Shefwedfan wrote: » and one day in band camp....
jh79 wrote: » 20+ years later and we are going to have a look at the logistics of an UI in a so far undefined manner. As a barometer of the want of an UI in the republic, i'd be disappointed as a republican. That section of the PfG has barely got a mention in the media either.
FrancieBrady wrote: » You better keep him off the internet so. The factual history of Linfield resides there. Nuggets of sectarianism and bigotry saw their fans invade a pitch and break an opposing player's leg (I'm sure club management claimed it was a 'coincidence he was a taig') the opposing team withdrew from the competition. Uefa also ruled at one point that your friend's grandfather's team play a home leg as far away as Holland to try to keep their vicious sectarian support away from a game. Was your 'friend' unaware of the violent history?
BonnieSituation wrote: » So we have a tangible statement in the PfG about the wishes for a shared united Ireland and nothing at all from the Partitionists who normally harp on about how "no one in the South wants a UI". It's almost like they were talking rubbish.
BonnieSituation wrote: » So the programme for government has been released:https://static.rasset.ie/documents/news/2020/06/programmeforgovernment-june2020-final.pdf Page 104 is where the "Shared Island" section related to the "Unity Unit" starts. Nothing too shocking, but enough there for Unionists to bloviate I'd imagine.
BloodyBill wrote: » But in fairness they keep their heads down as they have done since the foundation of the State. That's shown in the way that they are under represented in the Guards ect
BloodyBill wrote: » My username is Bloody Bill Cunningham. He wasnt a Confederate you simpleton
downcow wrote: » GAA has a long way to go to become inclusive and diverse. If those in control in the GAA have similar views to many of the posters on here, then I despair. You cannot fix something if you do not even realise that it's brokenhttps://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/its-not-political-its-about-racism-i-was-so-angry--antrim-ladies-footballer-dahunsi-calls-on-gaa-for-support-1004239.html Thankfully there are some more progressive and more aware voices in there here is what of them tweeted today She tweeted: “Very disappointed with the lack of response by the GAA, LGFA and Camogie assoc to the anti-racism movement. Missed opportunity to pledge to further promote an inclusive environment. Citing being a ‘non-political organisation’ not good enough when basic human rights at issue.” This is very healthy when someone has the balls to stand up to the sectarian racist bigots who are in control. Fair play to her
munsterlegend wrote: » Well FG just signed up to a United Ireland division in the draft programme for govt. As to whether it amounts to anything is another issue. All Southern Protestants don’t want a United Ireland? News to me. Although if you listen to others on here you’d think we have no Protestants down south at all.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 37% is most people? Maths not a strong point like a few others here who claimed 42% is a 'vast majority'. Why so protective about your username that you freely admitted was taken from a vicious Confederate. No skin off my nose, I find your use of it as 'interesting' as you find the the man.
BloodyBill wrote: » Shur 37% of people in Ireland would support Fine Gael going by the Irish Times poll. Fine Gael dont particularly push a United Ireland. I'd say most Southern Protestants would vote FG. Youd want to take off the Tin foil hat and play the ball and not the man. I dont have to justify my views to you. I just give my view and I debate or give an opinion. It's not within your power to enquiry about my username ,back round ect.
BloodyBill wrote: » Maybe in the future we ll have a totally new flag but until then we should have the IRFU flag only at the rugby and Hockey and the like.
BloodyBill wrote: » Just a few observations from a lifelong rugby supporter from Munster. I come from a Fine Gael background. I'd be fairly conservative. Myself and a Limerick man watched the Irish rugby team walk out at the Olympic stadium in London. He says to me 'The Unionists wont be happy that they got shafted with the Ulster provincial GAA flag and we get our Tri colour.' I said I thought the official IRFU flag was grand. Its definitely a small minded effort by some eejit in the office up in Lansdowne Road. The second one about the Linfield Jersey. Well that's a funny one too. My brothers a farmer and we were out in a gym in the shed and we heard the sports news. 'Linfield wear UVF Colours'. Immediately I said what do you think of that. He said..' shouldn't be on the news'. Youd swear Linfield invented Purple and Orange. Even if they set put to copy the UVF colours..nobody should care. That's their business. I just want to reassure the Unionists boys on this forum. Most Southerners..below a line from Galway to Dublin...and theres a few million of us couldn't care less about the colours of Linfield and if the Irish team came out marching behind the Tricolor and the red and white Ulster flag we be grand with that. Less than 1 in 4 people vote for Sinn fein but they make about 75% of the noise.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Funny that. To ingratiate yourself you just told somebody that there wan't a 'diverse view' in southern Ireland, in fact you said: I remember a certain infamous poster of fairly strident and belligerent Loyalist views who had a penchant for calling himself after famous Confederates. One wonders what the attraction and 'interest' is.
