CrankyHaus wrote: » I was working in a bookies just before it all come to an end; when "soft landing" and "let's not talk ourselves into a recession" were being bandied around. The rumour one day was that the Santry shop was down €250,000 in turnover after a single builder who frequented it went bust.
pgj2015 wrote: » I know of a guy who paid 100 euro for a taxi trip that should have cost around 7. The taxi was booked but not after 100 euro being offered.
Muahahaha wrote: » As well as that during the Tiger there was a boom with lads training to become helicopter pilots. Knew one chap who got a bank loan of 100k and paid it over to a flying school in Florida where he said half the class was Irish. Bit of a hard landing for them all when the crash came, puns intended
Ipso wrote: » A few of the Ross O’Carroll Kelly books got the era spot on.
Kaybaykwah wrote: » From my standpoint, having lived in Dublin in the mid eighties, I remember the shoestring circumstances with affection, but I thought Ireland had something up its sleeve. There were all these young people leaving, educated, talented and wanting to experience life abroad. The same cycle of wash rinse repeat that bled Ireland for like ever, suddenly interrupted, and reversed by positive migration. I wasn't there to experience it, but was pleasantly surprised by the new circumstances when the Canadian media heralded the Celtic Tiger years. Reading the stories on this thread puts another perspective on things, and I wonder how the great Irish writers of the so-called Celtic twilight would qualify this period. There must be someone like a Flann O'Brien to have lampooned a future Ireland where the streets were paved with gold, etc...
completedit wrote: » These are brilliant. A fun time with serious consequences it seems. Maybe we needed to get it out of our system. I think we should bring up the celtic tiger more, the idea of people having 'notions' was cringeworthy a few years ago, but I think it was born out of an awareness of what came before.
Nigel Fairservice wrote: » I remember the banks giving out J1 loans in college. Lads would head over to America and drink all summer and come back broke....and a J1 loan hanging over them.
dirkmeister wrote: » There was a certain bank giving out €800 loans to students interest free back in 2005/6. Crazy stuff, lads used it to get through RAG week.
Hangdogroad wrote: » The Sunday Indo hyping z listers like Gavin Lamb Murphy. The O2 Girls. Brendan O Connor and his infamous "all the smart ballsy guys are buying property now" column. Great advice Brendan only this was 2007.
pawdee wrote: » That's gas. How many of those Mercs were Paddy spec manual C180s with cloth seats though? You'd swear we were living in Monte Carlo the way the media reported on car sales back in those days! Always made me laugh. Don't get me wrong, yours is a good story and I don't doubt one word of it. The helicopter bit is absolutely bonkers!
John_Rambo wrote: » Yeah, there was a lot of talk about how much people were worth. I remember one guy I met through a friend telling me he was a "paper millionaire". Weirdly he was including his parents property (of whom both were still alive and healthy) in his "portfolio".
Akabusi wrote: » I know a guy who set up a pluming business and thought he was billy big balls, had the nice cars and bought several properties, that was all grand but he relished in telling people how rich he was and what he was spending his money on. One of his last big projects was to buy land in the local area and build a mansion on it. The crash came and it never got finished, he owed a lot to local suppliers and they got stung badly, Anyone who could came and stripped the house to get back their items windows, gutters etc. were taken back. It was eventually sold by the bank and got bulldozed. He works in a phone shop now.
BrianD3 wrote: » Love the posts about helicopters, a property developer neighbour of mine had one that would regularly takeoff and land in his garden. Not sure if he flew it himself or had a pilot. Anyhow it was "only" a Robinson Just as with cars, there is a hierarchy.
mikemac2 wrote: » Disagree Even the Lux residents find it boring. Now Cologne, best city in Europe!
Sheep Shagger wrote: » Absolutely - tumble weed after 6pm.
ILoveYourVibes wrote: » Everyone was buying houses in spain etc ...like five families together owning a place in spain.
Atlantic Dawn wrote: » You wouldn't need the resources of a CIA team to find him online
pgj2015 wrote: » I wonder how that guy from Dundalk turned out. state of his hair.