Wibbs wrote: » I genuinely admire the optimism involved. I really do. I'm not being sarcastic here, but good jaysus the naivety is strong.
Wibbs wrote: » :pac: Quoting Dylan and that song? You do realise he wrote it in 1963 and an old man he is now, though that's grand I suppose as he agrees with you. However nearly 60 years on and after race riots and killings and decades of education and effort, today we still have BLM protests across the US. It was a lovely thought and hope for the future but in so many practical ways those times don't seem to have changed too much at all. But this time, oh yes this time... Pro Islamic eh? I'd be pretty certain you'd poo the bed if someone was to suggest a pro Catholic tolerance society was wanted, so why another bronze age superstition gets the nod is beyond me. Though there's a touch of the orientalist exoticism with that one. Or maybe you're one of those DIY cut price easy listening "buddhists" who thinks themselves so virtuous. Or you're having a laugh, or you're a hilarious stereotype of the "right on". Ahh there's that changing wind again. And bugger all will change in the US. They'll fire one oaf out and replace him with another more digestible puppet for the big money and on they'll roll as before.
WrenBoy wrote: » Ah yes these all fit together perfectly, I cant see anyone of these groups having any issues with the others. No sir-ee bob.
WrenBoy wrote: » I hope its naivety and the idealism of youth. Im genuinely failing to understand how this would work.
LiquidZeb wrote: » God I ruffled some feathers there.
I'm Catholic myself and I acknowledge that islam is marginalized and painted as the big bad in modern ireland.
I believe that Trump and the rights days in America and the wider world are done. People can see through their bigotry and rhetoric after covid left them exposed.
LiquidZeb wrote: » What group would have a problem? Please enlighten me.
LiquidZeb wrote: » Don't call me naive. You wouldn't like it if I called you a cynical old fart.
LiquidZeb wrote: » It never fails to amaze me how many right wing posters here are so concerned about women's rights and the rights of the LGBTQA+ community all of a sudden. They definitely don't just want an easy stick to beat Islam with not at all.
[Deleted User] wrote: » He said "no issues" and I agree. Of course none of the Multiethnic groups wouldn't have any problems with multisexuality and multigenders. That's just 'dogwhistling' from racists, bigots and Islamophobes. "Tolerance" is here to stay and it's great. I welcome the day when a multisexual/transsexual pastor goes into a mosque to enlighten the congregation, on his/her/their belief system, with no issues. Can't see it happen though as it wouldn't suit the bigots' agenda.
Gentlemanne wrote: » The first one is someone who is very ignorant and the second one is someone you made up in your head.
LiquidZeb wrote: » And how many transgender priests are currently in any Catholic Church? I'll await your response.
LiquidZeb wrote: » God I ruffled some feathers there. I'm Catholic myself and I acknowledge that islam is marginalized and painted as the big bad in modern ireland. I believe that Trump and the rights days in America and the wider world are done. People can see through their bigotry and rhetoric after covid left them exposed.
LiquidZeb wrote: » This whole website is a dumpster fire. We've had people launching character defenses for Tommy Robinson after he was arrested for about the 25th time. We've also had lads claim one quarter of Muslim immigrants were in rape gangs. It's a hive of xenophobia, islamophobia, misogyny, racism and white supremacy. The mods continually ignore the issues and banhammer anyone who calls it out. They can ban me if they want it only proves me right.
The group, who are accommodated at the former Skellig Star Hotel, say they have been “traumatised” from living in the centre and are seeking to be moved out immediately.
TomTomTim wrote: » A hunger strike in Kerry. Absolutely farcical .https://www.thejournal.ie/direct-provision-skellig-star-hotel-hunger-strike-5161698-Jul2020/
Coybig_ wrote: » Send them all back home, or if that doesnt do, send them all back to the first EU country they passed through, the place where they should be claiming asylum.
TomTomTim wrote: » A hunger strike in Kerry. Absolutely farcical .
homes_for_all wrote: » Hunger strikes have a long history on this island, sounds like "they're becoming more Irish than the Irish themselves" Which is good.