munsterlegend wrote: » So nothing about the valid point actually raised about the flag? Are you the lad who brings the confederate flag to cork matches? Remember now it’s banned.
BloodyBill wrote: » Everyone doesnt follow your World view Junky. Southern Ireland has diverse views. From Dublin to West Cork, Clare to Louth. You try to portray us all.as being Partitionists or Republicans. Theres many views inbetween.
Most Southerners..below a line from Galway to Dublin...and theres a few million of us couldn't care less about the colours of Linfield and if the Irish team came out marching behind
My username is an interesting character from the American war of Independence. A obscure enough figure that didnt follow the marjority narrative.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » Chooses Bloody Bill as a username, urges Irish people to be proud of the role some of us played in Britain's brutal empire, wouldn't have a problem with the Irish team marching behind the UVF's favourite flag. Something ain't right..
BloodyBill wrote: » Shur Cork tried to put a stop to opening Croke Park to other sports. Corks got a nasty enough little group of armchair Republicans who have never set foot in Northern Ireland
Junkyard Tom wrote: » So not using the flag of the disgraced Unionist government that was stood down by the British themselves and is cherished by unionist paramilitary mass-murderers is small-minded? I don't know what circles you move in, I live in Cork City, but I assure you that the Irish team walking behind that Loyalist rag would not go down well with the vast majority of Rugby fans. The Loyalist non-flag is rare enough to see when Ulster are playing in Belfast never mind inflicting it on the rest of us.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 'A world' where it's ok to call yourself after the bloodiest and most vicious Confederate the US has ever seen. Or is the nickname a 'coincidence' like the jersey?
Junkyard Tom wrote: » So not using the flag of the disgraced Unionist government that was stood down by the British themselves and is cherished by unionist paramilitary mass-murderers is small-minded? I don't know what circles you move in, I live in Cork City, but I assure you that the Irish team walking behind that Loyalist rag would not go down well with the vast majority of Rugby fans. What planet are you living on?
BloodyBill wrote: » Its definitely a small minded effort by some eejit in the office up in Lansdowne Road.
Most Southerners..below a line from Galway to Dublin...and theres a few million of us couldn't care less ... if the Irish team came out marching behind the Tricolor and the red and white Ulster flag we be grand with that.
RobMc59 wrote: » I've attached a link about the player-Alfred Ireland Harland.My friend,his Grandson is also mentioned in the link as he was also a professional footballer.He was a decent player back in the day-He is aware Linfield is a Protestant club.http://www.linfieldfc.com/latestnews.aspx?id=22983
Fionn1952 wrote: » Who would that have been? I can't find any record of anyone who played for Linfield, Everton and had RoI international appearances, Rob. My search was by no means exhaustive though. Acknowledging that Linfield have a very strong history of sectarianism is in no way a sleight on the man's playing career, and certainly not something I'd hold against him or his grandson. Burying your head in the sand and complaining that the grandson would be gutted doesn't make it any less true. Indeed, it is something the club had acknowledged issues with, and before the whole storm-in-a-teacup about the UVF colours jersey, seemed to be making some sort of inroads with. I'd be very surprised if your friend had a significant interest in his grandfather's career and was totally unaware of how significant an Irish international playing for Linfield was then, and why.
RobMc59 wrote: » A friends Grandfather played for Linfield and Everton,won seven trophies and represented Ireland at international level.He is rightly proud of his Grandfather's football career and will be gutted to hear how his Grandfather's team is viewed by certain posters here.