Mantis Toboggan wrote: » https://kfmradio.com/news/18082020-1528/%E2%82%AC45m-naas-inner-relief-road-lihaf-scheme-wont-proceed Having been rejected last year looks like the inner relief road now won't go ahead at all.
silver2020 wrote: » Obviously they forgot their own tagline Getting Naas moving – An essential project to relieve congestion for the benefit of everyone. Enhancing the quality of life in Naas Town and I will never understand why option 6 was not the preferred option. Option one was not really a relief road and would just lead to more congestion. Option 6 linked up with the ballycane road and would have allowed Kilcullen traffic avoid the town. But they needed to "think of cyclists" in a tunnel visioned project. Move the traffic away and it frees up the current roads for cyclists.
Lockheed wrote: » That is the fallacy of road building. Imagining that everything will be solved with more roads. In the real world, another road does not free up roads for cyclists, instead it has the opposite effect of creating more traffic, making it worse for cyclists. Investing money in roads is a black pit as you toss more money at it all you really do is bring more cars onto the road - people think 'oh there's a ring road now, I'll get that job in the further away town, it'll be grand to drive down' . Remember you could have a huge ring road but when the majority of cars in the area want to get into the town you still have that bottleneck.
MotorMike wrote: » Anyone gone with SIRO BB locally and how is it working out for you ?
iwishihadaname wrote: » Hi all, Did anyone here happen to commute from Naas to Sandyford in pre Covid times? Just wondering about normal commute times as going for a job there. Cheers
Anatom wrote: » Very true. In that instance, the relief road should have been built 25 years ago when it was supposed to have been, not today through largely residential areas. It wasn't nimbyism. It was common sense. The council really messed up here (and I don't mean the elected councillors), and created the recent fuss themselves by trying to force a set of nonsensical solutions through before it "lost" the central funding. It was ridiculous behaviour. If only the council would just stop approving / building new houses and concentrated instead on fixing the infrastructure we do have and providing the facilities we need now and into the future, we'd be much better off.
peter_dublin wrote: » I did it for two years up to about a year ago. My only description of it is "living hell". So much so in fact my employer told me not to worry about getting there before 10am for fear I would quit as one day I left Naas at 7am and arrived just before ten am. In two years I was rear ended twice writing off one car due to the nature of the N7 around Rathcoole where in the early morning low sun the traffic can go from sixty to a dead stop very quickly. I was in Central Park so didn't have to get into Sandyford itself and could use the 3rd land of the slip and central park entrance else I would have had to queue on the M50 Slip itself and then to get into Sandyford or come off at Dundrum and try come across. I turned down a roll with a large raise in Sandyford itself as it would mean an extra 20 mins each way a day. A friend took to going via Blessington and over the hills to try and avoid the N7. Just hell on earth in every way unless you can leave before 7 or well after 9 and leave early to get home before the traffic hits. On a good day you would fly in. On a bad on it could be 2.5 hours. It was never predicable. Swiched to a role in the City Centre and took the Sallins train. Loved it and still do. An hour door to door between the regular commuter sevice (30mins) and a ten minute bike each end. These days I won't consider any job bar a City Centre one. It's given me hours of my life back a week. The commute is ultra predictable and you can make use of the time on the train. I can stop for a pint after work or take Galway train which takes 16 minutes from Hueston to Naas. Naas is basically uncomutable unless you can leave early to beat the traffic or get a job that can be reached via the train (City Centre). Even the 126 Bus Service tool an hour and half to the City as it would get stuck on the south circular. So my day was basically gone from 7am to 7pm when taken the bus. The train (Slower commuter) made that an 8am to 6pm day or less if I got the earlier train home. 20 mins off each way for the Galway server. My advise. Don't do it unless you love your car and no quality of life.
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Traveler's had disappeared off the ring road recently but they're either back or a new shower of them moved in. English regs on the cars so could be over from the UK.
jaffa20 wrote: » Is there any news on when the sallins bypass is due to be completed? Can't find any recent updates on it.
Golden Horde wrote: » Due to be finished by end of October according to their website.http://www.m7upgrade.com
vincenzolorenzo wrote: » Do they say what year?! Its been shocking slow progress
DirtyBollox wrote: You see, this is how they got us all. "we'll be finished by 2020" but they never said when in 2020, so opening the road 2 weeks before christmas is still within their predictions. Of course with the pandemic, and kildare on its month long lockdown and none of the lads being local, there's no chance of it being finished before this time next year, minimum.
Cazale wrote: » They could have worked through the pandemic as the road is a critical piece of infrastructure.
silver2020 wrote: » saw them move in at about 11 and garda car went by without a care in the world
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Can't say I'm surprised. Community policing in Ireland is non existant.
Duke of Url wrote: » Park your own car on a public walkway and leave it there and see what happens.
adgib wrote: » Anyone know when the road closure on the Limerick rd is due to finish?