Bishop of hope wrote: » This is about a single event, unless you dip into the whataboutry. Do you think SF made a mistake here?
joeguevara wrote: » Yes of course I do. I dislike Sinn Fein and their policies. I think if they wanted to pay respect they could have done so through the live stream. Did you think I thought differently?
Edgware wrote: » No volley of shots yet for big Bobby?
Bishop of hope wrote: » I knew your position, I was just wondering why you think we should move on from this. As I said, I believe this event is going to be divisive over the coming short term, probably during marching season and with SF opposing any health advice or policy related to covid. They have given their opponents the high moral ground here. This will rumble on for a while for them whether we quit talking about it here or not.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » SF speak out of both sides of their mouths, depending on which side of the Border they are on. This has a lot to do with the 12th I think. I hope it doesn't escalate into anything bad. Such a fk up of a Province. It will never really go away anyway.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Here would be just as bad if somebody had decided to make a political football out of the Garda funeral. Somebody in the commentariat pointed out today that the reason nobody did was because of the funeral aspect of it...latitude was given to the obvious transgressions out of human decency. Not so when it comes to SF.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Leaving aside the idiotic snipes against an entire region, I actually have a lot of hope that it will go away eventually, the division that is. I think it'll take a catastrophe of some kind to do it though, another economic meltdown or a messy Brexit for example. But I've been saying for a long time that I reckon the day will come sooner rather than later when people who are a few generations removed from the heat of the conflict will base their decisions about who to vote for on regular political issues as opposed to the status issue. For example, to take one recent issue, 56% of the people in Northern Ireland voted to remain within the EU. On the other hand, 49% of the population is Unionist. That means that, even if you assume that no Nationalists voted to leave (which seems unlikely, these things don't break down entirely along partisan lines most of the time) it means that 7% of Unionists at the very least are people who voted to remain within the EU. Surely in that context, if the conflict was another decade or two removed from the present, Maybe this is just ignorance on my part, many people have told me that I'm underestimating the bitterness of NI, And given the amount of havoc in the world at the moment, I really don't think it'll take as long as it took the Republic to move on from conflict-based political divisions. The world is going through a period of extreme turmoil and rapid socio-political upheaval, and I just question whether a legacy issue like a now-finished conflict can override the issues which are currently sweeping the world and driving the aforementioned upheaval everywhere else.
Bishop of hope wrote: » It seems the whole graveside trimmings, after storeys funeral were unnecessary too. Of this is true then there was no need for the huge parade that led to a lot of controversy at all.https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/late-ira-chief-storey-taken-for-cremation-after-graveside-orations-39336304.html
hatrickpatrick wrote: » . Again, I would never justify the killing of civilians and I've always lamented the fact that this came to define the IRA through their own incredibly immoral decision making. But... .
Compromise will not solve our countries problems Compromise never achieved anything. Compromise will never achieve anything
Bonniedog wrote: » ANo one who was actually there remembers him being there!
Bonniedog wrote: » Adams pretending that IRA was adjunct to NICRA and stat he was at NICRA executive meetings in late 60s, before 1969. No one who was actually there remembers him being there!
In 1967, McMillen was involved in the formation of the Northern Ireland Civil Rights Association and was a member of a three-man committee which drew up the Association's constitution.
blanch152 wrote: » The media coverage continues, despite the best efforts of Sinn Fein to play this incident down.https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/storey-funeral-a-reminder-that-ira-army-council-runs-sinn-f%C3%A9in-1.4294619 "The Bobby Storey funeral is another reminder not simply that the IRA has not gone away but that its army council is the ruling body of Sinn Féin.......the more sinister feature of the event was the paramilitary trappings that put the true nature of the republican movement on open display." And for those comparing funerals..... "As for social distancing, the behaviour of mourners at the Storey funeral was simply another demonstration by republicans of their belief that they are above the law. It was in marked contrast to the muted dignity at the recent State funeral for the murdered Garda Det Colm Horkan. President Higgins and Taoiseach Leo Varadkar were among the many mourners unable to attend because of social distancing guidelines. Instead the President paid remote tribute to the killed garda by sounding the peace bell at Áras an Uachtaráin as the funeral started, while Varadkar went to Garda headquarters to show his solidarity by observing a minute’s silence in company with members of the force." The article finishes with a chilling conclusion "Many difficult decisions will have to be made in the coming months and the Government will have to find a way of explaining them to the public in an honest and coherent fashion. If it can’t do that the country may well find itself being ruled by the IRA army council after the next election." Exit before posters attack the author of the article rather than addressing the points made.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Looking at the funeral, what was remarkable to me was the lack of paramilitary trappings. Had this been an IRA funeral there would have been significantly more. Is the reporter not able to open his eyes?
blanch152 wrote: » Don't know about that, was struck myself by the turnout from the whiteshirts in paramilitary type formation.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Whiteshirts? I was at a funeral yesterday for a young lad who sadly passed and all his school friends lined the road in their trousers and white shirts Little paramilitary ****s
blanch152 wrote: » I think those kids were wearing their school uniforms, so yes, the uniform comparison is apt, the Sinn Fein lads were wearing their paramiltary uniform. Glad you agree.
joeguevara wrote: » Never said all sides made mistakes in relation to a single event.
McMurphy wrote: » Presumably Charlie turned up at the wrong funeral so? Blanch has turned the faux outrage meter up to 12 this afternoon i see.
Bishop of hope wrote: » Interesting apology!https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0703/1151100-northern-ireland-politics/