IAMAMORON wrote: » Leo never gets the respect he deserves. He finally nailed our abortion legislation, legalised marriage for everyone
newuser99999 wrote: » Wow you have a short memory. Hilarious.
IAMAMORON wrote: » Leo never gets the respect he deserves. He finally nailed our abortion legislation, legalised marriage for everyone and you could bring him anywhere. I love the way he shoots from the hip also, especially to the cranks who are destroying this country by the minute, he just hits them back with the truth, cranks can't deal with that.
IAMAMORON wrote: » Best -Worst - has to be Dev, pious stooge who you couldn't trust to organise a piss up in a brewery. Dragged the country to its knees for years until Seán Lemass ran him. The 1939 constitution was basically written by a foreign sect and Dev spent the next 8 years implementing policies which broke the country.
IAMAMORON wrote: » Best Anyone that rips off a country with such finesse and gets away with it deserves that countries respect. It's not as if every senior civil servant in the country wasn't at the same craic either. Which came first, procurement fraud or backhanders? My recollection gets fuzzy.
Worst...has to be Dev, pious stooge...
mr_fegelien wrote: Brian Cowen stands out as the worst we've had but yet some laud him for bringing Ireland out of the Great Recession that happened in 08'. What do you think?
[Deleted User] wrote: » Not defending Dev here, but for all the bad things you can say about him, this is the least accurate or damning. The Irish Constitution is one of the most liberating and democratic documents protecting their citizens from tyranny ever written. Why? Because it didn't stick 21st centaury citizens of Ireland with the same vision people had in the 1920's or 30's. The people change the constitution, not the government. I don't agree or like that same sex couples couldn't get married, don't like that women weren't free to make a choice about birth, etc, back in the 1950's. But the constitution prevented people in the 1950's dictating what people in 2020 can and cannot do. Who knows? I mean I doubt it but maybe in another 80 years people will want to stop abortion and same sex marriage? I hope they don't but I don't want the right to stop them. Say a lot of bad things about Dev but I think we can thank him at least for a more progressive constitution than frankly most of the world's democracies.
Deleted User wrote: » Not defending Dev here, but for all the bad things you can say about him, this is the least accurate or damning. The Irish Constitution is one of the most liberating and democratic documents protecting their citizens from tyranny ever written. Why? Because it didn't stick 21st centaury citizens of Ireland with the same vision people had in the 1920's or 30's. The people change the constitution, not the government. I don't agree or like that same sex couples couldn't get married, don't like that women weren't free to make a choice about birth, etc, back in the 1950's. But the constitution prevented people in the 1950's dictating what people in 2020 can and cannot do. Who knows? I mean I doubt it but maybe in another 80 years people will want to stop abortion and same sex marriage? I hope they don't but I don't want the right to stop them. Say a lot of bad things about Dev but I think we can thank him at least for a more progressive constitution than frankly most of the world's democracies.
Hermy wrote: » Any person who rips off their own country, especially while holding the highest office in the land, deserves anything but respect. And if every civil servant in the land was doing it too that's a further indictment of that persons unwillingness or inability to root out corruption.
IAMAMORON wrote: » I massively agree with you. But I am still in love with Charlie. Underneath his skullduggery he genuinely loved us, you know it. I get that he was a bolleex and all, but I can't stop loving him.
Eric Cartman wrote: » Charlie Haughey absolutely lined his own pockets but what he gave Ireland in terms of laying the foundations to make us americas EU branch and supply us all that creamy tech money has to be admired. I would rate Charlie as the best. The worst might very well turn out to be MM , but its early days
PhilOssophy wrote: » For me, I would say Bertie was by far the worst, given the outcome of his tenure. He put absolutely no control on anything, anybody who talked about a downturn was told to commit suicide. Between him and Charlie "When I have it I'll spend it" McCreevy, they set the traps for what was a crippling recession. Cowen was useless but he was given the ultimate hospital pass. I think Enda was OK in fairness to him (and probably the best we had). Himself and Noonan got more right than wrong. Irish Water was their biggest disaster in my view. I would say he didn't tackle waste in the public sector like he could have and Dr. J's plan for the health service floundered badly. I think Leo's administration was a lot poorer than people remember. Yes they did well in Covid but where was the same urgency regarding housing, where was the control of costs at the childrens hospital, where was the accountability for cervical check. I also never liked that they didn't try to get more corporation tax from multi national companies but kept hammering the squeezed middle.
Wanderer78 wrote: » he wasnt a particularly nice person, if you hear about some of his antics in private
IAMAMORON wrote: » Yeh maybe, but everyone can be a bit of bitch sometimes you know? Leaders sometimes have to be "assertive" to get shít done. That is why some people hate them and some people love them. So when he wasn't buying constituents bottles of Crested Ten he was slapping Garda drivers in the face for crossing him. Heavy is the head that wears the crown. Turns out the cops needed a few slaps anyway. You need to read all the chapters to get a feeling for the whole book, not the just the few paragraphs you like.
antimatterx wrote: » I detest FF, but I love Charlie. He's economic policies really made us a wealthy country.
Eric Cartman wrote: » and sure we've had a million and one politicians here who were absolute b*stards in private but never gave us anything, turning us from a little backwards farming island off europe into one of the top 10 richest countries in the world and the EU's tech hub is absolutely worth any amount of being somebody you wouldn't want to be around in public.