Brussels Sprout wrote: » Nice gaff (apart from the BER rating - which I presume a prospective buyer could do something about)
brisan wrote: » Seeing as how the Irish Times owns myhome.ie which is exclusively used by EAs ,I am not a bit surprised
MacronvFrugals wrote: » Julien Merceile covered this direct conflict of interest in hist book - The Political Economy and Media Coverage of the European Economic Crisis : The Case of Ireland We've all seen the "Cant afford Stoneybatter, why not give Cabra a look" articles.
smurgen wrote: » The talking up of the market is getting more obvious by the day. For example having Niamh Horan writing articles on property screams desperation.
brisan wrote: » I am trying to research the last time property prices either stalled or rose during a recession So far no luck but I will keep looking Fed say Biggest recession since the Great Depression ECB says biggest recession in peacetime in the last 100 years Irish Central Bank says biggest recession since the foundation of the state English Central Bank says the biggest recession in 300 years Dan O Brien ( Irish Independent )says this recession could make 2008 look like a blip. Record levels of Government Dept and growing daily. Over 1m workers depending on the state for some or all of its income Irish estate agents and Irish times It will be grand lads don't be worrying
brisan wrote: » I am trying to research the last time property prices either stalled or rose during a recession So far no luck but I will keep looking
tobsey wrote: » In the 1980s in Ireland they did: http://www.moneyguideireland.com/house-price-changes-in-ireland-a-history.html The levels of falls in 2009-2013 here were unprecedented anywhere in the world. That was caused by building over 150k houses in 2006/7. There was too much supply and not enough demand. Demand is likely to drop due to people’s ability to afford property but we don’t seem to have an excess of supply.
Pelezico wrote: » 4880 properties sale agreed on myhome.ie and 17691 for sale on 4th July It may be worth tracking these numbers from time to time. They will probably increase over the next few months as recession bites. At current rates of say 1000 transactions per month, we have nearly two years supply on the market.
Marius34 wrote: » 17691 for sale - is myhome National level 1000 transactions per month - is Dublin level
Pelezico wrote: » You are right...I was adjusting post as you corrected me.
Marius34 wrote: » now it's better, but actually still your numbers is to low. Currently it's around 3000 transactions per month.
Bass Reeves wrote: » Tobsey Do you not know that this dose not fit the narrative. Most cannot understand supply and demand. All there presumption are that we are going to return to 2012 prices in 6-12 months even though it took four years and even then the majority of the drop was in 2009 and 2011. Any one that points out different is a property bull even thou many state like myself that we could see a drop in prices but that it will not be anything like 2007-2012 as there is no excess supply. They all presume that everyone of 7-10k Aerbnb hosts are a stressed owner, that every LL will be under pressure with repayments even though many bought at the lower prices from2010-2016. Many have survived the last recession and are better set up now. Then there's the people who will lose there jobs but this recession of recessions will not effect these property bears and they will buy there forever homes(something they have failed to do all along even in the last property bust) and live happily every after. I think they should be careful what they wish for.
RANIA wrote: » We are selling and buying and not sure what to do, prices are gone so high where we want to buy, yet if we wait our house we need to sell will go back into negative equity (we bought it in 2006) don't know if we should plough ahead and know we are overpaying but still able to sell and or just wait
The Belly wrote: » Possible sell and rent although this may not be suitable for your particular circumstances.
Iceman29 wrote: » well there goes the potential "1000" that amazon were to bring over the next few years..... "870 DAA staff apply for redundancy as aviation crisis grows" and if that wasnt bad enough here's more news from US..."US economy needs more support than thought, warns Fed official" Things are beginning to fall apart now and it's becoming slightly clearer on just how fu#ked things are going to be and we're nowhere near a solution either.....oh and Brexit....
MattS1 wrote: » Recession for a few years then back to growth. Same as it's always been forever.
Iceman29 wrote: » I don't know about that.... The experts are predicting much worse than a recession. If you compare this to the 08 crash in terms of destruction..... this is streets ahead and much much worse. 08 will be a walk in the park compared to this.
MattS1 wrote: » It won't be for the property market anyway. 08 was once in a lifetime. This won't be half as bad. I've followed this thread for ages and your constantly spouting doomsday.
Marius34 wrote: » Are you searching globally or Ireland only?
brisan wrote: » All first world economies
Iceman29 wrote: » So how can the property market not crash while everything else around the world does? Oh yeah, this time is different, wont be half as bad......:pac::pac::pac:
Marius34 wrote: » I'm not sure where you are looking, that you can't find. Maybe there were no recessions in Ireland before Credit crisis, I checked neighboring UK. And it had in total 3 recessions in past 50 years (apart from 2008 Credit crisis): 1973-76 1980-81 1990-92 1 resulted in small property price increase, 1 resulted in price stagnating, 1 resulted in small price decrease. None of them resulted in major price fall.