JohnnyFlash wrote: » Very strong piece in the Irish Times today from Stephen Collins about the continued influence of the IRA Army Council on the machinations of the SF party: https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/storey-funeral-a-reminder-that-ira-army-council-runs-sinn-f%C3%A9in-1.4294619 It spells out in very clear and stark terms that we are not dealing with a normal political party here. This is a party that has its eyes on being in Government in the 'Free State', and takes its orders from violent men in the ilk of Storey.Of course this doesn't matter to the blind defenders of a sinister political party, but this week opened a lot of eyes to what SF is really about. "The Bobby Storey funeral is another reminder not simply that the IRA has not gone away but that its army council is the ruling body of Sinn Féin. Clearly some voters have no problem with that but the episode should alert the wider electorate to what a vote for Sinn Féin actually means".
Deputy First Minister Michelle O'Neill has said she will never apologise for attending the funeral of the IRA veteran.https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0703/1151100-northern-ireland-politics/
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Sinn Féin living rent free in Blanchs head
Bonniedog wrote: » Adams and others are trying to pretend that the Provos became a sort of armed civil rights movement, seeking the same thing as NICRA. That is nonsense. NICRA did not support a united Ireland and the Provos dismissed NICRA demands as reformist and partitionist. Which is what led to the split, with Adams and McMillan's different wings of the IRA trying to kill one another for ten years. As for Adams being in the IRA, only an imbecile would believe that he wasn't. The historical record of those who were in the IRA and who knew him as a leadership figure, including Chief of Staff, proves that he was. The fact that the Village of the Damned kids who have largely taken over the movement since the surrender believe that he was not says a ,ot about how effective the Big Lie is. Adams doesn't give a fart that those who were in the movement when it mattered laugh at his lies. That is not the point. His target is the electorate because if they can obliterate history then they can convince them to vote for them.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What did you mean by the 'IRA was adjunct to NICRA'? The IRA was part of the formation of NICRA represented by McMillen. It was adjunct or supplementary or whatever you meant. Like Adams says about the IRA there are those who say he and those who say he wasn't. I have no idea of the truth of that or what he says about NICRA or what others say about him. Neither do you, unless you were there, you are just choosing who to believe.
blanch152 wrote: » Humour? About that funeral? And the hurt being felt by many people around the country which has forced the ladies of Sinn Fein to apologise? Would that not be in bad taste?
blanch152 wrote: » Adams is a proven liar. He told one story to Spotlight about his knowledge of the child abuse carried out by his brother. He told another story to a court. He got away with not being charged with perjury, because nobody could know which one was the truth, but it proved his status as a liar.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I was pointing out the utter and abject stretching you are doing blanch, with a bit of humour that seems to have gone over people's heads.
Bonniedog wrote: » Where did I say this? I said that Adams lied about being at executive meetings; a fact that has been supported by people who were at such meetings. He also lies about his being in the IRA.
Bowie wrote: » I think you have it in reverse chief. The likes of myself are posting on the hypocrisy of the one sided get the shinners mob. It's shameful this non story took the public attention off politicians refusing positions and crony senate spots, one drawn from a hat. Likely the point.
FrancieBrady wrote: » YOU said the IRA had nothing to do with NICRA,
Bonniedog wrote: » I know all about NICRA. Unlike you whose historical knowledge is based on brief visits to Wikipedia. McMillan was on NICRA executive. Do you think himself and Adams were besties (Adams was never on NICRA executive. He was on IRA Army Council and attended conventions up to the very last one.) A chap gets a bit tired of the likes of you trying to tell them stuff by the way. Especially when you haven't a breeze about the history of the republican movement.)
blanch152 wrote: » Christ almighty. We have already had someone compare the Sinn Fein thugs in white shirts to schoolchildren. Now we are equating Sinn Fein thugs to the Gardai. Pathetic.
Edgware wrote: » This is great fun. All the Shinners getting upset. The fishwife missing out on power and on the backfoot. All the **** up of their own making letting Martin off the hook and no one paying any attention to her one for everyone in the audience front bench
hatrickpatrick wrote: » The problem is that in Ireland this is no longer the case - those prices are going up, but incomes are not keeping pace. Off the top of my head, the government has to disincentivise the use of existing property (both residential and commercial) as an investment vehicle, build large scale subsidised social housing like we did in the 20th century, engage in serious root-and-branch reform of personal injury laws so that businesses are no longer held liable for their patrons' own stupidity, reform the insurance sector, reduce VAT and excise duty for the hospitality sector, improve inter-city and inter-county public transport infrastructure, tackle commercial and private landlords to reduce the cost of housing and of doing business alike, and slash spending on vanity projects which nobody actually wants and public entities which refuse to get their own houses in order (take RTE for instance). The first on that list is the big one and that's what I and many others talk about when we talk about smashing the paradigm of housing as an investment vehicle instead of as a place to live. The trading and subsequent of residential property by people and entities so they can be used to milk money from people in the form of rent is something we should never have normalised as a society - if you don't live in it and you didn't build it, you shouldn't be the one who owns it.
Mortelaro wrote: » Meanwhile in other news Ireland big time over estimated the excess death rate in the Republic from covid 19 by 59% :eek: This surely shoots us all from ok ish to one of the best in the world for the handling of the pandemichttps://www.rte.ie/news/health/2020/0703/1151127-virus-report/
blanch152 wrote: » Astonishing lack of understanding shown in your post. Comparing a misrepresented tweet from so no-bit councillor to the display of strength by the Sinn Fein mafia and disregard for the law. Credibility is something that post lacks.
McMurphy wrote: » FG councillor tweeting his admiration for fascists in blue shirts, and comparing them with modern day Fine Gael....... No problem You're parody.
blanch152 wrote: » Schoolchildren wearing identical white shirts as part of uniform - no problem Gardai wearing identical shirts as part of uniform - no problem Sinn Fein thugs lining up in formation in identical shirts like a uniform - big, big problem
Bowie wrote: » No we haven't. You claimed there was something nefarious about people wearing shirts and ties. People are pointing out how ridiculous that is by giving comparisons. You knew that though.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I have no idea if Adams was there or not, but the IRA's Billy McMillen was one of those who drew up NICRA's constitution and signed it. Get the history straight Bonnie and proceed from there.
Truthvader wrote: » See Mary Lou apologising for "any hurt" caused by attending funeral no word at all for the families of those murdered by "Big Bobby" And poor old Francie posting a picture of a murdered Guards funeral and referring to it as "paramilitary" - because he simply can't tell the difference
mynamejeff wrote: » I d hope im not the only one disgusted with the lowest of the low posters comparing the murder of a genuine innocent servant of the state and a murdering peado hiding child killing terrorist piece of filth . some of you are just the same kind of scum that bob story was and I can hope the same agony awaits