weldoninhio wrote: » Exactly, any NGO or social justice warrior who wants multiculturalism should be forced to bring their multicult to Africa for five years. Don't be hogging the greatness of multiculture in Europe like some coloniser. Bring it to the masses in Africa.
Hamachi wrote: » I don’t have an issue with skills-based, high caliber migration.
Hamachi wrote: » You speak of ghettoization as if this is a hypothetical in Ireland. It isn’t; it’s happening right now. I live in Dublin 15, the most diverse post code in Dublin. Very noticeable concentrations of particular ethnic groups have already formed out here.
Wibbs wrote: » And yet still we have silence on the answer to this question: No takers? Surely something so right and obvious should be easily answered? On the other hand the negatives are a doddle to list and give examples of.
Deleted User wrote: » I think a lot of people misunderstand what it's like to work or volunteer abroad, especially in third world nations. I've done it myself a few times, as a teacher in East Africa. There is a seriously strong feel good factor in volunteering and helping out in these countries... and any person who is supportive of multiculturalism will feel the same as I did. That it was rewarding work, and it felt amazing to meet so many people who were grateful for my efforts. The SJWs or NGO activists who volunteer and live long term in an African country will simply come back to Ireland even more dedicated towards bringing migrants in, due to the belief that western culture and western economics will help others. There's that virtue signalling that goes on, but it would be even greater for those who can back it up with actual first hand experience of African nations. The problem I've noticed though is that volunteers are often shielded by the realities of the environment surrounding them. Often, volunteers will be held in compounds, similar to what you find in the M.East, surrounded by other foreigners, all pushing the same agenda. They'll go to select areas, get a taste of the poverty, but won't be forced to come to terms with the reasons why that poverty exists. Just as they fail to take responsibility for their own behavior, they'll extend that to others. I had a great time on my volunteering trips. Awesome experiences. However, I'm a rather seasoned traveler, with experience of solo travelling throughout Asia, and I don't avoid the dodgy poor areas... and I meet all manner of people. The people who the volunteers are unlikely to meet. In any case, these people going to a 3rd world nation for a few years won't change their perceptions. It'll simply reinforce them. I know.. I've seen it happen with American volunteers.
weldoninhio wrote: » I'm not talking about poverty tourists doing a gap year. Send them over to stay. No compounds, housing next to the natives, for integration purposes. It'll massively improve Africa. Think of all the different foods they'd bring to the area.
joe40 wrote: » I feel the experience my kids have of going to school with many different cultures, black, Asian, European etc has enriched their lives compared to I had in the same town growing up in the 80s.
Conversely I work in a large secondary school in the North about 20 miles away. 1600 pupils virtually all white Irish Catholic, It's grand but still has the usual sec school problems.
The lack of immigrants does not confer an advantage. Most kids with ambition just want to get out of the town.
I feel my own kids are better prepared for a globalised world. I'm not dismissing the problems that exist but if all the immigrants left my town tomorrow I think it would be a poorer for it.
RandomName2 wrote: » There are large groups of exclusively black youths in Balbriggan. How do they happen to be here? Did their parents all get work visas? Maybe they are all refugees? :rolleyes: What's really bad here is that when the state caves in and allows people to remain, they will tend to remain in.. not great financial situations. If they could have achieved skilled employment they could have achieved work visas in the first place. You're going to have areas of specific ethnic minorities that are living in relative deprivation.
joe40 wrote: » I live in the northwest border region, in a large town. There are quite a few immigrants, but probably mostly professionals.
Most kids with ambition just want to get out of the town.
joe40 wrote: » I feel my own kids are better prepared for a globalised world. I'm not dismissing the problems that exist but if all the immigrants left my town tomorrow I think it would be a poorer for it.
Arthur Daley wrote: » How long will it be before these rural Irish areas are irrevocably transformed. Is that what people want to see?
Globalisation seems to only go one way.
Deleted User wrote: » Personally, I have no issue with Africans who have the skills/education to be able to compete, on an equal basis, with Irish people. They're welcome to come here as part of normal migration policies. However, that's not what we've been getting...
the Taoiseach said most jobs are “vulnerable to digitalisation or automatisation”, adding: “The important thing now is that we think ahead. “Almost anyone in employment at all levels could potentially lose their jobs as a result of AI, robotics or automation.
joe40 wrote: » I will defer to other posters who have greater knowledge of the situation in Dublin re ghettoization, I'm not all that familiar with the city but fully accept problem exist as described. I live in the northwest border region, in a large town. There are quite a few immigrants, but probably mostly professionals. I feel the experience my kids have of going to school with many different cultures, black, Asian, European etc has enriched their lives compared to I had in the same town growing up in the 80s. Conversely I work in a large secondary school in the North about 20 miles away. 1600 pupils virtually all white Irish Catholic, It's grand but still has the usual sec school problems. The lack of immigrants does not confer an advantage. Most kids with ambition just want to get out of the town. I feel my own kids are better prepared for a globalised world. I'm not dismissing the problems that exist but if all the immigrants left my town tomorrow I think it would be a poorer for it.
