blanch152 wrote: » How can I have evidence of something that hasn't happened yet? I hold the opinion that if Sinn Fein get into government, the level of corruption in Ireland will increase, and we will fall down the corruption index. What in that should be reported?
blanch152 wrote: » Nice way to explain the inevitable crash in the index if Sinn Fein ever end up in government, we would be lucky to be top 100 if they ever get their hands on the levers of power.
Finty Lemon wrote: » I see SF abstained on the SCC vote. Softening up for an offer from FF? Or because Bobby Storey is no longer calling the shots on policy?
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Sure its Slab calling the shots.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Slab hasn't called the shots in many years, dude. It's Gerry, Ted, Bobby (RIP) and the others from Ballymurphy and West Belfast who call the shot these days. The Derry, Tyrone, Armagh and Fermanagh reps are the equivalent of the Healy Raes when it comes to the backroom team.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » I think do all do Skype calls, Kim Jong-Un does be on too
Finty Lemon wrote: » Yes indeed, 18th position in a table of 179 is a good result (top 10% thereabouts). The spread among the top 20 is small also. It puts Ireland in the same light as Belgium, Australia, Austria, Canada, Germany. You know, mature centrist democracies with a liberal social agenda and a healthy respect for free market economics. The 'perception' index is constructed as a composite of numerous surveys and data gathering exercises compiled by reputable expert institutions globally. Arguing over the word perception is a bit like arguing over the 'theory' part in the theory of evolution. Its not just South American countries (like the SF beloved Venezuela or Colombia) that struggle for credibility. That other pillar of SF's international brotherhood, Greece, is not to hot either.
blanch152 wrote: » You are correct, the data only starts from 2012 on a comparative basis. What is interesting is that Ireland's performance has improved since 2012 by 7.2%, increasing the score from 69 to 74, indicating that Ireland has progressively become a less corrupt country under these Fine Gael governments.
Bishop of hope wrote: » Marylou appeared the other day signing the book of condolences for the poor garda, that was killed last week. Martin Kenny gave glowing oration about him in the, Dáil today. Not many years ago SF td and entourage picked a hero garda killer on his release from prison. Whisked him off to glorify his sacrifice for ould Ireland.
Edgware wrote: » Stay in the 1980s or move on. Look at what happened between 1923 and 1932 when FF were elected. SF abstained yesterday in the vote against the O.A.S. Act. They are slowly but surely moving towards the centre but of course have the few "up the Ra" dinosaurs still there. As Mary Lou would say "the demographics will take care of that"If things go their way Friday they could be in government in a week.
Deleted User wrote: » Why wait a week? Why not the day after the election?
blanch152 wrote: » There were two deaths in the last week worthy of comment by Sinn Fein - Bobby Storey and Colm Horkan.https://www.thejournal.ie/colm-horkan-tributes-dail-5131647-Jun2020/ "Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald wished “heartfelt condolences” to the family and friends of Garda Horkan, as well as to the wider community and An Garda Síochána. “An honourable and brave man has been lost,” she said. " This is the Bobby Storey one, which I won't repeat, save to say that it is nauseatingly long.https://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/57204 The contrast between the two is stark. One was an Irish public servant who gave his life in the conduct of his work for all of us, the other was a criminal terrorist thug who caused countless misery to thousands of people. Yet Mary-Lou went over the top in respect of the latter.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Why wait a week? Why not the day after the election?
dundalkfc10 wrote: » The other was a freedom fighter. One mans freedom fighter is another mans terrorist
Yeah_Right wrote: » :D:D:D:D:D:D Freedom fighter.:D:D:D:D
FrancieBrady wrote: » I managed to get through the week without reading any of the above. Do you seek stuff out to get offended at? I wouldn't take advantage of tragic deaths to politicise them even though I could. Bizarre personal principles there blanch...anyone's tragedy is ok for exploitation if there is a dig to be got at your boogeyman party...pretty disgusting really.
blanch152 wrote: » Yes, defend Mary-Lou by attacking her critics. Whether or not I seek stuff out to get offended at is not the issue, whether or not you managed to see it is not the issue, the issue, which you are so keen to avoid is that Sinn Fein continue to eulogise evil men while public servants killed in the line of duty get barely a passing mention. Mary-Lou is a public figure, she shouldn't be eulogising evil terrorists.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What you are in denial of and will continue to deny, is that SF do not see them as 'evil terrorists'. Just as FF and FG do not see the men and women who fought for independence as 'evil or terrorists'. You are entitled to your view of them and history...you are not entitled to enforce your view on anybody else though and you are actually wasting your time and energy attempting to do it.
blanch152 wrote: » I fully accept that SF do not see them as "evil terrorists", but nearly all decent members of society view people who indiscriminately bomb and kill innocent people as evil terrorists.
Pointing out the difference between Sinn Fein and decent members of society is sufficient to me.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Like those who bombed Dublin and my county town? So at what point did FG and FF and those involved in achieving independence and fighting a civil war - merge into being 'decent members' of society? How many years does it take until 'decent members' of society change the descriptors?* *asking for a friend.
Edgware wrote: » OK once more for the last time. 37 SEATS IS NOT A MAJORITY IN DAIL EIREANN. MICKEY MOUSE CALCULATIONS MAY WORK IN SF ECONOMIC POLICY BUT NOT ELSEWHERE
Deleted User wrote: » Please don’t shout. I’m well aware that SF on their own don’t have a majority. If people think that they can form a government Friday, why didn’t they do so immediately after the election?
Deleted User wrote: » If people think that they can form a government Friday, why didn’t they do so immediately after the election?
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Because FG and FF and Greens wouldnt talk to them. FF and the Greens have opened the door for talks to happen (if Greens say no) Cant explain it any easier
Bishop of hope wrote: » The washings of the bag like, how, would SF supporters feel about MM as Taoiseach?
Would the SF membership pass a deal with FF and the Greens, would FF membership or the Greens for that matter? Is it just about getting SF in without a thought of a programme for government? Lads, just because this current deal is rejected, if it is, doesn't mean wahey it's FF SF and whoever!