straight wrote: » Milking more cows but are you making more money. I prefer rearing them myself. I may have trust issues. Ha.
Farmer2017 wrote: » Lads now that breeding season over what do ye do with the stock bull between this and next may
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Well time off to me is just as important as profit, but it's hard to get there without putting in the hard yards first. We went contract rearing last year for the first time, best decision we ever made. Super uniform bunch of heifers from our best cows that in really looking forward to milking. We were doing a good job on them but this guy is doing an excellent job, I'm not chasing my tail.during calving and breeding to go check heifers on the outfarm and I can devote my time to just the cows, We're milking more cows and it doesn't feel like any extra work
straight wrote: » I fell asleep during that IGA conference last night. Fair play to all the heros and what they achieve but the same old thing over and over gets tiresome. Woke up for a man near the end saying about so many people dairy farming that aren't meant to be I felt like the bold boy in the class for not doing what I was told and expanding like hell and taking on more ground,contracting out heifer rearing, etc.
Grueller wrote: » At the mention of contract rearing. I have an outfarm that I am keeping sucklers on at the moment. I am looking for an exit strategy from sucklers and have an idea of contract rearing. The only snag is that I would want to batch them with my own heifers. I have plenty grass and housing for up to 45 on top of my own heifers. Would mixing the heifers be a deal breaker?
straight wrote: » Ones interpretation of a good farmer can be alot of things but for me it's not one that burns themselves out at cows like alot of fellas are at. Not talking about the 3 lads there now. In fact I'm probably more guilty of it myself but I'm trying to move away from being a slave to the whole thing. I admire the lads that are able to drop the whole thing when they want and go to events, holidays, pastimes, etc. I'm here trying to get into the top 10% and even the top 5% and I don't know why because I was never in the top 30 or 40 percent of anything else all my life. Jeez I badly need a few phucking pints.
mahoney_j wrote: » Watched it all ,3 really good farmers 3 great stories lots to take from all 3.may not fully agree on everything but different strikes different folks
Castlekeeper wrote: » Which might depend on how biologically active the soil is? I was more thinking of the chemical effect ion exchange and especially P availability.
Castlekeeper wrote: » You would have issues with Ca lime on black ground, from what I've read Conon has gravelly ground. Ca loosens, Mg tightens, there's a large school of thought that as the proportions are important too.
Say my name wrote: » People forget though being a ground up rock dust. That it's now in a form available to biology. So it feeds bacteria. And that bacteria gets eaten by that bacteria and that fungi and so on. So you'll get nitrogen release just from the biological increase.
jaymla627 wrote: » If going with calcium lime youll have zero issues, but mag lime like roadstone have is a big no no if on wet heavy ground
Mooooo wrote: » It was more in response to the belief that it can make ground difficult in wet weather and he said he was in paddocks first the following spring following aut application
Castlekeeper wrote: » Why is that a "grenade"? Lime generally flushes nutrients from the soil so it would make sense that there would be a corresponding flush of growth.
Castlekeeper wrote: » Am I missing something or is there no link on that tweet? I'm a member and I wasn't sent any link???
Buford T. Justice XIX wrote: » Interesting grenade thrown by Conor Creedon, the ground he limes in the Autumn is the land he goes to first in spring:D
Mooooo wrote: » The hour this evening was very interesting, good event
Keepgrowing wrote: » Some may be interestedhttps://twitter.com/irishgrassland/status/1282740869473415168?s=21