Grizzly 45 wrote: » Except its sceeded by the EU directive of 1990 on movement of firearms and munitions within the Union.:(
Zxthinger wrote: » Quote: for elsewhere on boards:: However, Section 21 of the Firearms Act 1964 provides that the restriction imposed by section 17 of the Firearms Act 1925 shall not apply in relation to the importation of a firearm by the holder of a firearm certificate in respect of the firearm which is in force. This means that a person other than a firearms dealer, with a firearm certificate for the firearm in question, does not require an importation licence. Accordingly, there is no legal requirement for importation licences for handguns for licensed individuals. End Quote:
Grizzly 45 wrote: » This is a total speculation on my part here,and just throwing this out as a pot boiler. I'm just wondering has this all originated because our plantiff is AGS and there is ,how shall I put this politely?A possible unspoken in public ,"inter service rivilary" between AGS and Revenue/Customs& excise? So is this possibly a case of someones nose in Revenue getting out of joint and this escalating into now a high court case because someone "Didn't respect ma authorithity?" Or just wants to make the plantifs life difficult,"Because they can and because what he is?" This whole situation makes no sense at all otherwise. I can see no logical reason to hold onto these parts and accessories if the plantif has good reason,legal authorithy to posses,and they are leagal parts and accessories to own here for his firearm type. The only thing he should have got by now from Revenue is a bill for duty and import fees. How many more parts and stocks have been imported leaglly since then with no problems for anyone since this has been ongoing?
Donald Trump wrote: » As I said, and it is not an insult, you are looking at it from the perspective of the genuine owner. The people trying to regulate things are looking at it from the perspective of trying to stop the dodgy person from doing something. I am not trying to make things difficult or punish people. And I am not trying to upset people so apologies if I came across a bit confrontational earlier. If you have a licence for a gun, then there are controls around possession of that gun. The local guard does not have to request to see it every year for me to know that he might do that before signing the form. The fact that he might request that means that I cannot ignore if the gun is lost/stolen/"loaned". If there are no records of me ordering in components then I know nobody will ask me about them if they arrive unhindered. If I have a licence I could order them in because I have an excuse in the event if they are noticed (If I am ordering some in for dodgy reasons) Catching something in transit is only a real control if it can be seized. If something is detected and it can be legitimised "post-hoc" by production of a legitimate firearms licence then it is not really a deterrent to the dodgy person (A dodgy person could have a licence too......I'm not talking about your local hitman or dealer...it could be a person who is a bit of a chancer and never came to the attention of gardai) The system that would need to be in place might be that a person importing would need to notify/log in advance of what is coming in. Then there is a record for all components coming in. And if a component arrives in without having been notified in advance, they are seized and that could be recorded as a little black mark against them. The reason that you would have to do it in advance is that then you would be logging everything coming in rather than just the ones that happen to be detected. How to implement that system is another matter. It might be a pain in the hole but then everyone could be kept happy.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » [ Think you mean it isnt a semi auto anymore?
QUOTE=Mellor;114379408]Just to clarify GRiz, I was being simplistic. I wasn't suggesting somebody can do a simply DIY swap at home (in which case they have the CF license anyway). I was speaking theoretically, if you could convert a CF to a MARS cycle, it's no longer a CF.
Obviously to do that you;d need to be a handy ole gunsmith. Like the MARS/lever bullpup you posted.
The MARS/Lever operation isn't described in law. But the description of repeating long rifle absolutely covers it.
Donald Trump wrote: » ....the people who make the rules likely don't know the ins and outs as much as the people who are into your guns/sport).
solarwinds wrote: » For the last 3 pages of reading there it was like reading the court transcript of the case, the defence and prosecution arguments. Is the State testing their case here first I wonder ?
Cass wrote: » I disagree. The last 30 or so posts only serve to highlight the issue at the core of this case. Is a gun stock a component part or not and how Donald Trump sees the issue is a glimpse into how Revenue see it too. So in effect Donald Trump has served as a good sounding board.
Donald Trump wrote: » The loophole is where a licenced gun owner could order certain components for guns without any record of them buying those components and no mechanism whereby they would ever have to account for said components.
You are free to have whatever opinion you want. If it is fine for me to purchase one for my legally held firearm without any other formality, then it should also be fine for me to purchase one every week or to purchase a pallet of them all together.
And if the guards raided my house after receiving reports that I was acting the bollix somehow, then I can "plausibly" say that I just go through a load of stocks etc. and that pallet of them is for my own person use. I'm not a registered dealer, because I don't need to be, and therefore I don't have to follow other guidelines that registered dealers would have to. Even though I have a pallet of components for my one gun.
You might think that that is stupid because no responsible owner would do that or want that. But the rules are not for the responsible ones. Responsible people don't need any rules. They are there for the dodgy fuckers who might do something that you wouldn't consider or even think of
Donald Trump wrote: » You are free to have whatever opinion you want. If it is fine for me to purchase one for my legally held firearm without any other formality, then it should also be fine for me to purchase one every week or to purchase a pallet of them all together.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Nor is it a drop in kit like Mellor suggested.Its a completely reworked rifle in the lower and none of the parts are interchangeable with a SA recivers trigger parts.
Mellor wrote: » What loophole are you talking about? What are you suggesting "criminals" could do with this loophole. Or are you just talking out of your hoophole. :P
Donald Trump wrote: » As I said, and it is not an insult, you are looking at it from the perspective of the genuine owner. The people trying to regulate things are looking at it from the perspective of trying to stop the dodgy person from doing something.
If you have a licence for a gun, then there are controls around possession of that gun. The local guard does not have to request to see it every year for me to know that he might do that before signing the form. The fact that he might request that means that I cannot ignore if the gun is lost/stolen/"loaned".
