o1s1n wrote: » Those 'scientific idiots' have a better understanding of the universe and reality around them than most religious people.
[Deleted User] wrote: » A time is going to come in the not too distant future where this viewpoint is looked at in the same way you look at the views of the church and the like.. Everyone will be "ah, the atheist scientific materialists..shower of idiots.. imagine having that shallow a concept of reality.."..
Kaybaykwah wrote: » Yes, that will be a new Dark Age, entirely plausible.
Deleted User wrote: » A time is going to come in the not too distant future where this viewpoint is looked at in the same way you look at the views of the church and the like.. Everyone will be "ah, the atheist scientific materialists..shower of idiots.. imagine having that shallow a concept of reality.."..
Kaybaykwah wrote: » No amount of fantasizing will solve the problem of longing to stretch your life into another said lifetime. I am not in need of comforting, and I think the idea that Faith and Hope are a more satisfactory option is delusional. There are generations before and after you, why would you want yourself to be brought back as a fawn or a bird? In your strange notion, rational folk don't experience the delight of living in the present, and wonder at the majesty of existence. Thoughts that are bound by scientific knowledge are more liberating and give way to more wonder than constantly disputed scriptures or else New Age constructs that promote wishful or magical thinking.
nthclare wrote: » There's no scientific proof of reincarnation or heaven or hell but I like the idea of continuing on after this here and now, I love experiencing all the good things in life. Imagine being a dolphin or an eagle, think about it or being a kid again and your grandfather lifting you up in the air and his lovely smile and the love on his face...
screamer wrote: » I never said these were facts, that’s how you interpreted them. But this is my reality, yes. I have zero belief in anything outside of what we live here and now.
Hand in Your Pants wrote: » You are free to your opinions but you shouldn't present them as facts.
nthclare wrote: » Richie Dawkins who likes talking about rotting away and being an organic computer lol I've no proof of an afterlife or reincarnation, but I like the idea of it. I suppose if one really enjoys life and all it has to offer, they'ed love to come back. But if I was a moany aul kunt hating religion and woo and live a life of being an atheist and battling it out about the non existince of different realms or thinking because I'm an atheist I'm more clever than a thiest etc then I'd prefer to be gone and never exist again. Whether I live for a long time or die tomorrow I'll enjoy it to my best ability. Wait for the all wise Atheists to come in to the discussion dragging their knuckles along the ground, pounding their chests like a bunch of jocks outside Copper's on a Sunday morning at 3am in the fog..
screamer wrote: » We are but bones and brains and when we’re gone, we’re gone. There are no past lives, no future lives just the one you have and it’s short, so make it count.
Kaybaykwah wrote: » Yes, your present state of enlightenment suggests you will reincarnate into some higher entity still. Your thankfulness for the sacrifice of others is a great thing indeed. I think for myself that I have a vey mousy, not to say lousy attitude in front of adversity. My little finger tells me I must have been a lab rat or such in a very recent past life. That, or a louse.
Kylta wrote: » I'm sure I lived in a past life. As did most people I know. I think the people I know from my past life are all seeking an apology from me for the wrong i've done them. In my past life I was a cannibal and I'm sure I murdered and ate these people. Now here is where it gets confusing I want to apologise for murdering them, but I also want to thank them for their sacrifice in sustaining with their gift. Actually maybe its not a past life im thinking off maybe its a premonition of things to come. Maybe they'll sacrifice themselves for me when covid 23 causes widespread famine
Kaybaykwah wrote: » I would hate to be reincarnated as the guy who gives parking tickets or the lady who takes money in exchange for toilet paper in train stations. I'm game for anything else, though. I would just for one day love to be someone other than my very boring old self.
Kaybaykwah wrote: » Mind youse, a liver fluke might be all fun and games for all I know. I just can't wrap my head around the thought of giving out tickets. Being Jim Morrison, let's face it, the guy didn't need to reappear as a fluke, he got pretty good at damaging his liver on his own during his lifetime.
joeguevara wrote: » Doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things. If you are Jim you must have had some sh1t along the way so why wast your opportunity now. If your a fluke look forward to better things. It’s only a blip.
Kaybaykwah wrote: » The takeaway is we don't get to choose Jim or the river fluke. Damn.
joeguevara wrote: » Interestingly karma reincarnation means the worse life you have means you had an even worse before. So although you might think that giving parking tickets is bad, probably not as bad as a tapeworm. Also if it’s perpetual then it gets better so a liver fluke was probably Jim Morrison before. Past lives are more like quantum leap and karma doesn’t seem to determine it based on supposed meetings.
85603 wrote: » all they have to do is give up all money, possessions, and intimate relationships for whatever they might be offered (which also must be accepted btw). 'the sins of the father shall be visited upon the son' doesnt really make much sense until the father is taken as analogy for the prior life and the son the next reincarnation.