bubblypop wrote: » Merely on secondment from work, no choice
frozenfrozen wrote: » What country? Please say england so I can laugh
iptba wrote: » By the same logic, we should stop warning children to be wary of strangers as that would be victim blaming.
bubblypop wrote: » While stranger danger has a place, the majority of crimes are, unfortunately, committed by people close to the child. Family, close friends, trusted neighbours & family friends.
iptba wrote: » So we should stop warning children about strangers? It is victim blaming based on your logic to it seems.
bubblypop wrote: » Do you think a child abused by a stranger should be held responsible if they spoke to the stranger?
py2006 wrote: » Ah here now! Nobody is saying that. Children don't have the common sense and maturity of adults.
bubblypop wrote: » I don't believe anyone would ever believe a child was to blame it they did speak to a stranger who did anything bad to them.
bubblypop wrote: » For example, let's just say a female in your life, your sister, your friend, your daughter, comes home one day after a night out. She tells you she was at a house party, great fun, with friends she knows for years, she got a bit drunk & can't really remember what happened. Pretty sure she wanted to go to bed, but then she wakes up with a man assaulting her. Attempting to sexually assault her, or worse. Do you believe she is in anyway responsible?
iptba wrote: » Let's just say a female in your life, your sister, your friend, your daughter, contacts you one day. She tells you she was at home. She heard some noises and locked herself in a room. She thought it might be a burglary, but wasn't sure. It was a very stressful situation when she became more and more convinced it was a burglary. The burglars are disturbed by a car in the driveway and they run off. The gardai are called. Among other things after investigating the scene, they recommend that an alarm and stronger doors be installed. Are they saying she is responsible or are they just trying to be helpful and hoping to reduce the risk of a burglary in the future? Should they not recommend an alarm and stronger doors as it's suggesting the victim was in some way responsible or part responsible for the burglary? Rather than being simply a hypothetical, something quite similar happened in my family. Should alarms, stronger doors, etc. never be suggested as a way to reduce burglaries as it could be seen as a victim blaming?
bubblypop wrote: » This is a ridiculous scenario. Security advise, is merely that, advise.
bubblypop wrote: » Nobody blames a burglary victim after the fact, because they don't have an alarm. A victim of a burglary is never in any way responsible.
bubblypop wrote: » Should a member of the public require or ask for security advise, then the Gardai will give it to them. They will never suggest that someone is in someway responsible for their home being broken into because they don't have an alarm.
iptba wrote: » And yet, in your world, that is exactly what they did when they advised getting alarm and getting better, more secure outside doors.
bubblypop wrote: » No, in my world, if they required security advise, then they would be given it. They would never be in any way responsible for some other scrote breaking into their house.
iptba wrote: » So in your world should people be advised to get alarms and spend a lot of money getting more secure doors? It seems unfair, given "they would never be in any way responsible for some other scrote breaking into their house." They could have lots of other things they would prefer to spend their money on. Based on your earlier comments, it seems that, in your world, instead we should solely tell people they shouldn't burgle.
bubblypop wrote: » But the fact that someone doesn't have an alarm on their premises does not mean that they are in anyway responsible for any crime committed against them. Surely you understand that?
bubblypop wrote: » And, yes, as a society, we should tell people that they should not break into other people's property. That's normal is it not?
iptba wrote: » I would encourage people to reduce the risk of being sexually assaulted while at the same time telling society that they shouldn't sexually assault people. It's not an "either or" scenario. I'm not sure it is worth my while spending any more of my time trying to explain such concepts to you.
bubblypop wrote: » You genuinely don't understand, and clearly never will, until a female you are close to, tells you she is a victim. Perhaps then you will understand!
SEXUAL ASSAULT AND ALCOHOL: WHAT THE RESEARCH EVIDENCE TELLS US
jimwallace197 wrote: » https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/comedian-sil-fox-set-to-sue-state-over-sex-assault-case-dismissal-39311141.html Good to see this, I hope he takes them to the cleaners and also that charges are brought against this woman for this malicious accusation and what he had to go through. ....
Sil Fox: ‘My phone went silent. Nobody rang’ Jennifer O'Connell Jun 27, 2020 SIL FOX HASN’T REALLY BEEN HIMSELF SINCE THE DAY IN EARLY 2019 WHEN HE GOT A PHONE CALL ASKING HIM TO COME DOWN TO A GARDA STATION
Sil also plans to campaign to have the law changed so that people accused of sexual assault are not named until or unless they’re found guilty. “Sil Fox was not entitled to anonymity because this was an alleged offence that’s deemed less serious” than rape or other sexual offences, Kevin Winters says.
He pulls a piece of paper up from the side of the chair and reads from it. “All shows were cancelled straight away, including RTÉ Radio. I used to get strange looks from people. I lost interest in going out. I had to go to a counsellor every week. I’m on prescription drugs. I’m not sleeping very well. I lost weight; I used to be a 36” waist; now I’m 34”. I avoided meeting people. There were a few funerals I wanted to go to that I couldn’t go to. My phone went silent. Nobody rang, except some friends. Real friends. Some of my so-called friends never rang to play golf.”
Information key in supporting sexual assault victims - Blackwell
A working group was set up to review legislation here following a high-profile trial in Northern Ireland in 2018. Among the recommendations of the group, which were published in a report today, all victims of sexual offences should have the opportunity to receive free legal advice.