abff wrote: » After doing the above calculations, I had a look at the schedule for the remainder of the year and I can’t see DJ playing any more than 6 or 7 times between now and year end. Two playoff events, two majors, a WGC and possibly one or two others. I think that somewhat reduces the likelihood of CM passing him in the rankings by year end.
gypsy79 wrote: » Sorry but that shows complete lack of understanding of the reason why Morikawa may become world number 1 DJ has points coming on and off and will remain between 40 and 52 events Morikawa has only played 29 events but must use 40 as a divisor If he was allowed to use 29 then his average points would be 10.28 (298.18/29) This would have him well ahead of DJ who has 9.16
bren2001 wrote: » That's all very interesting. I assume an additional 90 points gets Colin to around 370 with the weightings and all that? I thought the gap between the two in terms of performance was slightly larger than it is. I did think DJ would have to have a big upturn or Colin a big downturn for him not to be number 1 but I didn't look at the maths in detail. Of course, you would expect one of them to outperform the other but it does go to show how close Colin is to #1. The only thing I'm not following is why DJ not playing more than 6/7 impacts Morikawa. Surely the biggest variable is him closing in on 40 tournaments?
abff wrote: » My projections were based on downloading the data from the OWGR and rolling forward the weightings to future dates. They are based on hard data, not conjecture. To say that I show a complete lack of understanding is not only extremely insulting, it’s also completely inaccurate. You are the one who seems to be having difficulty understanding how the rankings work.
gypsy79 wrote: » Morikawa has only played 29 events but must use 40 as a divisor If he was allowed to use 29 then his average points would be 10.28 (298.18/29) This would have him well ahead of DJ who has 9.16
gypsy79 wrote: » Then explain how the 7 competitions reduce the chances of CM been number 1. I have shown that CM would be a full point ahead of DJ if the 40 multiplier didnt exist
abff wrote: » Sorry, just seen this now. Hopefully my last two posts explain things to your satisfaction, but I’m happy to discuss further if you’ve any additional questions.
gypsy79 wrote: » You are doing quite a bit of if my auntie had balls she would be my uncle. Statistics can be misused to prove nearly any reasonable point (see your point is reasonable but just wrong imo) Just taking away the last two results from Dj (going soon) and his average drops to 16.17, take away 5 and it is 15.59 It will be a full year till Morikawa will have played two years and be in similar situation. He is nearly at Im levels of turning up for tournies I have a degree in statistics and people (ab)using numbers to prove their point is a pet hate!!
bren2001 wrote: » Can you explain how the poster has misused statistics?
gypsy79 wrote: » He is cherry picking where it suits his argument. And presenting the different parts of their records in a way that suit his narrative. The fact that Morikawas bad results are longer away is a good thing DJ also more more points that are going to start eroding
bren2001 wrote: » You've a degree in statistics, I'd be interested in seeing your model for predicting who will be world number 1 by the end of the November.
abff wrote: » J The total points earned by Morikawa over those 29 tournaments was 328.96. Allowing for the weighting applied to points earned more than 13 weeks ago gives the adjusted total of 298.18 that is used to calculate his ranking. He therefore earned an average of 11.33 points per tournament, but the erosion of points values over time reduces this to 10.28. In the 45 tournaments played by DJ, he has earned 771.56 points, a whopping average of 17.15 per tournament and over 50% higher than Morikawa’s average.
abff wrote: » In the 45 tournaments played by DJ, he has earned 771.56 points, a whopping average of 17.15 per tournament
abff wrote: » But this weighting will remain relatively stable as new tournaments come into the calculation and older ones fall out of the reckoning.
abff wrote: » The lowest weighting applied to any of Morikawa’s results is .5761. The lowest applying to DJ is .0109. The average weighting for Morikawa is 90.7%, for DJ it is 53.4%. Again, these are based on ALL the data underlying their current ranking.
Bubbaclaus wrote: » We all have degrees in statistics on boards.
gypsy79 wrote: » Here he chooses to ignores the erosion that DJ will suffer. He does it at another stage but decides not to show it in actual points
gypsy79 wrote: » Ignores this will drop 15 soon over 40 comps
gypsy79 wrote: » Not true as per point above
gypsy79 wrote: » I could go on but I wont.
gypsy79 wrote: » People do this subconciously all the time
gypsy79 wrote: » The 90.7% is because Morikawas results initially were just OK. This is perfect example of what I am accusing you of doing!
gypsy79 wrote: » In 4 weeks time this weighting will be still be well above 0.5 and the two of them will have played three comps with 70, approx 60 and 100 ranking points for the winner, The results in these are key. And if they match each other it will get closer! Are you disagreeing?
etxp wrote: » Jaysus lads will ye give it a break!
Macker1 wrote: » Covid situation and possibly working from home seems to be sending people over the edge.
abff wrote: » Fair enough! Just standing up for myself, but I'm sure I can find something better to do than running loads of different calculations just for the hell of it. It's not that I have any particular interest in either of the players. I'm just something of a numbers nerd.