Arthur Daley wrote: » Depends on how you define 'high skilled' and whether that system can be gamed. The 'engineers' and 'doctors' that we are promised? But even jobs like doctors and dentists are under threat of automation and AI.
Also, when did the European Union free market for labour expand out to cover the entire world. In theory the labour market for the World is limitless. Should Irish people have to compete on an 'equal' basis with the world for a job in Ireland? If not, why not?
Should people get a vote on these colossal changes
Deleted User wrote: » We should be able to effectively compete. That's the point of a university education and is well within the reach of most Irish people considering the grants/support available from the State. That a significant number of Irish people choose not to attend university/college is a different matter. As for the European Union free market for labour... dunno why that's being directed at me. There are heaps of things that governments do that people should have a vote on... except we don't. That's just the way things are.
Arthur Daley wrote: » The reason for bringing up the EU free market for labour is that this is what Irish people were comfortable agreeing to. However if it is now suggested by some grouping(s) that our labour market should be open to anyone with a university degree that is a very different proposition, that should face rigorous challenge. At any time, but especially in a period with massive unemployment, and the flagging up of future disruption in the jobs market.
Changing the demographics of an island race after millennia is not like putting the VAT rate up or down. It is as fundamental as it gets. People should be consulted on these issues and debate should be comprehensive. 'That's just the way things are' is not good enough quite frankly for an increasing number of people. Those who genuinely try to understand Brexit have already seen this.
Deleted User wrote: » Look. Anyone, and I mean anyone, who passes the requirements as a migrant, expat, or whatever, and has the skills/education to be a productive member of society, without causing trouble, should be able to do so.
Hunky Monster wrote: » I'd love for someone to list the pro's and cons for multiculturalism. I'd say that pro's list is quite quite short and includes things like "different food" while the negative list might include things like "more rapes"...
Bonniedog wrote: » The only ones who believe in a utopia are the advocates of mass immigration on the left. Bosses and landlords just see the money. A strange alliance to be sure.
Snickers Man wrote: » Wibbs brought up the concept of "utopia". If you're calling him a "left wing advocate" he'd probably be grievously offended.
I don't believe in Utopias; I believe in making the best of what you've got. People migrating from one place to another is simply a part of the human experience and has been since we got up on our hind legs. Modern transport technology just enables us to go further faster.
If you want to approach new arrivals with the attitude that they "don't bring their inferior cultures here" and "don't take our jobs" and especially "don't as much as look at our daughters" then intercommunal strife will be a self fulfilling prophecy.
If on the other hand you adopt a "take as you find" attitude, we'll get along fine. Well, most of us will.
As the late great John Hume put it "Difference, whether racial, linguistic, sectarian or national is an accident of birth. Respect for difference is the basis of all lasting peace". So true.
Snickers Man wrote: » I don't believe in Utopias; I believe in making the best of what you've got. People migrating from one place to another is simply a part of the human experience and has been since we got up on our hind legs. Modern transport technology just enables us to go further faster.
If you want to approach new arrivals with the attitude that they "don't bring their inferior cultures here" and "don't take our jobs" and especially "don't as much as look at our daughters" then intercommunal strife will be a self fulfilling prophecy. If on the other hand you adopt a "take as you find" attitude, we'll get along fine. Well, most of us will.
Snickers Man wrote: » OK. Show me a monocultural "utopia" anywhere on this earth. A place with no poverty, no inequality issues, endless sunshine, flowing with milk and honey, where everybody has a chicken in the pot, ice cream to follow, and a warm comfy bed at the end of the day in which to rest and binge watch Netflix. There isn't any. And it's all the fault of those bloody immigrants!!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Wibbs wrote: » I have absolutely zero problems with actual asylum seekers,
Slowyourrole wrote: » What benefits do you feel asylum seekers bring to native populations?
Eric Cartman wrote: » fair play for being the first person to actually even try answer the question. Where the immigrants are mostly professionals I can see how this is a benefit, sadly only 12% of Non EU migrants have even set foot in a higher education institute and less than 2.5% have a degree , so your success is hard to replicate.
.anon. wrote: » I know that's not a perfect answer, but I'm sure you'd equally struggle to tell me all the great things about monoculturalism.
.anon. wrote: » I don't agree that we should only be letting people with third level qualifications in. But getting a job or an education should be the number one part of the asylum process from day one - because that seems to be the best way of integrating.