JohnnyFlash wrote: » It’s a dirty and dangerous drug that is causing a huge spike in young men presenting at psychiatric facilities with life-changing cases of psychosis.
Sarcozies wrote: » Do you have any data that I could read about this? By young men do you mean Over 18 (legal) or under 18 (illegal)?
corner of hells wrote: » https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/cannabis-related-admissions-to-psychiatric-hospitals-rose-185-in-eight-years-1.4051671%3Fmode%3Damp&ved=2ahUKEwjlr9SvkZPqAhWjSxUIHQkyDjcQFjACegQIBxAJ&usg=AOvVaw3oIHzyj4vjUyYQh0k8eA_D&cf=1 Bobby Smith is pretty well known in the treatment of adolescent drug users in Ireland.
TuringBot47 wrote: » And how many doped out potheads are a positive influence on society? Does it help them to work and contribute to society, or does it just mean they can be lazy nobodies drugged out on their sofa? Of course it's a gateway drug. They get their weed from drug dealers, you don't think they try upselling? I'd a brother-in-law... never harmed a soul, but loved his weed. Out of employment more than he was in it. Got a call he was found dead on his sofa. I still remember the roars of his mother as his body was brought into their sitting room before the funeral. These days, alcohol would be considered a drug and banned. But too ingrained in society.Decriminalising drugs only helps the useless losers that use them, certainly does absolutely no good for the decent people who contribute to society.
Lyan wrote: » I am for legalizing it, but can we just agree thgat those who use it are for the most part useless people who are often predisposed to using escapism and stimulant drugs in general (including alcohol)?
talla10 wrote: » Tesco sell cigerettes. How many are still imported illegally to avoid paying custom and tax charges?
_Kaiser_ wrote: » These threads always follow the same pattern. "Why isn't cannabis legal?. It is is x,y,z country! Why not here?" When asked to provide any positive benefits this would offer to society, this notion of it'll kill the illegal drug trade is trotted out and whataboutery about alcohol.But let's say that's true. What do you think those criminal elements are going to do if their trade is legalised? Push harder drugs? Maybe get into other things like robbing houses? Mugging people? Worse? Also check out the Garda Twitter feed which is already rife with stops for drug driving. You can be damn sure that'll increase if it's legalised, because unless drunk driving (which is rightfully considered as not on by most), cannabis still has this "it's harmless" notion attached to it. I certainly can't see any benefits of encouraging more stoned people on the road? I'd probably reduce some of the penalties for individual possession, and ramp them up for things like drug driving.. but I certainly wouldn't make it legal just coz it's a trendy liberal cause. Other than questionable personal "benefits" for those using it, I can't see what good it does anyone around them. Are there any? Honest question.
ladystardust wrote: » I dont agree with this. Maybe it's just my age bracket but I know a large amount of working professionals, who partake of a weekend. Like having a glass of wine.
Lyan wrote: » What do you mean by "working professional" and on how regular a basis do they partake? I am Doubting they fit into "most".
Hairy Japanese BASTARDS! wrote: » Read my post like a good kid. I gave NL as one specific example. The US, Canada and Portugal and other jurisdictions also meet the description.
ladystardust wrote: » Maybe not. I mean working professionals who are in managerial roles. Working in health service. Working in skilled jobs. Educated, productive people. And would partake a good bit, usually instead of drinking. Probably wouldnt fall into the 'most' category. But your point was surely to imply that generally wasters and non productive members of society are the ones using it.... or maybe that's what makes them useless ?
Sarcozies wrote: » I think you should also be asking what the Guards are gonna do if their easy fines and court appearances disappear once it's legalised. Also, isn't THC in your system long after it's effects have worn off? Unlike alcohol.
TuringBot47 wrote: » I'd a brother-in-law... never harmed a soul, but loved his weed. Out of employment more than he was in it. Got a call he was found dead on his sofa.
Hairy Japanese BASTARDS! wrote: » The US, Canada and Portugal and other jurisdictions also meet the description.
tommyombomb wrote: » Honestly i dont have an opinion either way, would prefer government to make tax money on it rather than criminals. Also know lots of people who use it who are successful. Wasters who use it were wasters beforehand. There is a direct correlation with opiod reduction in states where legalized in America. Anyone who thinks its a gateway drug know nothing, even some people who claim to work with people in this thread. Never seen anyone take coke, pills etc after smoking or sober. Only use it in combination with alcohol. Shocked how backwards the people online are. Too many people still believe media and information from years ago. Read up, watch documentaries and re-educate yourself before posting or having an opinion on something you think you know about. Also gateway argument is because people buy it from illegal sources who want to upsell. Personally feel every person who ends up on harder drugs when upsold is due to the failing of the state. Imagine if money spent arresting people and imprisoning people for weed went to mental health and education?
Austria! wrote: » It's not really clear what role cannabis played in his death, but regardless didn't this happen in Ireland where drugs are illegal? Is it that you think it would happen more if it was legalised?
Church on Tuesday wrote: » It absolutely is a gateway drug. Smells like **** too.
ShatterAlan wrote: » It's pretty much full-blown illegal in pretty much every country in Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Western Europe and Eastern Europe.
Thelonious Monk wrote: » You can go into shops in Spain and buy it over the counter
TuringBot47 wrote: » And how many doped out potheads are a positive influence on society? Does it help them to work and contribute to society, or does it just mean they can be lazy nobodies drugged out on their sofa? Of course it's a gateway drug. They get their weed from drug dealers, you don't think they try upselling? I'd a brother-in-law... never harmed a soul, but loved his weed. Out of employment more than he was in it. Got a call he was found dead on his sofa. I still remember the roars of his mother as his body was brought into their sitting room before the funeral. These days, alcohol would be considered a drug and banned. But too ingrained in society. Decriminalising drugs only helps the useless losers that use them, certainly does absolutely no good for the decent people who contribute to society.
corner of hells wrote: » Do you mean the social clubs ?
corner of hells wrote: » Continue with other duties and I'd imagine the average would be delighted if he didn't have to go to court dealing with half wits who haven't got the cop on to be discrete with thier drug use.