Larbre34 wrote: » Well thats just simply cutting off our nose to spite our face. We are entering the most important period for long term Irish economic prosperity in 50 years and we have a person at the top table in a position to get us major influence in the permanent deal. Everything else is secondary because that deal is our kids future.
Iodine1 wrote: » He worked his way into a powerful position of influence in Europe. We need him there and his replacement will not be Irish, most likely. He has apologised, he was definitely misled, and he should NOT resign over it. He's good at the job and we need him there.
Gerry Hatrick wrote: » Again why does anyone think this? I'm frankly baffled by this train of thought.
Limpy wrote: » Is that serpent gone yet? It will leave a stain on FG if he stays around. Going forward any politician will say sure Phil didn't resign why should I.
titan18 wrote: » Attack the post, not the poster. Don't call me a numpty. A lot of people have complained about it being one rule for higher ups and a different rule for plebs with this situation. So you're saying you want tougher rules for some people (what's the criteria for those btw) and normal people can break the rules with no punishment? Calleary was fair enough as he had a direct seat in making the rules. Hogan is no different than everyone else who's broken rules since March.
The Belly wrote: » If you assume a high public role your expected to lead by example no different to a high profile sportsperson.
Larbre34 wrote: » Because its true. The national interest is absolute here.
I wouldn't be expecting my CEO in company I work for to resign cos he broke covid rules
The Belly wrote: » Thanks ok he or she has shareholders they can decide in this case we cant.
mr_edge_to_you wrote: » Did Phil Hogan actually obey any rule while he was home??
mr_edge_to_you wrote: » Why did it take political pressure for him to issue a proper apology? Because he’s a bad egg, that’s why. He is only out for himself. His only allegiance is to the EU, if push comes to shove he’ll throw a Ireland under the proverbial bus for his own interests - a bigger job in Brussels.
stockshares wrote: » It's not served by having a self serving Politician involved in the Trade talks. He has no credibility now. His type contributed to the build up of resentment in Britain that they were being governed by unaccountable crooked politicians in Europe. The Gov are trying to make him out to be some mastermind that can't be done without. He wasn't smart enough to see the scandal that would come if he was caught attending the event in Galway.He ended up in Brussels because he was sent there after the Irish Water debacle. He wasn't sent there because he was competent. He was sent there to get him out of the way.
embraer170 wrote: » Of course Ireland would get to nominate a Commissioner to replace Hogan. The only question is whether a new Irish Commissioner would keep the trade portfolio or there would be a reshuffling.
jm08 wrote: » You put your x on the ballot paper for your European MP who voted on your behalf.
RandomViewer wrote: » Looks like he thinks he's exempt from normal rules, caught on the phone driving in kildare
jojofizzio wrote: » Stopped by Gardai while driving using a mobile now it seems.....spose he still hasn’t broken any rules....
Oscar Bravo wrote: » Rte news has also confirmed that Hogan was stopped by Gardi en route to Cliften for using a phone while driving.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » So he was stopped by the Guards for using a phone while driving as well.
jojofizzio wrote: » Will be interesting to see if he got the points or was told to drive on....