roast222 wrote: » https://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/home/565864/the-most-outrageous-contempt-of-court-witness-intimidation-and-interference-in-the-trial-of-aaron-brady.html Only 2 witnesses were willing to testify one of whose evidence was discarded due to video interference. Others were intimidated into not testifying and the jurors would have not have been aware of the other 5 testimonies who either failed to show up in court or who retracted their statements.
cameramonkey wrote: » I think with such a terrible crime that the need to get a conviction and the need from the public for justice can be great. I think there will be an appeal and that the appeal against the murder conviction has a good chance of being successful. I think his conviction was based purely on the evidence that he admitted his crime to someone in the states. The Guard who was present at the murder and other witnesses said that the shooter was 6 foot tall whereas Brady is much smaller, that is evidence that will be reconsidered at an appeal.
Conall Cernach wrote: » It is a bit strange that the only one of the gang caught so far is the one that is now convicted of the murder. How did they come to link Brady to being the killer except by his own alleged bragging in the States?
mr_fegelien wrote: » Why didn't he just kill himself in America when approached by the Secret Service??? Idiot. And also, who goes to the US to flee Irish law enforcement. Does he not know of this little thing called extradition treaties? Overall a dumb guy and it's good he's paying for it?
Truthvader wrote: » Would be very interested if that were the case. I cant imagine you could rob the local credit union on the border without permission or approval but have not heard anything yet
event wrote: » Sure if it wasnt him he can tell the guards who it was that pulled the trigger. Means he will probably get off on the murder charge and only do time for robbery
ThewhiteJesus wrote: » Chances are he'll get off anyway on appeal
Irishman80 wrote: » Just another "Tiofaigh Ar La" piece of s--t doing scumbag s--t.
event wrote: » How does a solicitor like yourself find the time to post on boards during the day. Fair play to ye
Sam Quentin wrote: » The jury is being reassured by serving Gardai and an inspector at the time(since retired 2018)that they made the right decision/judgement...so maybe they have information that cannot be disclosed.
ThewhiteJesus wrote: » seriously what else do you expect them to say, oh you made the wrong decision, it's actually been a total f up and the conviction won't stand ! That sounds like desperation to me from the gardai, why would a jury need to be consoled or reassured, if they heard all this proof that people are taking about.
ThewhiteJesus wrote: » For an Irishman, your Irish is awful.
Edgware wrote: » Why not contact the judges in the Court of Criminal appeal? I'm sure that they will pay regards to your learned opinion.
ArmaniJeanss wrote: » Not really, it's a big outside bet. The bar is quite high for getting off on appeal. You can't call the evidence into question, a jury has already accepted that it was enough. So the 'unfair verdict, there was no evidence' path is close to a no-go. So you actually need to get a part of the evidence thrown out for technical reasons, or find a mistake that the judge made in his directions, or come up with evidence of serious malpractice on the part of the guards or state during the investigation. It's very much a rarity to win a murder appeal, maybe 1 or 2% I'd say.
ThewhiteJesus wrote: » No need it'll all be done in time by the sounds of it, and i doubt it'll take seven years.
tayto lover wrote: » There’s vacancies in the laundering plant I hear. His girlfriend will be near 60 when he gets out.
StackSteevens wrote: » Did winning the case require the prosecution to prove that it was Brady who had actually shot the garda, or just that he had been a member of the gang that had committed the murder? In other words, if the Gardai can identify and prosecute the other 4 gang members will they also be accused of capital murder, or merely of armed robbery?
Edgware wrote: » What an appalling vista
cameramonkey wrote: » Well the last appalling vista took many years to resolve and all those convicted were freed in the end. It is not unreasonable to assume that like that case more evidence may emerge that may change the situation.