pgj2015 wrote: » is the second one near newtown forbes? if so, that was built way before the celtic tiger I think.
blackwhite wrote: » Just outside Newtownforbes. It was started in the mid-2000s, and stalled around the time of the crash. The other one is near Mullingar - up until 3/4 years ago there used be small bits of activity, as if someone was trying to scrape together a few € to slowly get it over the line. Not much movement there since 2015/16 though
blackwhite wrote: » Anytime I'm headed for the Northwest this reminder of the Celtic Tiger always catches my eye ...
pgj2015 wrote: » im pretty sure the newtown forbes one was built in the 90's.
blackwhite wrote: » Surely all the jaeger bombs during the Tiger years hasn't addled my memory that much
blackwhite wrote: » I moved to Dublin in the mid-2000s, and remember there being work ongoing when I'd be travelling home for football. Surely all the jaeger bombs during the Tiger years hasn't addled my memory that much
Deleted User wrote: » Regarding the chap in strokestown, was he one of the developers who had a gun pointed at him after not paying his builders?
KevRossi wrote: » He was threatened more than once AFAIK. But he was claiming to have nothing, but still got relatively new Lamborghini's over from the UK during the recession, so that plssed a lot of people off. But he now has a close neighbour renting one of his houses who has also done a considerable stretch for a number of things, and that renter is also a prime suspect for being involved in murdering Veronica Guerin. I doubt he's paying too much rent. So things have quietened down a bit there.
KevRossi wrote: » Then there's this place outside Strokestown. https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.7708545,-8.0891092,461m/data=!3m1!1e3 Built by the son of a local quarry owner turned developer. House had over €1,000,000 spent on it and still had no windows in it. Guttering was made of stone and supposedly cost near to €100,000 alone. Largest house to be built in Co. Roscommon since the 1870's. Garage for 12 cars for his supercar collection. Last he was in the news he owed €149,000,000. He purchased a Ferrari F50, there were only about 400 ever made and all in left hand drive, with the exception of 3, specially commissioned for the Sultan of Brunei. One of them was to be sold (around 2005). Amongst those looking to purchase it were Nick Mason, Nick Faldo, Eric Clapton and some others. It ended out with yer man in Strokestown. he was in the news as he took €20,000 deposits on apartments in Santry and Carrickmines that were never built, the people who paid deposits got €200 back from the €20,000. Had a speedboat in Monaco, it broke, so he sent 3 mechanics over to fix it, they took their time on it as they were staying in yer man's gaff in Monaco. Thing was, when they were gone the quarry had to slow down production as there were no mechanics to service the machinery. There's a load of crazy stories surrounding the family, they were always a bit close to the edge, but the Celtic Tiger bought out the best/worst in them. They're still going strong, he had a string of Lambo's, Ferrari's and Lotus's during the recession.
pgj2015 wrote: » Im going to have to ask someone, I live not that far from that house and would be on that road since I was a kid. I have memories of passing it when I would have been going to Dublin on school tours and to matches etc which was in the 90's.
blackwhite wrote: » Could well have started back then - but def remember seeing works ongoing when driving that road - which would have been 2005 onwards Possibly efforts at restarting works when people had a few quid again
pgj2015 wrote: » maybe, its sad to see houses half built like that. you would feel sorry for the owners.
blackwhite wrote: » Always wonder how bad things must have gotten that they can’t keep tipping away slowly at it. When so much effort and money already poured into them
rainbowtrout wrote: » I remember hearing a story about him where the cars were put into shipping containers and the containers buried on the land when things went south.
pgj2015 wrote: » Are there no mechanics in Monaco?
thebronze14 wrote: » Ireland playing away to France in a qualifier and 30/40000 Irish people being there was pretty boomy looking back on it! I was in college 05-08 in Dublin so saw a little of the tiger but didn't have much money myself to partake. I remember people getting taxis for ridiculously short journeys alright and mates not giving a feck about getting change back from the shop. I remember long queues to get into nightclubs and heaving bars. It's gotten to that stage again with the bars in Dublin pre covid! Worked in the nightclub/hotel at home 2002-2007 and Donegal wasn't as bad as Dublin. I did get some big tips during weddings and plenty of young people were throwing around money on double vodkas and red bulls and 2 pints of fat frog for 16.20. Nightclub was packed Thur-Sunday. Now it's just about open on a Sat although that has more to do with young people's drinking habits. I'm a Primary teacher so was lucky to get my first job in 2008. As things were getting cheaper and less flashy, it was the first time I had money so it was my boom really!!
Randy Archer wrote: » All of them were hoping several nights a week
murphyebass wrote: » Hoping for what exactly?
Muahahaha wrote: » Was it the developer who went into hiding for 6 months, grew a long shaggy beard and then emerged on the side of the road roughed up a bit and said he was kidnapped by the Russian mafia? That story was unreal, funnily enough the Gardai knew he was making it all up pretty quickly.
razorblunt wrote: » Wasnt Josephine’s in Urlingford sold for big money only for the bypass to get the go ahead a couple of years later.
jimmy180sx wrote: » Applegreen brought it. 6months later gone. Also huge hotel built across the road. All the steel was stood and contractor went wallop. Stood like that for 12yrs before it was bought and converted into a nursing home. Think the one in cashel is still going? Used to be rammed with truckers and FAS lads in there jap imports on a Saturday night