meeeeh wrote: » it wasn't derailed at all. It just continues to create constant stream of superiority. I think we established that some of you think you are better than everyone else. This thread is about nothing else for a long time.
ewc78 wrote: » Personally I think Runners are superior to everyone.
Duckjob wrote: » Why, everytime there's a positive story trying to promote cycling infrastructure (which would open up cycling for everyone), the comments fill up with the same tiredold comments about breaking red lights, riding 5 abreast, lycra, tour-de-france wannabes, tights, helmet, hi-viz etc etc etc etc.
Duckjob wrote: » And lets not forget a healthy splodge of how "cyclists" need to start paying road tax before they get "given" anything.
Duckjob wrote: » None of those things have anything to do with the topic of opening up cycling for everybody. It's been proved in other countries that cycle infrastructure, done properly, benefits everybody, including drivers. However, there's a certain mindset here that prevents certain people from seeing that bigger picture.
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » I think because people experience this a lot, it's irritating being stuck behind a cyclist(s) without anywhere safe to overtake. If it only happened once or twice a month it wouldn't be an issue, no one would talk about it ever. But it happens motorists regularly, and then they get the rage, and hence they complain about it. What's worse is 20 cars queued up trying to get past on a country road, they could be waiting 5/10 mins to get past. The cyclist can't keep stopping every time a car comes up behind them, they'd never get where they want to go. Cyclist break red lights often cause ...... but rules of the road/licence wouldn't go a miss. Also I think all bikes should have a VIN and visible registration plate. Maybe... Irish people have a very different mindset than our EU neighbors. Case in question: €2,500,00 spent on an off road cycle way between Baldoyle and Portmarnock, and there are still cyclists using the Road because There are to many people on the cycle lane and the lads that are out for 60k cycle complain that they're being held up... Ironic I do absolutely think that there should be more cycle lanes such as the one between Baldoyle and Portmarnock and the one on the Coast road up to Fairview. There are a few little design mistakes on both cycle lanes but mostly it's grand. However in such a circumstance, where cycle lane like this exists, the cyclist should be obligated to use it and stay off Road. Will it ever happen though..... Eh No! The Infra in our cities is in need to desperate upgrades having being neglected for years. Electricity Water Roads Comms etc It's all creaking....
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » Case in question: €2,500,00 spent on an off road cycle way between Baldoyle and Portmarnock, and there are still cyclists using the Road because There are to many people on the cycle lane and the lads that are out for 60k cycle complain that they're being held up... Ironic
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » I think because people experience this a lot, it's irritating being stuck behind a cyclist(s) without anywhere safe to overtake. If it only happened once or twice a month it wouldn't be an issue, no one would talk about it ever. But it happens motorists regularly, and then they get the rage, and hence they complain about it.
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » I don't think they should pay tax, but rules of the road/licence wouldn't go a miss. Also I think all bikes should have a VIN and visible registration plate.
Zebra3 wrote: » Billions spent on motorways across the state, and there are still motorists using the back roads because there are too many people on the motorway and the lads that are out for 60k drive complain that they're being held up... Ironic
meeeeh wrote: » I know at least one country with better cycling infrastructure where you would be fined for not using cycling lane where it is provided. Or for walking or cycling through the red light. A lot of people here compare the infrastructure to other countries, none compare law enforcement and laws in those countries with superior infrastructure. I saw someone stated a thread the other day if it's ok to cycle drunk. I didn't check the thread so I don't know what the answer was but it's bad enough they needed to ask.
meeeeh wrote: » I said as a group. In the end it's about what you project not who you actually are.
07Lapierre wrote: » When you think of “cyclists” what do you see?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Why specifically is it frustrating to be stuck behind a cyclist that you will almost certainly eventually get to overtake, but not frustrating to spend hours stuck in traffic jams, doing average speeds less than the average cyclist? Have you worked out yet that the more people cycle, the less people that are in the line of cars in front of you?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » They already have Rules of the Road and VINs. What value do you think that licence will have, in the context of the 2 or 3 people killed by motorists each week?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » What value do you think that visible registration plates will have in the context of the 98% of drivers breaking urban speed limits, all with visible registration plates?
meeeeh wrote: » I saw someone stated a thread the other day if it's ok to cycle drunk. I didn't check the thread so I don't know what the answer was but it's bad enough they needed to ask.
meeeeh wrote: I know at least one country with better cycling infrastructure where you would be fined for not using cycling lane where it is provided.
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » I don't know where you're getting the 2 or 3 a week being killed.
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » Theft, there's heaps of bikes nicked in Dublin every year. Also, Regulation is a good thing.
micar wrote: » As a runner and a cyclist, does that make be doubly superior?
Fred_ wrote: » So registration plates stop cars from being robbed?
Fred_ wrote: » So registration plates stop cars from being robbed? Is a regulatory measure a good thing if it decreases the number of cyclists during a climate and health emergency?
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » Self regulation or no regulation = Bad We've seen this time, after time, after time. Banks Builders Taxis etc Regulation benefits all.
FinnC wrote: » Just need to add swimming now to achieve peak superiority!
Beta Ray Bill wrote: » That would involved the average motorist having to look at themselves in the mirror... and that's not going to happen.
Hurrache wrote: » I'll let you into a secret, it used to be a legal obligation to use a cycle lane if one was provided here too. But sense prevailed.
07Lapierre wrote: » Hes referring to the total number of road deaths per year, not just cyclists. 148 deaths in 2019.https://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Fatal%20Collision%20Stats/Provisional_Reviews_of_Fatal_Collisions/RRD_Res_20191231_RSAProvisionalReviewFatalities31December2019_03Jan2020.pdf
Thelonious Monk wrote: » After decades of commuting by bike and causing no problems whatsoever for anyone, I'm just sick to teeth of every discussion on cycling in all media becomes a tirade against people just trying to get around. It's ridiculous.
So you'd be in favour of increased regulation of motorists and motorcyclists to address the worrying death toll on the roads, presumably? Mandatory tachographs for all, mandatory annual training, mandatory retesting every 3-5 years?
magicbastarder wrote: » not sure if serious. it's kinda trivial that a country with **** cycling infrastructure would (sensibly) not have a law enforcing the use of that infrastructure. Ljubljana probably has that law precisely because they've made proper provision for cyclists.
DoraDelite wrote: » Agree, thought it was pretty strange to compare a city that was ranked 8th in the world for being most cycle friendly in 2017 to Dublin :rolleyes:https://www.wired.com/story/world-best-cycling-cities-copenhagenize/ Cycle friendly implying that there is actual infrastructure there, not painted lines and shared bus lanes.
meeeeh wrote: » They are bit lower now. However if you ever cycle around Ljubljana I can guarantee you will be sitting at the traffic lights waiting for them to turn green as will everyone else. If you make a traffic offence as a cyclist there is a lot more likely you will be fined or warned (you are supposed to carry an ID). There is a good chance you will be breathalyzed if they think you are cycling erratically and so on. My point is that with more people cycling comes better infrastructure but also better road behavior expected by cyclists. Yet here the response to anything is but drivers, but potholes, but it's hard to stop at the lights and so on... It's all about the infrastructure and nothing about the behavior.