seenn00J wrote: » That Belmayne development is so crowded, it's like they had a competition to see how many apartments/duplexes could be crammed into the smallest space. It's the type of housing that would be perfectly suited for city centre living. How much were they going for at the time of the Dracula ad? Here's a link about the structural defects the owners were hit with a bill for: www . irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/analysis/belmayne-it-will-take-an-actual-fire-to-reveal-the-truth-934852.html Also just read Jamie Redknapp and his wife attended the launch in 2007. Half a million! It's basically an extension of Darndale lol!
nthclare wrote: » Absolutely, money is a curse. Although I'd say its much nicer and easier living in a village or rurally if one's not well off. I'd prefer to be poor in solitude rather poor in suburbia. At least in natural surroundings one can enjoy what the so called better off have to pay for. It goes in roundabouts.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » There's a bit more to it than that. The real question was whether the peope throwingonwy around were happy and whether throwing money around made them happy. In most cases I really doubt it did. There's been load sod philosophy, over thousands of years, on what constitutes "the good life". It's really unlikely that throwing money around will make ypu happy beyond the thrill of throwing money around (similar to gambling). It's a bit much to ask people to sit and read philosophy, but it's not too much to ask people to think what they actually enjoy doing and why they enjoy doing it. The saddest thing of all is to see someone who has struggled without money, finally get some money which they could use to make life more comfortable over the long term, and they spaff it away on keeping up with the Jones because they didn't know what else to spend it on. There's load of literature on how to figure out what you consider to be a "good life". I think people would be a lot happier if they had a think about it before they become rich.
James Bond Junior wrote: » I remember that. She was spitting in peoples drinks and acting like a total scumbag.
talla10 wrote: » No matter how much money people have you can't buy class. The only real surprise in hindsight was that it lasted as long as it did
Claw Hammer wrote: » The real problem was not people not managing money, it was their behaviour when they had it. They were far too ostentatious, lacking discretion and vulgar.
Dr. Kenneth Noisewater wrote: » I remember Jordan opening a nightclub in Ballinasloe circa 2002.
tylercheribini wrote: » Joanna Lumley opened a shopping centre in Arklow too! See belowhttps://youtu.be/dYzb5qiXSL0
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » My sister got a letter in the post, which seemed to have been part of a random mailshot, saying she had been "pre-approved" for a credit card of €3,000. She happily filled in the form, and took it out in cash over the course of a couple of weeks, making the minimum payment of I think 1% per month, with 20% apr applying after the first 6 months. She got several "Good news! We've pre-approved you for X amount extra" and proceeded to do the same til she was probably in for 5 figures. I think at one point she just stopped paying them, or settled a fraction of the debt. I actually had the opposit problem a couple of years later - having also been stung with easy credit, I wanted a credit card for online bookings but didnt want much actual credit. I had so much trouble trying to get a limit of just €500, PTSB gave it to me eventually after a bit of whinging.
partyguinness wrote: » I remember applying for a MBNA credit card in 2005. When I got it had a quick glance- it was with a €800.00 limit. Grand. Looked again it was €8,000.00..nearly fainted. They put it up several times without asking- think it hit €15k at one stage. I actually put a stop to it. Remember the 5 years SSIA between 2001 and 2007? Banks were throwing out loans, credit cards etc so you would rake up the debt and use the SSIA to pay it off. Spent before it even matured.
bear1 wrote: » Well I as one of the fools that got sucked into the "easy" credit scenario. Got a job in AIB around 07 and the money being thrown at ya for being a bank employee. Whilst still being on a temporary contract they gave me a credit card with a "low" limit of 4.5k. Then I took a cash loan to buy a car - that took minutes. I then topped up that loan twice when money started getting tight. I was young and beyond dumb. Ended up essentially defaulting on both the loan and the credit card. I was so so stupid. Spending the money on weekend trips to Copenhagen, random trips here and there, eating out almost constantly and renting an expensive apartment. The bank was one thing offering the money non stop but I was the bigger idiot to keep asking and agreeing.
gmisk wrote: » Who was the target market with that ad?! Dracula?
One More Toy wrote: » Don't know why because the bank itself isn't in great shape to be sold off, look at the share price since the govt sold a tranche I don't know specifics but I'm pretty sure KBC was the only bank not bailed out by the state. So fair play to them I'm sticking with them
seenn00J wrote: » Also just read Jamie Redknapp and his wife attended the launch in 2007. Half a million! It's basically an extension of Darndale lol!
Less than half the apartments, which eight years ago ranged in price from just under €300,000 to almost €500,000, were built, and a large number of them remained unoccupied for several years after construction, turning the development into a ghost estate. In 2009, Clúid, with housing associations Hail and Sonas, bought 75 completed units in Belmayne. At the same time, Dublin City Council bought 59 of them and appointed Clúid as management agent. At the time, the estate was in a very poor condition, Clúid spokeswoman Karen Kennedy said. ‘Rubbish piled up’ “When we first visited this development over six years ago, there were high rates of anti-social behaviour, rubbish was piled up on the streets, and there were derelict buildings everywhere.
Odelay wrote: » They had the patio door open and all. Shire that would have let in a heap of midges.
Leg End Reject wrote: » I'm guessing exhibitionists and voyeurs. Showing a couple getting down to business on the kitchen island when you can see how close the houses are behind probably wasn't the brightest marketing idea.
ChikiChiki wrote: » Irish weddings are a load of **** until about 11pm when the formalities go out the window due to the copious amount of drink consumed up to that point. Absolutely hate the standing around and small talk in church car parks and stately boutique hotels that lasts for about 8 hours. The money spent on these things is eye watering for one day. I've been at a few foreign weddings of Irish people, with smaller gatherings and less formal. Way better craic in my opinion. And obviously a fraction of the cost and stress.
ronoc wrote: » This celtic tiger development Belmayne always struck me as a mirror of the times. * Eye watering prices * Over the top advertising. * Celebrity endorsements. * Bubble bursts * Developer goes bust * Turned into a ghost estate for a time. * Fire safety issues with some of the buildings. * Eventually completed with a large allocation of social housing.