Castlekeeper wrote: » Can't see the attraction in pumping out nitrogen to create a surplus that has to be baled. Anyone could see the way growth rates are going the last few weeks and adjust accordingly, skip every second field or shut the spreader down to 12-14 units and a lot of money and hassle would be spared at what should be one of the cushiest times of year for a dairy farmer.
Say my name wrote: » The vet can change which is which at their discretion. As long as they do the whole herd that way and know what they're doing of course.
whelan2 wrote: » Never heard of that tbh. Was always the same on any farm I was on in the UK and here
Say my name wrote: » Our vet won't tell you which is which and swaps it to suit himself. Maybe it's just him. Reasoning is with him if people knew which was which it leaves it open to tampering with.
whelan2 wrote: » What happens if the department come out to inspect at reading?
Reggie. wrote: 1000kg in a bale would be madness
cosatron wrote: » Says the contractor
whelan2 wrote: » Top lumps are avian tb, bottom lumps are panic stations around here
tismesoitis wrote: » Lumps on the top...ok. bottom lumps...not ok!! Up for heaven down for hell.
K.G. wrote: » Winter wont be long coming so i m giving some thought to trying to keep the cubicles cleaner.what changes have ye made that have improved cibicle cleanliness in terms of head rail distance to cubicle end or brisket boards or what ever.now is the time to change stuff that might help
Say my name wrote: » Why not the whole hog? Conditions are perfect for biology and biological organic inputs.
mahoney_j wrote: » Cows have to be fed on ****ty days from October on ,u can never have enough good feed in yard .been spreading 20 units behind cows since April and last 2.5 weeks back to 17!ish grass still growing strong but of my rotation was 25 days plus farm would go hungry v quick
Castlekeeper wrote: » I was writing in the context of people here complaining of having too many bales, and the difficulty on getting a window of baling (unnecessary) surplus grass in this weather.
Mooooo wrote: » Tbh I just hate bales, viewed as a necessary evil. Also I don't really consider anything a surplus until cow's are out full time next year, a bad autumn here and with half the farm heavier in nature and cow's could well be in a month early. Can see your point but the last number of years have shown whether due to wet or dry weather a stock of forage will generally be needed in the yard. Managing that from year to year cost effectively obv debatable
Wildsurfer wrote: » Ah Jaysus you're depressing me with talk like that, thinking about being back to cleaning cubicles!
mahoney_j wrote: » A reserve of top quality feed in yard 12 months of year is a must now and I look on it like an insurance policy when drought hits or wet spring/backend it’s one less thing to dress about and u don’t have to pay over the odds for average quality stuff even if u could find it
orm0nd wrote: » a mate of mine started dairying on very dry upland farm in the '70s , he always maintained you should have 1.5 years winter fodder on hand he sold up and moved to a much larger low lying farm with heavy soils, he now reckons you should have 2 years fodder on hand
straight wrote: » There's great comfort in having it. I'm buying in bales delivered here for 25 euro and I think it's a great job. Enough to be doing in the spring besides searching and begging for bales.
jaymla627 wrote: » The self-help group been set up by robot owners is interesting, Lely really poked the hornets nest a few weeks ago with their its not the robot it’s the farmers fault stance, was glancing through the class action been taken against them by a large group of American dairy farmers and it would open your eyes to the amount of things that exists to go wrong with them... Whenever that case is decided if the verdict goes against Lely could leave them wide open here for similar