valoren wrote: » The payouts from the SSIA scheme matured around 2005/2006. It was the second stage of a credit fueled rocket kicking in for many. Equity releases, thousands received from a government top up saving scheme, 100% plus mortgages, loan offers from credit unions, preapproved credit cards, unsecured bank loan offers. All Hat, no cattle. How did it all go wrong?
Sheep_shear wrote: » I really wish his "What you should do with your SSIA" show on RTE was up on Player. Craic.
PhilOssophy wrote: » I watched that YouTube link for SSIA's - I watched 10 minutes and thought it was awful. I still don't know if he was actually advising people or it was a pis take, in either case it was neither funny nor good advice, the audience had a few faked laughs.
Sky King wrote: » He probably should have stuck with sitting down with gumps and a calculator on that other TV show he had. "So you have credit card debt, but you buy a take away coffee for €2 every day... Do you realise that your take away coffee habit is costing you [taps calculator] €730 a year?" "-JAYSIS!"
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » Isn't there another nuisance doing that on a new show now too? The salt and pepper lad.
Mister Vain wrote: » I remember the attendance rate in work was terrible. Half the staff just didn't show up on a Monday because they were so hungover, and they got away with it too. They'd be out drinking Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Free bars at Christmas parties where lads would be ordering 12 bottles of cider.
BattleCorp wrote: » Back around 1999/2000 I was working as a labourer for a blocklayer. The typical week for the blocklayer was drink on Friday night, all day Saturday, all day Sunday, all day Monday, go for a cure on Tuesday which might result in a Tuesday drinking or maybe just a half day on Tuesday drinking. Then try squeeze a week's work into Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.
Mister Vain wrote: » Those guys did it to excess alright. I used to hear stories of builders visiting escorts on their lunch breaks. 150 quid for a shag and then straight back to the site. Now we think bad of spending 3 euro on a coffee. How things have changed.
mariaalice wrote: » https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/i-lost-15m-and-fought-back-26809417.html This man use to present some property program during the boom.
hoodie6029 wrote: » 'I'm an adult, get me out of here' Such rubbish. One episode still stands out for me, it was that bad that I still remember it. Estate agent dryly talks about the house. McGuire with a big grin asks him what happened to his face? The EA had gotten so drunk at the weekend that his friends shaved his eyebrows and some of his hair. He revealed this on camera and they all had a big laugh about it. These were 2 men on national television advising someone that they couldn't lose on a terraced house in Monasterevin for €320,000... Used to see McGuire driving around town in 2010/2011 in a leased DB5 :rolleyes:
completedit wrote: » Funny how all the stories seem to just involve drinking loads.
Nigel Fairservice wrote: » He was advising Dolores McNamara, the €100 million+ Euromillions winner from Limerick, lost her a load of money on property in Detroit.
Muscles Schultz wrote: » Dafuq? Makes even less sense than the first attempt !
weldoninhio wrote: » How do you lose money in property in Detroit? Gaffs cost a few grand.
2lazytogetup wrote: » thanks for reminding me of that show. would love to watch an episode again but cant find them on youtube. that show was gas. mcguire would show some shed for 400k outside summerhill and had this mad laugh when the prospective purchaser was in disbelief that was all he could afford. i thought mcguire had the personality to go further in RTE. he had the charisma. i commented earlier in the thread about the rolling stones at slane felt to me the end of the tiger years. Well i saw mcguire at that concert with 3 stunning blonds. i was going to ask him to do the laugh, but thought he might hit me. wonder what he is doing now apart from car insurance commercials.
JimmyVik wrote: » Married to some TV presenter. I remember one episode where he brought a guy to some new build in Carlow. EA gave the talk and by the end of it Maguire had bought 2 houses in the place himself.