Grandeeod wrote: » They appeared regularly on Ian Dempsey's breakie show on 2FM. Even funny then.
Gregor Samsa wrote: » Much better on The Den. Didn’t they also have a small slot on Ian Dempsey’s radio show on 2FM? I can’t find any mention of it, but I have a memory of them having a fairly funny regular thing where they misheard song lyrics and created elaborate backstories to explain them. I still can’t listen to George Michael’s “Faith” without hearing them breathlessly singing “I gotta have Fanta, Fanta, Fant-ah”.
Gregor Samsa wrote: » Much better on The Den. I still can’t listen to George Michael’s “Faith” without hearing them breathlessly singing “I gotta have Fanta, Fanta, Fant-ah”.
colm_mcm wrote: » They used to be on ‘Number One’ with Ian Dempsey too.
Grandeeod wrote: » Absolutely. But what excuse does Ray Darcy have? The lads arms up the gullets had talent.
buried wrote: » Sorry to break it to ya now G, but I think they were actually pieces of fabric with some lads arm shoved up their gullets.
Grandeeod wrote: » ......Were they better on The Den or The Big Breakfast? I always preferred them on The Den, especially in the late 80s. Some funny and risky stuff then. Fair play they got the gig on Channel Four's Big Breakfast, but I thought they weren't as funny or spontaneous. In fact I think Zig even developed an English accent to suit the show. Whatever about Ian Dempsey, they made that Kildare eejit, Darcy's career. Does he even realise it??? Anyway, they redeemed themselves with their earthling cousins Podge and Rodge at the expense of Z listers, but it all started with the lads from planet Zog that gave a generation of kids/teenagers some laughs.What do you reckon?