However, the Taoiseach explained that it was crucial that the EU Commissioner provided full clarity about his movements leading up to the dinner. “I think it’s important that he comprehensively and fully comes out and allows himself to be interviewed to give people exactly the sequence of events on what transpired,” he said. “The public needs absolute assurances that the restrictions that were imposed in Kildare were not breached.
Sir Oxman wrote: That's Hogan, the indispensable Irish patriot who we really, really, really need to fight for little ol' Ireland.
Tony EH wrote: » You really know that the boot licks have run out of road when all they have is "but..but...we need him..."
Hawthorn Tree wrote: » MM was a mess on the radio this morning. But his wording suggests he knows more.https://www.thejournal.ie/government-apology-phil-hogan-golfgate-5184187-Aug2020/ I believe he was staying in Kildare the night before he went to Galway.
stockshares wrote: » He might be waiting for Phil to dig his grave with Ursula by lying to her as well.
However, he said that he had left the county two days before tighter lockdown restrictions were reimposed, on August 7, to attend a medical appointment in Dublin. He then went stay with family in County Kilkenny. However, it was reported this evening that Mr Hogan was stopped by gardaí for using his mobile phone while driving in Kildare on August 17. Mr Hogan was on his way to the golf event in Galway, but had detoured to his Kildare residence to pick up "personal belongings and essential documents", his spokesperson said.
jacool wrote: » Quote number 1 comes from before the garda news and says “He travelled to the golf event in Co Galway directly from Co Kilkenny. Thus, there is no question of him having breached the local lockdown requirements which continue to apply in Co Kildare.” Quote number 2 comes after the "phone" news “On his way from Kilkenny to Clifden, the Commissioner stopped briefly at his apartment in Kildare for the purpose of collecting personal belongings and essential work documents relating to negotiations which continued while he was in Galway,” a spokesperson said. “The lockdown guidelines for Kildare provide for exceptional travel outside the county ‘to travel to work and home again,’” he added. A few questions Where did Phil Hogan go after the Galway event? i.e. Does this quote mean that he had to return to KIldare, and is he there now, in lockdown? Also, how come he got out of Kildare 2 days before the lockdown was introduced? Coincidence or what?
Hawthorn Tree wrote: » I believe he was staying in Kildare the night before he went to Galway.
fly_agaric wrote: » Why the need to exaggerate, insult and lie? Where are the posts from the "bootlickers" calling him an "indispensible Irish patriot"? I've been reading the thread on and off yesterday and this morning and did not see them. Him leaving his job would be a "negative" as regards Brexit if it happens (how much of a negative, or whether it would actually matter in the end is unknowable). Why not accept that fact and carry on rather than trying to dismiss it + calling people who disagree with you "bootlickers" (lovely phrase).
expectationlost wrote: » which is irrelevant because the no more then 50 in one room rule applied
Phoebas wrote: » What was the real purpose of his trip to Kildare? A new twist?
Tony EH wrote: » You really know that they have run out of road when all they have is "but..but...we need him..."
fly_agaric wrote: » Him leaving his job would be a "negative" as regards Brexit if it happens (how much of a negative, or whether it would actually matter in the end is unknowable).
fly_agaric wrote: » Why not accept that fact and carry on rather than trying to dismiss it + calling people who disagree with you "bootlickers" (lovely phrase).
Sir Oxman wrote: » You leave out the bit where the actual FG continuity govt backed him to try for another job this year leaving 'a negative', as you term it. I mean, they are his ex-party comrades, the actual govt at the time, the party who have been involved with Brexit since it began and yet they chose to back him to leave the post.
Sir Oxman wrote: » As for 'indispensible Irish patriot', that is exactly what posters have been building him to be or at least one way of putting it.
Sir Oxman wrote: » I have no comment on another posters 'bootlickers' comment.
fly_agaric wrote: » I didn't know that, but the fact they are his former party colleagues probably explains them supporting him. Also as regards impact, there may be a difference between his been drummed out in disgrace all of a sudden over this vs a more orderly process of him leaving to take up some other big job. I think we'll just have to watch and wait and see who will be celebrating the fact if he is removed/has to resign. That will tell its own tale. It is your own phrase and your "way of putting it", which is an exaggeration or a distortion of what was posted. Ya, probably because ypu agree with it.
Tony EH wrote: » Your faux upset is endearing.
Edgware wrote: » The important papers were kept in a safe place in his golf bag
McMurphy wrote: » Hardly a Eureka moment, it's been discussed on here about 1500 times already. It's the same way no-one is calling on members of AGS or Charlie Flanagan/Frank Feighan etc to resign over the same guideline's being flouted at Garda Horkans funeral. Guidelines aren't regulations.
SouthWesterly wrote: » So why are people baying for Hogans blood? It's nonsense
Tony EH wrote: » There is NOTHING in Hogan's past to show that this would be the case.
jm08 wrote: » So, having a former Agricultural Commissioner as trade commissioner isn't beneficial when negotiating trade deals that invariable have huge problems when it comes to agriculture and standards? Would you prefer a trade commissioner whose expertise might have been in manufacturing industry and a net importer of food who will naturally favour manufacturing because it is what they know best?
jm08 wrote: » So, having a former Agricultural Commissioner as trade commissioner isn't beneficial when negotiating trade deals that invariable have huge problems when it comes to agriculture and standards?
LillySV wrote: » Thick ass has no intentions of resigning ...even with the eu pressuring him