BaZmO* wrote: » This post is the 10,000th post
LostinBlanch wrote: » Jaysus Wibbs, you wouldn't want to have a crash in that thing. Thin tyres, no seatbelts or any kind of bars if you had a roll. It reminds me of Michael Schumacher after he had a spin in a vintage F1 car and he was asked what he thought of it. "Scary" was his reply.
Wibbs wrote: » *Bugatti once said Mr Bentley makes the fastest trucks in the world
Capt'n Midnight wrote: » "British" racing green is actually Irish green because of the Gordon Bennet races.
cdeb wrote: » "Gordon Bennett" is a mild swear word in Red Dwarf. Though ye probably did know that
Realt Dearg Sec wrote: » James Joyce wrote a story about the Gordon Bennett race called "After the Race" which is in Dubliners. It really highlights what a massive event it was at the time, and what a spectacle. He depicts huge crowds in College Green welcoming the drivers like heroes. Of course for Joyce this becomes a story about Irish craven servility to people from more metropolitan countries.
joujoujou wrote: » ^^ That'd perfectly fit in WTF thread as well.
Vita nova wrote: » No, not something you eat or someone that preaches about Jesus but the type of nut you screw onto things. The Jesus Nut is the name for the retaining nut that holds the rotor onto the rotor mast of helicopters. It's so called because if it detaches then you're in Jesus's hands. It's also used in engineering jargon to refer to a single point of failure which can have catastrophic effects.
cdeb wrote: » Napoleon Bonaparte had an older brother called Napoleon, and four sisters called Maria Anna. In each case, the child died before their first birthday, and the name was recycled until reaching a child who survived until adulthood. It wasn't an uncommon idea. Ludwig van Beethoven, Salvador Dali and Vincent van Gogh had brothers called Ludwig, Salvador and Vincent.
Chancer3001 wrote: » Don't know why this never occured to me but Fascinating little life hack, for doing percentages: x% of y = y% of x So, for example, if you needed to work out 4% of 75 in your head, just flip it and and do 75% of 4, which is easier.
Cordell wrote: » Also closed casket may not be an option: https://mashable.com/2015/03/12/banana-spider-erection-death/?europe=true
KevRossi wrote: » Emlyn Hughes has a son called Emlyn Jr. and a daughter called Emma Lynn.
LostinBlanch wrote: » The staff on Airforce One got so annoyed Lyndon B Johnson constantly asking them to change the temperature in the cabin that they installed a dummy thermostat so he could change the temperature himself. He never asked again after that.