JohnnyFlash wrote: » It's weird that people at an IRA funeral are being criticised for not wearing masks.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Read slowly...I didn't compare Bobby Storey to Garda Horkan at any stage. I did compare the 'funerals' of both men. Both funerals broke the regulations.
[Deleted User] wrote: » This is really splitting hairs territory....if you have antibodies...it cant attach to human cells (Same way,as yous get cancer everyday,but your body beats it everyday iirc) If its not attaching to you/entering system,how can you spread it?
blanch152 wrote: » By what standard was her attendance necessary?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Her own standards I presume.
Darc19 wrote: » Don't know why some people are getting worked up over some people gathering for a funeral in the UK. Nothing really to do with us here in the Republic of Ireland.
blanch152 wrote: » Well, Tony Holohan has said that all non-essential travel should not take place, so you are saying that Mary-Lou makes her own rules and standards and that the government’s don’t apply. P.S. you avoided the first question. You have made a virtue of claiming you never dodge a question.
Granadino wrote: » Does the presence of leading SF politicians confirm that they are indeed the political wing of the IRA?
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Read a history book
FrancieBrady wrote: » You will have to ask Mary Lou if her travel was essential in her view.
Hurrache wrote: » Dangerously close to the Cummings defense Francie, I'd never have thought you'd look to the Tories for inspiration
The Sinn Féin vice-president added: "Regrettably a considerable number of family members were unable to take part in the cortege as a result of current restrictions, like many other families who have been unable to properly grieve or mourn the loss of a loved one in a traditional way as a result of the Covid crisis. "These restrictions have been very difficult for families who have lost a loved one and particularly those who lost a loved one during the period when society was in lockdown."
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Which ones, dude? I really liked The Secret History of the IRA by Ed Moloney. Ed is heavily involved in the Boston College research into the troubles.
Bishop of hope wrote: » Weird isn't it that there's not much input from the army of lads that were after Leo for his tryst in the phoenix Park!
McMurphy wrote: » Personally didn't get the big kerfuffle over leo having a few cans in the park, man was entitled to a day in the sun with his pals on a day off. However, there's a bit of irony in that post, because I seen very little people trying to use the funeral of Garda Horkan as a means to score political points. Quite clearly there was some protocols broken by certain individuals at Bobby Storey's funeral. But so too were protocols broken at Garda Normans. There's no telescopic lens camera trickery going on there, just members of a community United in grief to show their respects to a valued member of the community. The same could be said for Storey, people might argue over their differences in politics, but that's their problems. Surely there's not going to be one set of ridicule for one group of mourners, and a hall pass for the other?
event wrote: » Wow, nice. Good to see you finally answered it though
McMurphy wrote: » Personally didn't get the big kerfuffle over leo having a few cans in the park, man was entitled to a day in the sun with his pals on a day off. However, there's a bit of irony in that post, because I seen very little people trying to use the funeral of Garda Horkan as a means to score political points. Quite clearly there was some protocols broken by certain individuals at Bobby Storey's funeral. But so too were protocols broken at Garda Horkans. There's no telescopic lens camera trickery going on there, just members of a community United in grief to show their respects to a valued member of the community. The same could be said for Storey, people might argue over their differences in politics, but that's their problems. Surely there's not going to be one set of ridicule for one group of mourners, and a hall pass for the other?
blanch152 wrote: » One was a funeral for a Garda killed in the line of duty. The other was a funeral for an ordinary citizen who was an evil criminal. I see a distinction, but leave that aside
, the main point is the example being shown by political leaders. There was no reason for Mary-Lou and Michelle O'Neill to be at that funeral. Bobby Storey wasn't a politician, he wasn't a public servant, he was an ordinary citizen and the turnout in full of SF public representatives was completely over the top, unnecessary, and arrogantly showing two fingers to ordinary people who couldn't mourn their own.
blanch152 wrote: » One was a funeral for a Garda killed in the line of duty. The other was a funeral for an ordinary citizen who was an evil criminal.
nigeldaniel wrote: » Would they [SF] all have turned up if there were no cameras?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Does a tree in the forest make a cracking sound as it falls if there is nobody within earshot? In short...how would we know if there were 'no cameras' there to record the event?
FrancieBrady wrote: » So restrictions apply if you are going to the funeral of an 'evil criminal' but not when you are going to the funeral of a Garda? Wouldn't you just love it if that rubbish comment 'was left aside'. It wasn't any where near a 'full turnout of SF public reps.' Clearly the photo's seem to show that restrictions were broken as other phots have shown at other points in this pandemic. I think SF could have done a lot better yesterday and I said it from the get go here. BUT I have to note that to my knowledge the only instance of breaking of regs that you have criticised have been whenever SF have trangressed. As hypocritical as it gets.