dundalkfc10 wrote: » Have a look on the CSO site, Homeless figures are there. Your on another thread, saying people said things and when they ask you when they said it, you dont know :cool: Away and annoy someone else
Bowie wrote: » CSO stats are only relevant if they back the pro FG narrative. If they don't they're not.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » I see the Republic of Ireland have won a seat on the UN Security Council. Huge achievement for such a small country. Kudos to our ambassador, Enda Kenny, Eamonn Gilmore, Simon Coveney, Leo etc for all the work they put into the campaign.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Won’t mean much to the lads with the bang of heather off them John.
smurgen wrote: » To conclude you're happy that Leo chose Michael Martin to be Taoiseach and this is the least worst option? Someone he compared to John Delaney a few months back? Was Varadkas approval rating taken before or after the details of PFG came out?
JohnnyFlash wrote: » It's a huge achievement for the country, Brendan. I'd agree that it doesn't mean much to the lads who think about the parish pump, the next Wolfe Tones gig, and the price of diesel. But on an international stage this is a big deal. Well done to our civil service (I know you might not agree with that one).
NovemberWren wrote: » a stationary Helicopter, 20 mins. high in the sky, (i.e.going nowhere) over Waterford city, today. F.F. have started a circus show early. Then it (and another one?), was lower down, flying around. And, some 'Moorehead Report' that will give an extra E8,000 to all Councillors, so they jump from E17K to E25K. ya couldn't make it up. was something said today also about a general public sector pay rise?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Same as allegations...if they are made against a shinner, they are unquestionably true...'throw away the key', anyone else and it's 'prove that slanderous lie'
dundalkfc10 wrote: » The average Rent in Dublin at the end of 2019 was 2,044 a month. If you work 5 days a week for a month 8 hours a day minimum wage you earn 1616. Where are you suppose to find the extra money? That is one legacy the Govt have left, Young people have nowhere to turn apart from the airport.
efanton wrote: » Keep SF out of government at all costs, or see a future where neither FF or FG would never get a majority in the Dail again. It really is that simple.
satguy wrote: » It's not a done deal yet,, not even close. There is still the whiff of another GE in the air,, and if there is, and with the amount of poll toppers SF have, most with huge majorities. This may well be state changing in ways we can't imagine,, because, more than likely SF will add 9 or 10 more seats this time around. I would bet that SF will run running mates in at least 15 of their biggest constituencies that had poll toppers with votes to share. Then you look and see how many FG big names barely made it over the line on count 6 or even 7 in some constituencies,, While SF had guys in on first counts. Guys that had gigantic surpluses that more than likely will change Irish Politics for ever.
markodaly wrote: » Are you still telling us that FF will outpoll FG if there was going to be another election? :pac::pac::D:D Keep it up. I need a good laugh sometimes.
Bishop of hope wrote: » I think SF will lose some votes actually if there is an election now, the last 3 months haven't helped them at all, they haven't been good through this virus at all.There's a new crisis now, overarching housing by a mile and people wont trust them to steer u s through that. More candidates now could lose them seats. Their best option is a new Govt and hang in there whinging for another 3 or 4 years and hope that this Govt fcuks up. A fresh election now will only benefit FG and perhaps FF imo.
McMurphy wrote: » You serious? Wasn't it the dire state of our housing and health services that inspired the whole revolt against fg and FF to begin with? There's going to be a bit of a kerfuffle to deal with surrounding the nursing/care home controversies here and the death rate they experienced during the pandemic. Siteserv inquiry due to reach its conclusion in less than a fortnight. If it reveals "certain abnormalities" surrounding FG and a state contract's yet again with a certain wealthy businessman - I'd certainly not want to face a fresh election in the short term wake of that.
Bishop of hope wrote: » I doubt there will be adverse findings actually. Our health service has coped admirably, Leo's ratings are through the roof, FG well up in opinion polls, people fed up of SF constantly retreating when there's problems to be sorted and despite their vote making no serious effort to form a Govt. Giving out about FF and FF running the country and whinging then that they aren't included to join with FF or FG. They're a joke of a joke sort of, people are copping on and if they increase their candidates it could well cause them to lose seats. So yes, I'm serious.
McMurphy wrote: » Not long to go to find out thankfully. On the other stuff, FG have been at the helm of the housing and trolley crises for the last nine years, they are currently enjoying a bit of a bounce for how they handled the pandemic, they can be applauded for some of, but not all of their handling of it. I just don't see how you think their housing record will be brushed aside by the electorate if a new election is called. I don't see how leo or Simon can bat away any past transgressions with "but covid 19", but if you're serious, have at it.
Bishop of hope wrote: » My opinion is based on a fresh election now and with the country still coming to grips with covid and getting over this and getting the economy back on track, I think people will have more dependence on FG and (spit) even FF for that. SF won't win their seats as emphatically I feel and a couple of their TD's have been shown to be shams. If they run more candidates, as was suggested in the post I replied to, it could cause a split vote and actual seat losses. They'd be hoping for a few years of opposition before fresh elections themselves I'd say.
Bishop of hope wrote: » I think SF will lose some votes actually if there is an election now, the last 3 months haven't helped them at all, they haven't been good through this virus at all.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Nonsense, Sinn Fein will easily up their numbers by at least 5. Leo and Martin it looks like have failed to deliver a Govt (thank ****ing God) Roll on an election. Id also expect a major increase in the numbers of Under 30s voting. As social media shows, enough of this same old same old, look after ourselves and the Rich and worry about everything else after.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I think you could be right about 'losing votes'. But the polls show SF holding steady at 25% If there is another election I think all of the parties will have to adjust their approach. The theme of another election will centre(or should at least) around what you are going to do if you receive a mandate. Parties are going to have to be very clear about that imo. It won't be good enough to say 'we won't go into coalition' with x...nudge nudge wink wink' nor 'we will form a left wing government'.