First Up wrote: » We are not relying on one person but it helps that we have a person in a key role who knows the situation backwards. Hogan's name wasn't pulled out of a hat. An Irish Commissioner in that job is testimony to EU awareness of and support for Ireland's situation. (It is also a credit to our diplomatic lobbying). It is exasperating that he allowed this happen but be careful what you wish for. A Hungarian or Latvian TC might be a bit harder to get on the phone.
Robxxx7 wrote: There is something seriously wrong with the whole EU mechanism if we are to rely on only 1 person to fight our corner ... wonder what all the elected MEP's do for us ..
Gerry Hatrick wrote: » He'll hold onto his pension though. In my mind all these guys should have their pensions removed and told to go swing.ec-president-vdl@ec.europa.eu That's Hogan's bosses email contact. Let them know how you feel about this. I have emailed them this morning.
First Up wrote: » There's a bigger picture here, not that many contributors here are interested. The EU Trade Commissioner has a pivotal role and Ireland stands to gain - or lose - more than most from the terms eventually agreed with the UK. We are exceptionally fortunate that an Irishman was given the job. If Hogan goes, his replacement won't be from around here. Hogan brought this on himself and deserves censure. But while enjoying his discomfort, mind you don't cut your own noses off.
Robxxx7 wrote: » There is something seriously wrong with the whole EU mechanism if we are to rely on only 1 person to fight our corner ... wonder what all the elected MEP's do for us ..
Pelezico wrote: » People have nothing to do.
markodaly wrote: » Well, did Helen McEntee tell you herself? The crux is who told Mike Clifford?
And why do you think therefore it was Drew Harris himself that leaked it to the media?
McMurphy wrote: » Where did I say that?
Del Boy wrote: » Big Phil isn't going anywhere. Thick neck on him. Hasn't a notion of resigning. He's a strong voice for us in Europe right now with Brexit etc. He'll hop on a flight back to Brussels and forget the enraged Irish public asap.
Bowie wrote: » I believe he use to carpool with Cowen
dhaughton99 wrote: » I’m surprised that such an important man has to drive himself.
markodaly wrote: » And why do you think therefore it was Drew Harris himself that leaked it to the media? Why not a Garda with access to the same information?
McMurphy wrote: » Yeah. From Mick Clifford who seems to have just basically read the Indo.https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-learned-about-phil-hogan-being-in-kildare-because-he-was-stopped-by-gardai-while-on-his-phone-39471647.html?__twitter_impression=true It's in the first few paragraphs.
markodaly wrote: » Where are you getting this information from? Twitter?
Details of the incident were given to Garda Commissioner Drew Harris who in turn informed Justice Minister Helen McEntee.
is_that_so wrote: » He's well-regarded in the EU, whatever we may think of him.
McMurphy wrote: » Apparently Drew Harris passed on the info ref Hogan using the phone while driving, and if true, then it's bad form. It was bad form when Callinan did the same to Shatter to try and damage Wallace, and if it's true, then it's wrong here too. A commissioner should not be using his position to leak info to politically damage someone, no matter who they are. Harris might get brought down on this too the way things are shaping up FFS.
s1ippy wrote: » I'm going to wait at the airport until he's leaving for Brussels and make a citizen's arrest. I'll film it and post it here.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » I think it is all over now. Next up is the schools and and the absent MINISTER NORMA
fly_agaric wrote: » You have a giant bee in your bonnet about "unelected". What is so wonderful about every position from bottle washer to president being "elected" anyway? So what if part of the EUs executive are unelected? It's just a bullshít talking point that I think originated with Eurosceptics in the UK.