If there are no records of me ordering in components then I know nobody will ask me about them if they arrive unhindered. If I have a licence I could order them in because I have an excuse in the event if they are noticed (If I am ordering some in for dodgy reasons)
Catching something in transit is only a real control if it can be seized. If something is detected and it can be legitimised "post-hoc" by production of a legitimate firearms licence then it is not really a deterrent to the dodgy person (A dodgy person could have a licence too......I'm not talking about your local hitman or dealer...it could be a person who is a bit of a chancer and never came to the attention of gardai)
The system that would need to be in place might be that a person importing would need to notify/log in advance of what is coming in. Then there is a record for all components coming in.
And if a component arrives in without having been notified in advance, they are seized and that could be recorded as a little black mark against them.
The reason that you would have to do it in advance is that then you would be logging everything coming in rather than just the ones that happen to be detected. How to implement that system is another matter. It might be a pain in the hole but then everyone could be kept happy.
Donald Trump wrote: » The people trying to regulate things are looking at it from the perspective of trying to stop the dodgy person from doing something.
I am not trying to make things difficult or punish people. And I am not trying to upset people so apologies if I came across a bit confrontational earlier.
If you have a licence for a gun, then there are controls around possession of that gun.
The local guard does not have to request to see it every year for me to know that he might do that before signing the form. The fact that he might request that means that I cannot ignore if the gun is lost/stolen/"loaned".
If there are no records of me ordering in components then I know nobody will ask me about them if they arrive unhindered.
If I have a licence I could order them in because I have an excuse in the event if they are noticed (If I am ordering some in for dodgy reasons)
Catching something in transit is only a real control if it can be seized.
If something is detected and it can be legitimised "post-hoc" by production of a legitimate firearms licence then it is not really a deterrent to the dodgy person (A dodgy person could have a licence too......I'm not talking about your local hitman or dealer...it could be a person who is a bit of a chancer and never came to the attention of gardai)
The system that would need to be in place might be that a person importing would need to notify/log in advance of what is coming in. Then there is a record for all components coming in. And if a component arrives in without having been notified in advance, they are seized and that could be recorded as a little black mark against them.
Donald Trump wrote: » Well fair play to the guard. Finding a possible loophole and making sure every criminal in the country knows about it.
Donald Trump wrote: » *If* you, as a genuine licensed firearm owner with no criminal convictions wanted to, then you *could* (under your suggestions) import various parts and components and sell them on, or give them, to your buddies.
The authorities here would have no way to monitor that. So they want to restrict the importation of components.
Donald Trump wrote: » Poster said/implied that these things should be allowed to be imported unrestricted as they are "inert". I said the "inert" argument is not an argument as lots of things that are controlled are "inert" and that in and of itself does not mean it should be allowed.
BattleCorp wrote: » But yet you want to penalise responsible owners for ordering in spare parts/components? Enven though they have done nothing wrong? All because you have the view that they MIGHT do something wrong? By the way, there is the potential to order in stocks, screws and a few other bits. But try get the critical parts for the gun such as a lower receiver sent to you unrestricted from abroad, then you'll realise that you can't order a gun bit-by-bit over the internet. Another problem with your getting components unrestricted is that if your local dealer has them in Ireland, you can get them here and there's no record of where they went. How do you keep track of every screw and spring etc. The Garda in this case had a licence. What more proof do you want that he is a genuine person? Like I said, no problem with control. The dude had a licence. That should have been the end of it. If he had no licence, then the customs could have seized the parts or carried out a controlled delivery and arrested the guy when he received them. That's what they do with drugs so why not do it with firearms parts? I'm with you on this. I've no problem with the customs seizing the package. But once the Garda produced his licence, they should have released the parts to him.
Donald Trump wrote: » That was 100% my point. The contrast is that if I could order in components unrestricted from abroad, then there would be no record and I could give them away. I am not accusing responsible owners of doing that or wanting to do it. The people who creating rules and regulations are trying to control the dodgy people - not the genuine people. So I can see why they might want to control the importation of such items. Me saying I understand why they want to do that is not saying that casting aspersions on any legitimate owner so there is no need for people to take offence even if they disagree. From the perspective of the authorities, I'd imagine that it is better to err on the side of caution.
Donald Trump wrote: » The contrast is that if I could order in components unrestricted from abroad, then there would be no record and I could give them away.
The people who creating rules and regulations are trying to control the dodgy people - not the genuine people.
From the perspective of the authorities, I'd imagine that it is better to err on the side of caution.
Donald Trump wrote: » The contrast is that if I could order in components unrestricted from abroad, then there would be no record and I could give them away. I am not accusing responsible owners of doing that or wanting to do it.
So I can see why they might want to control the importation of such items. Me saying I understand why they want to do that is not saying that casting aspersions on any legitimate owner so there is no need for people to take offence even if they disagree.
tudderone wrote: » There is nothing stopping anyone giving their firearms away, nothing, but the possibility of spending years of your life in a very unpleasant prison, the loss of your job, family and home, for the actions of some idiot. I have heard this so much from people who know zip about firearms ownership in Ireland "Oh you can go to a gunshop and buy a gun, i'll give you the money, you buy it and give it to me". I had this line for years from an idiotic apprentice in the company i worked at.
Donald Trump wrote: » Hi, I was responding to a poster who appeared to posit that the only thing stopping him from giving his guns away was his own honesty. As you yourself are aware, there are checks that would prevent someone from doing this. They are the same ones I alluded to in my post. I never said that there should be no guns - which is what the same poster seems to have extrapolated to.