Sheep_shear wrote: » I really wish his "What you should do with your SSIA" show on RTE was up on Player. Craic.
facehugger99 wrote: » No idea what this means
Sky King wrote: » Eddie Hobbs explaining what 'gearing' is to dumb dumbs.You see, what you do is, see, you borrow €900k on top of your own life savings of €100k and buy a swish gaff for a million... the value of the place will grow by 10% in a year, then you sell it for €1.1M and pay back your loan. Hey presto! You have just doubled your hundred grand in a year! I can see no risk to this strategy whatsoever.
double jobbing wrote: » The few people who did spent half their lives booking Ryanair flights for their friends who didn't have them.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » When normal people with normal jobs find themselves with extra money due to a boom, the right thing to do is to continue to live normally and bank the extra cash for a rainy day or early retirement. That's what the Dutch do. But you'll hear no end of stories about how stingy the Dutch are. I've no personal experience of stingy Dutch people do I don't know either way. I think we might all be wise to this stuff after the fact, but we're way too inclined to call frugality stibgyness when we actually see it in action.
thecretinhop wrote: » (5) stag nite in galway lad with his shirt ripped with a lot of 50s saying i cant get married without getting me hole i have 500 lads any joy?
Mr.Fantastic wrote: » I was only a child/teenager during the celtic tiger and just finished ty when the recession hit, my brother who has since passed was in College studying computer science(which I went on to do after in a h.dip) He was telling me at the time that the course cordinator was telling the lads in the course to go out to the sites aswell, a few of his coursemates also went with their fathers who were in construction and dropped out. The only mad story I have was a friend of my mums with her bi-monthly shopping trips to NY for gifts and her 750k house with bespoke wooden stairs and the like. Never begrudge anyone but they were a normal enough family with normal enough jobs didn't add up at the time.
helimachoptor wrote: » Myself and wife were going to a wedding, a couple of weeks before hand we got an updated invite to say it was now black tie only and only admittance would be in black tie. And also they didnt want gifts just cash. I cant remember the exact number but there was 200 or so due to go, about 70-80 turned up and most brought presents. Bride spent most of the day crying
CrankyHaus wrote: » There was an Episode of MTV's Super Sweet 16, a celebration of retarded excess like that, set in Ireland during the period. Most Episodes were in places like Bel-Air or Malibu. This one was in Dundalk :pac:. I knew a girl who was at it. She said the production company had Myrmidons going around instructing the girls to act like complete airheads on camera, and getting arsey when they said its not the sort of thing they do.
Sunny Disposition wrote: » That's the way it was with developers! Even at the time I found it funny, the insecurity with a lot of the newly successful ones was so bad that they had to outspend the next guy. There's no way his daughter liked a relatively talentless group like that so much that it was worth bringing them over. They'd surely have had as much craic with a good DJ there, but that's not a story you can use in the bar of the golf club when the bragging starts.
KoolKluxKlan wrote: » Who could forget this guy with his 50 noteshttps://m.youtube.com/watch?v=00umb7Cdgdk
mariaalice wrote: » n 2007, a property developer booked Girl Aloud for his daughter's 21st. The group were reportedly flown by private jet to Dublin and performed on stage before mingling with guests. According to event planners, the cost of the band alone could have been anything up to €400,000. Found this online, be hard to top that but I am sure some did.