expectationlost wrote: » i thought only 2 negative tests did, or 1 after a certain time of self-isolation, but he had been in hospital a got test during that time he could have been infected in hospital and would to further self isolate.
mick087 wrote: » The sneer comments speaks volumes about the person sending such comments. These people do the cause for EU change more good than harm.
billybonkers wrote: » 5 August - I was admitted to a Dublin hospital for a medical procedure. While in hospital, I tested negative for Covid-19 (www.citizensinformation.ie confirms that a negative test result ends the self-restriction period). This is how he will get out of it
Hurrache wrote: » Hard to see him go based on this, unless de paper is still withholding something and he'll hoist himself by his own petard. He has some pretty stupid excuses though, blaming the hotels federation and insisting the details of the relevant S.I. weren't supplied until after the dinner.https://twitter.com/PhilHoganEU/status/1298251592936722434
First Up wrote: » You are getting (my) sneer comments because despite it being explained to you, the workings of both representative democracy and the EU continue to elude you. The Irish electorate voted in a government that nominated Hogan as Ireland's EU Commissioner. That's how our democracy works. The next government we vote in will nominate a candidate of their choosing when it next arises. If you don't like that system of Irish governance or the EU Treaties under which commissioners are appointed, you can (democratically) campaign to (a) have a general election and vote in a different government (b) campaign (democratically) to change the Irish Constitution under which governments are elected, formed and empowered or (c) campaign (democratically) to hold a referendum to leave the EU. So you would be better off working the system - as soon as you understand it of course.
ChikiChiki wrote: » I think that draws a line under events.
LuckyLloyd wrote: » He’s in the clear. The negative test for his medical procedure clears him of the quarantine violation. Fair play lad, now go and stick it to the Brits. Good show by the Examiner all the same.
elperello wrote: » One vote on it's own is limited in it's power to effect change. You are of course correct that we don't have a vote to elect EU Commissioners and we have had quite a discussion why that is the case. Personally I have never identified a cause that I was willing to devote a life long struggle to. I have spent shorter intensive periods working for change in different areas with varying levels of success. I'm sorry you feel you were insulted or the victim of sneering comments.
boardise wrote: » -Why would the G Commissioner then notify the politicians about such a fairly low level technical non-criminal offence . Surely only serious matters of national security or terrorism etc. would warrant such an action . Have privacy rights been violated here ?
Hurrache wrote: » Hard to see him go based on this, unless de paper is still withholding something and he'll hoist himself by his own petard.https://twitter.com/PhilHoganEU/status/1298251592936722434
Strawberry Milkshake wrote: » Oh my days. He ate in the limerick hotel in full view of others. He was stopped by a Garda in Kildare. How the hell does he think that these things won’t come out? And there’s people here saying he is clever?
expectationlost wrote: » Brian Hayes doesn't work for the state anymore, the Oireachtas Golf Society is due to be disbanded, the retired judge is retired(his cases do not need to be reviewed) and the other judge is being investigated.
mick087 wrote: » Look at all the insults the sneer comments i have had because i don't agree. People wont be fooled by such deflections forever.
jammiedodgers wrote: » At this rate I wouldn't be surprised if he did a tour of the Wild Atlantic Way stopping at every golf course along the way.
expectationlost wrote: » Phil Hogan was in Limerick day before mandatory isolation due to expire https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40037582.html#.X0UM6OcP9_U.twitter its not he scandal its the cover up
EU Commissioner Phil Hogan stayed in a Limerick hotel and ate at a restaurant in Adare on August 12, one day before his 14-day isolation period was due to expire. Multiple sources have confirmed to the Irish Examiner that Mr Hogan stayed in the Dunraven Arms Hotel on the night before he played a round of golf at Adare Manor.
RandomViewer wrote: » Get the notion that the big thick gulldy that can't be sacked is being used as a distraction, there were people there whose presence causes a huge conflict of interest. Brian Hayes for instance, had no errand being there, theres a retired judge who may now require his entire case history reviewed. There's a sitting judge who can't sit in a court again. How many of these cosy little gatherings have happened in the last while?
Bambi wrote: » Well Phil is accountable to Ursula so thats a relief Looks if we were to worry about things like accountability nothing would work in the EU and the head of the ECB wouldnt be able to threaten finance ministers about bombs going off unless they did what they were told