tudderone wrote: » Talking as someone who has had to allow their house to be inspected by gardai, has to agree to have their medical records open to the gardai, have had my back ground checked etc i fully understand basic facts about gun ownership, but its patently obvious you don't know anything about it.
BattleCorp wrote: » Eventually 3d printers will be good enough to do this. I'd say they aren't too far off that capability at the moment. I actually reckon we will end up 3d printing our food at some point in the future.
Donald Trump wrote: » Surely you understand basic facts about gun ownership? No? Do you know of any possible powers of controls or checks that the guards might have that might cause them to find out if you, as a licensed owner, to give your gun away.
Donald Trump wrote: » Where is the punishment by requiring that you source those components from a registered licensed dealer/importer?
Sparks wrote: » That would be an illegal act, separate and subsequent to the legal act of importation. We do not, as a rule, in this country, allow punishment to take place before the crime. Further, any licencing officer who believes, even for a moment, that a licencee would commit an illegal act with a firearm, is required by law with no further leeway available to the licencing officer, to remove that licencee's licence. Immediately. So if someone believes a person might sell on a firearm component illegally, they are breaking the law by allowing them to keep their licence at all. Since that has not happened here, your argument is that either your argument does not apply, or that the licencing officer is guilty of breaking the firearms act.
BattleCorp wrote: » What other way would I look at it? <MOD SNIP> Going by your logic, we should have no guns whatsoever in case we give/sell them to our buddies. Or maybe we can have guns but no bullets, in case we give/sell them to our buddies. We should have no alcohol in case we give/sell them to underage people. etc. etc. etc. Come on, gun owners are a very highly regulated section of society. Your logic is all screwed up. But components are needed. Can you not see this? And if someone has a licence, they need those components. Anyway, I'm not discussing this with you any more because clearly you are either lacking in logic or are a troll. I'm going with troll so to quote Dragon's Den "for that reason, I'm out." Of course, you could do that same thing with a local registered dealer, but if you were going back to him every week then he might have an idea you are not genuine and up to something. If you order in a heap of parts by post individually over a 10 week period and 10% of them are stopped - then you can show your receipt and plausibly explain it as needing those parts for your own firearm.
Donald Trump wrote: » and sell them on, or give them, to your buddies.
Donald Trump wrote: » You are looking at it solely from the perspective of a genuine licensed gun owner.
*If* you, as a genuine licensed firearm owner with no criminal convictions wanted to, then you *could* (under your suggestions) import various parts and components and sell them on, or give them, to your buddies.
The authorities here would have no way to monitor that. So they want to restrict the importation of components.
Of course, you could do that same thing with a local registered dealer, but if you were going back to him every week then he might have an idea you are not genuine and up to something. If you order in a heap of parts by post individually over a 10 week period and 10% of them are stopped - then you can show your receipt and plausibly explain it as needing those parts for your own firearm.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » So by going by this logic we had better contol everything inert,as it can be mad active by human interaction...:rolleyes: Yeahhh...The few Ks of controlled drugs and the full auto sMG and a few hundred grand in cash are going to pale into insignificance against that airsoft AR stock in the corner??? Doesn't quite work that way.:)
BattleCorp wrote: » What consequences are you talking about? I very much doubt that criminals are buying target stocks from legal sources. But if they are, then by all means have customs confiscate them. But why confiscate gun parts from a licenced firearm owner even after he shows you his licence? That doesn't make sense. There's an easy fix for customs. Keep hold of the gun parts until the recipient shows the licence. If the recipient doesn't have a licence for the gun that those gun parts go onto, then either dispose of them or do a controlled delivery and arrest the recipient upon delivery. Simples. Apologies if I am wrong on this but you seem to want to treat licenced firearms owners the same as you would treat criminals. There's a big difference between the two. One is legally allowed to own firearms and is licenced to do so, the other is a fcuking scumbag who isn't allowed to own firearms. So, licenced firearms owners need to be able to replace parts on their guns, make improvements etc. How do you expect them to do that if they can't get those parts in Ireland? Here's the answer, they get them from abroad. Nothing wrong with that in my book. Why should the Garda in this case be penalised for getting a stock from abroad when he would be perfectly entitled to get the same stock from a local dealer here in Ireland if he had one in his inventory?
Donald Trump wrote: » Well genius. It's not about them buying them - it could still come into it if they are caught in possession of them or similar components
Donald Trump wrote: » That's exactly my point. Arguing that something is, in and of itself, made of inert material, is not a justification for not controlling it. As I mentioned, and you also pointed out, the gun itself is "inert"
Well genius. It's not about them buying them - it could still come into it if they are caught in possession of them or similar components
Donald Trump wrote: » More like you can only see your own blinkered position and can't understand the possible consequences of things. It might be more where your own head is stuck rather than actual blinkers though.
BattleCorp wrote: » You don't really know what you are talking about, do you?
Donald Trump wrote: » Well genius. It's not about them buying them - it will be if they are caught in possession of them or similar components
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Definition Inert lacking the power to move 2: very slow to move or act : SLUGGISH 3: deficient in active properties especially : lacking a usual or anticipated chemical or biological action So that would actually be the entire firearm itself as it is an inert object that needs human input to make it function. Love to see the legislation for 3d printers,and the dark web that will be effective.As well as the persons face and hands once they fire the first"all plastic firearm with a normal load!":eek::D
tudderone wrote: » Yes i am sure the Dundons and Kinahans will be cock-a-hoop that they can now buy target stocks for their ak47's and glocks :rolleyes:
Grizzly 45 wrote: » They already are!! !But they are; About 100thousand dollars.Are container sized items and weight. Are exclusively Uncle Sams property used to reprint armour and vechicle parts for APCs anf MBTs in the field. Have a classified rating on the metallic sinter mixture for said parts. Still cant print gun barrells that last....Yet. Food without a doubt.But i think that will be our great great grandkids doing that .Or they'll be back hunting it with spears and clubs.:eek:
jb88 wrote: » In relation to the importing of parts for a rifle, I sent two ASE Mods to the UK back in January and had to get an RFD'S import permit in order to get them back from the UK? I have licences for both MODS on seperate firearms but yet my RFD still recommended an import permit. I think the recent changes to the legislation with respect to having to number all main parts of a firearm,not just the receiver as was always the case have made it more difficult for individuals to get what they want. SOME RFD's wanted this in order to profit from it are further eroding the quality of firearms and resulting competency of individuals to get the top quality kit they need in order to shoot and compete which simply is just not available in Ireland. Most will say, "thems the rules", abide by them. By that inference the uncle mikes screws I want from the UK need a part number and an import permit. Realistically 90% of what I want in relation to firearms just isnt available in the Republic of Ireland.
Donald Trump wrote: » Well fair play to the guard. Finding a possible loophole and making sure every criminal in the country knows about it.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Love to see the legislation for 3d printers,and the dark web that will be effective.As well as the persons face and hands once they fire the first"all plastic firearm with a normal load!":eek::D
Donald Trump wrote: » It creates a loophole a precedent which could be used to fight other similar - but not necessarily exactly the same - cases. Do you know what "inert" actually means? Can you give me the name of any components of a gun (not the ammunition) which is not inert? I can buy a 3D printer and print my own gun out of inert plastic and I think most reasonable people would agree that there would need to be laws against open possession of such items. Inert is irrelevant. In reality the only likely effect might be that the law would be changed
Chiparus wrote: » They can now arm themselves with expensive inert pieces of plastic?