golfball37 wrote: » How is this still running? Just watched interview there and cannot believe people are taking what they want from it. He did not blame anybody except himself for attending the dinner and his own stupidity. I was completely satisfied with his explanations and at this stage can the news cycle please move on to something worthy rather than petty political payback because Hogan was ignorant to a few people back in the day. We have serious issues to deal with and comeuppance should not be dominating the news cycle. If his employer has a problem with him she will deal with it. As a taxpayer here who is no fan of his or FG I am shaking my head in disbelief that this is being pursued with such vigour. The longer this is about Phil Hogan the longer these sort of dinners and what sort of business being carried on at them is glossed over. Bigger fools the lot of us. Well done commissioner I say, now please get back to work and do the state some service in your important role.
Mrcaramelchoc wrote: » Brilliant i will be doing exactly that.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » I can't say he wasn't, as you can't say he was. What I can say is his time in Clifden was not essential and that and his behaviour before hand and after is the issue. Fair play for trying to defend him, but except for a few other posters here it doesn't wash.
Gregor Samsa wrote: » Coronavirus, lockdown, a baying mob, cancel culture. This story is basically everything that happened in 2020 rolled into one dinner.
jojofizzio wrote: » It’ll give her the best laugh ever though:pac:
normanoffside wrote: » EU/American trade deals are important to Ireland as well! You can't say he wasn't conducting essential work while he was in Ireland, the golf is just a side show.
stockshares wrote: » This is more or less the public life figures and business interests at the do. There were other people at it such as Spouses that I left out. Let me know of any mistakes. Judges Supreme Court judge + former AG Seamus Woulfe, Circuit Court judge Pat McCartan, Commissioners and MEPs (current and former) EU Commissioner Phil Hogan Brian Hayes (Former MEP) Ambassadors Moroccan Ambassador(said to be Guest of Lorraine Higgins) Ministers Dara Calleary - Resigned from Ministry TDs(current and former) Independent TD Noel Grealish Frank Fahey(Former) Noel Dempsey(Former) Gerry Brady(Former) Áine Brady(Former) currently ThirdAge Ireland Brian Hayes(Former) currently BPFI Gerry Reynolds(Former) Dr Michael Harty(Former) and Oireachtas Health Paul Daly Civil Servants/Oireachtais John Flaherty Oireachtas Health+Safety - resigned Cait Hayes(head of protocol for Oireachtas) sister of Brian Hayes Senators(current+former) Paul Daly, Aidan Davitt, Niall Blaney, Paddy Burke, John Cummins Jerry Buttimer - Demoted Donie Cassidy Imelda Henry(Former) Cait Keane(Former) Lorraine Higgins(Former) Barrister and Digital Business Ireland(Lobbyist) Cait Keane(Former) Councillors Paudge Connolly Monaghan(Former TD) Martin Brett (Killkenny) - Resigned Enda McGlion(Longford) - Resigned Journalism Sean O Rourke Unknown 3 guests of Brian Hayes Guests of Gerry +Áine Brady Station House Hotel John Sweeney
jojofizzio wrote: » McConkey on Prime Time putting the boot into big Phil...
gmisk wrote: » How long has he been tweeting and explaining? 5 days? He looks increasingly fecked
tigger123 wrote: » No, wait... what he ... said the first time, that's what ... he said, but he didn't... eh ... mean the ehm, wait hold on, I just to disable the comments here...
Plumbthedepths wrote: » EU Commissioner playing a game of golf is not essential. What part do you have trouble with? Again the EU Commissioner role is to represent the EU and not one particular EU state. His loyalty is to the EU they even pinkie swear an oath to this effect. Actually he claimed he was working on an EU/ American trade deal, you seem confused it's ok you have something in common with Phil
Gods Gift wrote: » When your explaining, your losing Phil.
Psychiatric Patrick wrote: » Too much swearing in this thread. She doesn't like profanity
mick087 wrote: » I doubt all 81 heads will roll but imagine the publics confidence in such a goverment if they did
Psychiatric Patrick wrote: » RTÉ player has stopped working for me for the last hour or two
jojofizzio wrote: » This thread....and the other one...;)
normanoffside wrote: » EU trade commissioner not essential? LOL The whole Brexit trade negotiations depend on him, quite essential to Ireland and he was working while visiting home.
fly_agaric wrote: » Yes am queasy about precedent it sets if he is removed on foot of Irish govt. almost demanding it [despite the disclaimer]. If he resigns, maybe it is less of a problem, but if he will not resign & Commission/Von Der Leyen cannot agree there is enough of an ethics issue to work to have him removed [seems a tough process and not done easily (edit: dug up a IT link but it is quite old so removed)]... what then? Could be trouble ahead between Irish govt., and the EU? Not great at all really.