Dial Hard wrote: » OP, you're perfectly entitled to want some standards in a partner and I certainly don't think being clean and financially independent are particularly onerous ones! In fact, I'd consider them fundamentals of being a functioning adult. I think people are being particularly dismissive of the job thing. I don't need a partner to be a high flying career executive by any stretch of the imagination but if they didn't have the money to be able to do things like go out for dinner, go on holidays etc. then that would be an issue for me, I have to say. No doubt that will be dismissed as shallow and materialistic by some, but it's how I feel. I don't need or expect any man to pay for me, but he needs to be able to pay for himself. ETA: I think it's the phrase 'red flags' that's getting the backs of some posters up. I think they're more compatibility issues then red flags, but perfectly valid ones for all that. I have absolutely zero interest in clothes or shoes or "stuff" but I absolutely love eating out and going on nice holidays. A guy might have zero interest in that and be perfectly happy earning enough money to pay rent in a (grotty!) houseshare and buy a few cans every weekend. It doesn't mean he's a bad person, it just means we're incompatible.
Mongfinder General wrote: » I see this all the time. I work with some beautiful women. Beautiful unmarried women in their late 30's. They're all waiting for that special guy. The issue, as I see it, is that they want Mr Perfect. Instead of settling for Mr Right.
Mongfinder General wrote: » Good for you. You'd rather be alone than compromise your principles. And that's a good point about being the sole bread winner. There's always the chance that the guy could ask for a divorce and screw her for maintenance if he is the home maker raising a child. More and more people are less willing to take the risk and compromise the standards that they've set for others. Good luck to them. I'd love to have that kind of resolve. Being able to watch friends settle down. Attend weddings alone. House warmings and Baby showers too. Births and baptisms. Birthday parties. Looking at photos and videos on Facebook of friends' kids growing up. Not being part of the parents' WhatsApp groups at school. Saturday morning sports. And slowly losing contact as each of your once single friends gradually lose interest in you as their family life takes over. Perhaps have a read of this book https://www.amazon.co.uk/Men-Strike-Boycotting-Marriage-Fatherhood/dp/1594037620 I actually envy your strength of character in that you'd prefer single life in a one bedroom flat to risking it on some bum who won't domesticate.
Shelga wrote: » She says herself, it's very early days. I think she's shrewd to be acknowledging what is likely to bother her down the road. I'm trying to get a house at the moment on my own, and it's incredibly difficult. Being in a relationship and still having to go through all the financial stuff alone? Not hot! It's meant to be a partnership, not her struggling alone financially through life. Don't make her out to be overly picky by wisely sensing that this will bother her massively, if his work ethic or priorities don't change. And note that she also wisely says that she's not trying to change him! OP, I would continue having fun with the guy, but don't ignore your gut feeling on what are majorly important things to be on the same page on in a serious adult relationship.
lainey_d_123 wrote: » I can't stand this rhetoric, that women who expect men in their thirties to be financially stable and know how to clean are being overly demanding, and should just settle before it's too late. Why is the onus not on men like this to grow up and cop on? Fair enough if the fella wants to do a creative job and isn't focused on money, to an extent, but having a manky towel festering for weeks is just disgusting! Never mopping the floor is disgusting. OP is also right to be concerned about ending up as the sole breadwinner. Maybe she doesn't want to work hard for years, have a taxing pregnancy and then have to go back to work ASAP because her partner doesn't earn enough to do otherwise. Maybe these beautiful women you describe don't want Mr Perfect, maybe they just want a decent, kind man who is also capable of being an adult and doing things like laundry and mopping and paying the bills and if they can't have that very reasonable expectation met, they'd prefer to just be single? I'd much rather be alone in a nice clean one-bedroom flat than nagging a 35-year-old man about washing towels or worrying about paying the mortgage on my own.
J Mysterio wrote: » What concerns me about the OP is that it's not clear the poster has addressed these rather straightforward issues with her other half, and has clearly been dwelling on them for some time. These are simple things that can and should be discussed. Feels as though the OP is ready to cast aside her partner for something he may not even know is an issue, and for me, that shows a lack of respect for him and their relationship.
Mongfinder General wrote: » I see this all the time. I work with some beautiful women. Beautiful unmarried women in their late 30's. They're all waiting for that special guy. The issue, as I see it, is that they want Mr Perfect. Instead of settling for Mr Right. OP, you can't have everything. You live in a country that taxes couples at 50% above €70 odd grand (joint assessment). Working free lance or from home could save a fortune on child care. This guy ticks most of the boxes. Don't balls it up.
hurleronditch wrote: » I lived with friends until I was 30, and though my now wife improved my attitude towards cleaning bathrooms and changing towels and bedclothes, when I was living with the lads I could be as messy as the next fella. Now I probably almost do more of the cleaning in our house, certainly the kitchen as I cook more but I now see things that needed to be cleaned, whereas before I just saw things that were grand as they were
Bobtheman wrote: » He is unlikely to be want to be house sharing in 5 years. Ask him if he'd ever like to own a house. I think you are jumping ahead at this stage. Be careful. You don't want to scare him off.
cj maxx wrote: » He's handsome, kind , a good lover and side spilttingly funny ( her words) and the fact that he is free lancing in his career and not chasing a steady well paid job is a red flag? Also his housemates are messy while he is not is a 'red flag' They're not red flags, maybe something you can't comprehend, but not red flags
Pawwed Rig wrote: » My recommendation to every couple who think about living together is, if you can at all afford it, get a cleaner. If you're working hard all week the last thing you need is to have to clean on your free time. Worse again is having domestic chores cause tension in a relationship. You need to sit down and talk about the future and see if it is a future that you want. I do think it is a bit old fashioned of you to expect him to be the breadwinner. Could you respect someone who you earn more than? My gut is that this may be an issue for you.