Franks12 wrote: » There was a lad in the club who was notorious for magically finding his ball after wayward shots into the thick grass (type of grass that was next to impossible to find your ball). Anyway was playing in a competition with him and my father in law one Sunday. Father in law warns me before the round that if he hits into bushes etc to keep an eye on him. As we stand on the first tee the culprit announces he is playing a Titleist 3 Prov1 and my father in law asks him to repeat that as "he didnt hear him correctly". Couple of holes in and he smashes a drive into the thickest grass. We tell him he should hit a provisional but he says it will be grand and he will find it. We go to help him look for it and the father in law actually finds his Titleist 3 Prov1 ball and shouts back to the fella saying "Found a ball - you were playing a Callaway 2, werent ya?". The fella jumps up as quick as anything and roars "yip - callaway 2 - thats me". At this point I'm confused as I knew he was playing a Titleist 3. Father in law shouts back saying "Pity that - i just found a Titleist 3". The fella was livid as he had to delcare the ball lost then and go back and play another of the tee. He didnt speak to us for the rest of the round but it was one of the funniest things I have ever seen on the golf course.
gman127 wrote: » I have recently experienced a situation that I'm still pondering what to do and would appreciate some input for you good folks on here and this seems a good a thread as any! Playing with Player A, making general conversation, he has some family also playing at the club so ask how all are doing, playing much etc. As plain as day says that his brother is 'minding his handicap' so that he can defend a major title he won last year :mad: Then during this round and a subsequent one with a friend of mine later in the week, Player A on a few occasions either misses silly putts or doesn't even bother to search for his ball that could be easily found etc after he makes the turn with over 20 points and in danger of a good score. And then after one of the rounds submits a score of 30 points even though his partner marked him for 32, which could have kept him in the buffer. So, long story short, how would you approach this sort of blatant handicap minding? Both lads off about 25 and capable of at least 18 if not better (Player A was off 10 a few years ago! ) I plan to bring the issue to the mens committee or captain or handicap secretary or something but would appreciate some advice first. Cheers
[Deleted User] wrote: » Few boys in our club would put a tee through their mat in winter to 'hold it' in position. But they would then place the ball on the tee.
Franks12 wrote: » There was a lad in the club who was notorious for magically finding his ball after wayward shots into the thick grass (type of grass that was next to impossible to find your ball). Anyway was playing in a competition with him and my father in law one Sunday. Father in law warns me before the round that if he hits into bushes etc to keep an eye on him. As we stand on the first tee the fella announces he is playing a Titleist 3 Prov1 and my father in law asks him to repeat that as "he didn't hear him correctly". Couple of holes in and he smashes a drive into the thickest grass. We tell him he should hit a provisional but he says it will be grand and he will find it. We go to help him look for it and the father in law actually finds his Titleist 3 Prov1 ball and shouts back to the fella saying "Found a ball - you were playing a Callaway 2, weren't ya?". The fella jumps up as quick as anything and roars "yip - callaway 2 - thats me". At this point I'm confused as I knew he was playing a Titleist 3. Father in law shouts back saying "Pity that - i just found a Titleist 3". The fella was livid as he had to declare the ball lost then and go back and play another of the tee. He didn't speak to us for the rest of the round but it was one of the funniest things I have ever seen on the golf course.
padmcv wrote: » I've heard of this being done by the group in front as a warning to stop hitting into them
blackbox wrote: » On numerous occasions, after they declare a score for a hole, I have said to fellow golfers that they might want to count the shots again. Most players are grateful as they genuinely forgot about a shot. Easy enough to do if a bit frustrated with your game. On the other hand, it's the easiest way to cheat if you are that way inclined.
spacecoyote wrote: » But, as predicted, on the second hole, the par 3 in Tulfarris, me and mate found the green (humble brag), he hits short, avoids the water but in deep rough. We're walking round the back, of the green to leave out bags for next hole. Look backwards as hes short and see him kick his ball out of the rough to the short grass. I roared back at him..."you cant f**kin do that, what the ****". He looks over like an embarrassed child caught and in trouble and mumbles that he hit off it by accident. Scratched the hole and didnt try much after that, because he knew he was being watched.
pakman wrote: » Heard this one at the weekend. Neighbour of mine was out in a medal a few years back and playing with a lad who was new to club golf. New lad was going brilliantly and set to win the thing going down the 18 when he commented on the neighbours golf clubs. He asked if he could hit one out of interest and my neighbour handed him a club, the new guy hit it, and was immediately told by my neighbour that it was a DQ. The guy just walked off the course after the 18th and didn't hand in the card. Seems out of character from what I know of the neighbour but you never know. Regardless of whether its true or not, its a rep he wont shake easily if the guys I played with are anything to go by.
Wombatman wrote: » Massively cnutish of the neighbour if true. Would have me steering well clear of him on the golf course at least.
MarcusP12 wrote: » Wow, that's pretty bad form! I assume he was just using the other club for a random shot as opposed to using it for his ball in play? Very strange that the lad would be interested in that if he was going well and didn't know that it was a big no no within a competition....if i was going well in a competition (long time since that was the case), i'd be hardly talking to anyone never mind looking to test drive their clubs!...hard to excuse the neighbour in allowing him fall on his own sword though when he was going so well....stinks of begrudgery at a newbie doing well in a competition so was happy to help him screw it up....not a good look....
pakman wrote: » Yeah I thought it was strange behaviour alright for the new guy as I would never even think about asking that during a round and never mind if I'm on a great score and trying to keep the head. You wonder how much of these stories are talk too because it does strike me as out of character for the neighbour. Just goes to show the power of a bad rep.
MarcusP12 wrote: » Actually the more I think about it, the more it sounds like a bit of a porkie....I’d be thinking about who told you the story in the first place and whether they might have a grudge or something....does sound like a malicious rumour....no chance maybe of asking the newbie himself directly? Do you know the neighbour well enough to ask him about it? Dunno about you but I’d be mad to find out more!
etxp wrote: » I'm confused, are we disgusted by the neighbour being a prick or the new guy for having a shot with someone else's clubs?