order to stimulate a worthwhile conversation. Ken rhymed off his hot-takes on Peterson and Laura Kennedy examined them and tried to put what Peterson was saying in a bit of a wider context. I thought it was one of the fairer examples of a discussion about Peterson in the media at the time.
Arghus wrote: » Anyone else find all the Messi talk a bit exasperating yesterday? I know it's a big story, but really does anyone actually believe he'll really end up leaving Barcelona in the end?
Xavi6 wrote: » Agree re: the movie club being a drag but it's still infinitely more interesting than the rugby and GAA discussions.
D.Q wrote: » Murph and mal movies is comfortably the worst segment in rotation at the moment. Murph is good foil for the lads but should not have a starring role in anything. Especially if its not even sport related really.
Arghus wrote: » https://www.secondcaptains.com/2018/02/16/episode-1089-psychology-pronouns-alt-right-dad-rules-analysing-jordan-peterson-laura-kennedy/
Arghus wrote: » We should be thankful. Have a look at the Off The Ball thread in the radio forum. The absolute state of it. The absolute state of 90% of threads on the site with more than 100 replies. How this thread has stayed sane and relatively civil over the course of 10,000 posts is a minor Boards miracle.
duffman13 wrote: » Listened today, missed it at the time but I found it thoroughly enjoyable. Ken was a passenger a bit, never heard of Laura before this but felt she was incredibly balanced
yermandan wrote: » I can't remember this pod, any chance you could find which episode number it is?
kilns wrote: » I know this is a second captains thread and should stay like that, but Blindboy is a prat
Arghus wrote: » Rugby chat is an instant skip for me too, pure listening to explaining the mechanics of paint drying. The corportist vibe of a lot of their contributors makes their words sound like the sporting cousins of business BS speak - which gets to the heart of why I increasingly find myself disliking rugby more as the years go on. You listen to the bit at the start and the bit at the end and excise the Shane Horgan filler in the middle. He talks a lot. Does he ever say anything interesting? Genuine question.
Ivefoundgod wrote: » In fairness this thread remains one of the few the places that has managed to avoid infiltration from the right wingers who've taken over most of the site at this stage. Its good to see that as soon as someone tries to start that ****e in here they get shot down straight away.
lawred2 wrote: » Some dumb ****e pulled from American trash sites where being of a social/liberal disposition is almost like something you'd try to hide publicly.. you know the usual "keep politics out of x" when really it means "keep your politics out of x but I'll be happy to have mine".. There's been a few fellas in this thread getting fierce upset with the lads over their perceived leftiness.