Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » I'd say there was serious celebrations in SF HQ. Was scary for a while that they might have to actually govern. But thankfully the big boys stood up to the plate and we'll have 5 years of strong and steady governance. Probably another 5 after that too. The shinners will continue to shout loudly about ccccchhhhaaaange and promise that if they were in power they would give everyone shed loads of cash and a free house. Horse manure of the highest order. The denizens of these boards must be happy too. Can continue to engage in their favourite fetish of giving out about Leo and FG. Every minor issue can be exaggerated and blown out of all proportion. Now they can also take swing at FF as well. The hate and venomous mutual masturbation can continue with vigour for another 5 years. The angry men can continue their rage filled lives as they were before. Lovely stuff.
FrancieBrady wrote: » You are doing your best to divert the thread. It is about FG. The party that FF said they would never go into coalition with. 'Duped' you say?
Poor_old_gill wrote: » https://twitter.com/unakavanagh/status/1217868594165489664 Also doesn't include his part about underage girls having sex with older men and then blackmailing them. Party of the people - unless you are an immigrant, of immigrant descent, a woman or gay. How people were duped into voting for this 'progressive' party is still baffling to me
FrancieBrady wrote: » Job done. FF and FG become FFFG. The civil war is over in Ireland. No pretense now. Pressured into supporting one another in power in 2016 and pressured into merging in 2020. If we can get through the pious statesman like speechifying of Martin today and Leo standing in the background looking awkward...this should be a fun ride.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Nobody's citizenship or belonging is diluted because of who their parents are...it was a ridiculous thing to say. Nor are you less likely to be effective because you don't have children. He was disciplined for it and following party rules (like any other party) the issue is closed and he is allowed to function as elected. As I mentioned it above, Ryan used the N word in the Dáil and it is now forgotten about and he is in government. Is he racist, is the Green party that forgave him, racist? Loads of other instances of politicians saying the wrong thing and a stupid thing. Looking forward to you applying your wonderful logic to them.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » He was nominated by other SF councillors which shows that others condone his views - so it's not an isolated point of view. Also if you think his comments were grievously wrong but not homophobic or racist, then what do you think was grievously wrong about them?
mattser wrote: » Great call lads. The bookies would love you. :D:D Get back on the ditch now, and watch the senior hurlers.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What he said was stupid, silly and grievously wrong. As I said at the time. And he was rightly disciplined for it. Was it homophobic or racist? I didn't think so at the time and I don't think it was now tbh. If you think it is, don't vote for him, or the party if you think they condone racism or homophobia. Simple as that. The reason I point to other councilors in other party's here is that logically (your logic) if there is a racist or homophobic comment made by a councilor then by your wonderful logic we can conclude that the party is also racist and homophobic?
Poor_old_gill wrote: » Not even remotely a stretch - he didnt want Leo to be Taoiseach because he had no kids & wasnt a family man and he said that Leo didnt have the same passion for the country as himself as Leo's blood ran back to India & his ancestors werent part of the history of this country. How would you explain that? If you don't deem those to be racist & homophobic then thats it's a complete cop out to be honest.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Pretty clear whats going to happen 1. New Election or 2. After Talks fall apart FF will jump ship and join up with SF (many FF TDs and members want this already) Its killing Leo and the lads. Suppose he can go drink on the streets since its ok to do so.
FrancieBrady wrote: » All the speculation may now be moot...Eamonn Ryan may have scuttled the whole charade. Green party imploding.
McMurphy wrote: » Just catching up with the right old kerfuffle going on within the Greens. There's a power heave, infighting, and Eamo dropped the N word. :eek: Do people still think they're going to help form a govt? Really?
FrancieBrady wrote: » He was stupid and silly in his comments. But racist and homopobhic is a stretch. Get over yourself. SF are the official opposition now, whose job is to call the government out and to suggest alternatives. Contrary to FG/FF's usual spin, they are not a dictatorship...so get used to the idea that criticism will come your way. This isn't C&S where another party sits petrified in compliance either. Best of luck, it will be interesting.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » You always fall back to whataboutery - it's more or less all SF supporters have. Can't wait for the intensification of anti government & anti british/pro IRA memes & hashtags over the next few days to deflection attention. "Well I know our party nominated a racist homophobe to be mayor of SDCC thus showing up his beliefs and that of other party members but Leo said a movie quote in a speech and sure that practically the same thing, isn't it?"
FrancieBrady wrote: » Put your own house in order first my friend. Plenty of looney/corrupt/ violent councilors across every party. They were named here before...look them up.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » After Holohan's return to the SF fold - I wouldnt call my emotion anger, it's more frustration that so many people have allowed themselves to be duped with memes, twitter hashtags, etc. .
Poor_old_gill wrote: » No, you thought that you didnt - hence the useful idiots comment. After Holohan's return to the SF fold - I wouldnt call my emotion anger, it's more frustration that so many people have allowed themselves to be duped with memes, twitter hashtags, etc. All it has done is stop a credible Left wing movement in Ireland coming about.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Wow we are angry today. I voted for SF, I know for certain...absolute certain, that I didn't vote for an anti-immigrant anti Semitic or anti vax party. Get over yourself...concentrate on providing the best government ever here because it is last chance saloon for the now merged power swap parties. This was my second choice of what I would like the outcome of the election to be.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » When will the SF & National party merger be announced. It’s absolutely startling how they have convinced so many useful idiots to vote for them. Some irony that they attack others for being right wing parties while they are the largest anti immigrant/anti Semitic/anti vax party in the country. It’s time to get down from your ivory tower mate- your pathetic party has been rumbled yet again. It’s probably time to go throw out some anti British/Up the ra memes on Facebook
Bowie wrote: » No FG. Was only Varadkar said he relished it. Anyway, in answer to the OP; play junior second fiddle to Fianna Fail. Well done Leo (should it last five years)
efanton wrote: » this one is over, unless it's renamed will FG be in government for the next 5 years :D:D
mattser wrote: » Change of thread title, or just lock it up.
Podge_irl wrote: » I mean, you quite clearly don't understand that the number of members of FG is utterly irrelevant to the number of votes in this process. For the record, they had 21,000 members in 2017. Unsure what it is now, but its not 707.
Bishop of hope wrote: » That's SF i think.