downcow wrote: » GAA has a long way to go to become inclusive and diverse. If those in control in the GAA have similar views to many of the posters on here, then I despair. You cannot fix something if you do not even realise that it's brokenhttps://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/its-not-political-its-about-racism-i-was-so-angry--antrim-ladies-footballer-dahunsi-calls-on-gaa-for-support-1004239.html Thankfully there are some more progressive and more aware voices in there here is what of them tweeted today She tweeted: “Very disappointed with the lack of response by the GAA, LGFA and Camogie assoc to the anti-racism movement. Missed opportunity to pledge to further promote an inclusive environment. Citing being a ‘non-political organisation’ not good enough when basic human rights at issue.” This is very healthy when someone has the balls to stand up to the sectarian racist bigots who are in control. Fair play to her
downcow wrote: » Rather than avoiding the question, maybe you can tell me why the flag of one nation was used and not the flag that is commonly associated with the other nation?
BonnieSituation wrote: » I'm sure you were apoplectic and decided to support the other team as a result. I can imagine the IRFU is distraught at the loss of your bigoted view.
munsterlegend wrote: » The man heavily involved in soccer up there and an agent for change but doesn’t support a local club. I’d say his rugby knowledge is top notch.
BonnieSituation wrote: » I'm sure you have the inside track on this.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Your prime minister has been accussed of racism with his 'letterbox' and other comments. Racist comments are made and they are dealt with if proven and there is a detailed code of how to deal with them. You guys think it's ok to splash the UVF colours over players, pretend it co-incidence and try and brazen it out. Well, nobody is buying that, not Umbro and not the general public.
downcow wrote: » You want to dominate over us. You just have no understanding of equality or diversity
downcow wrote: » Those that engage with me on this forum I trust will vouch for my honesty. They may disagree totally with my views and may think I am a headcase, but I trust that they will know that I do not claim stuff that I know to be untrue - I may make mistakes but this is not one of them. Let me assure you, I was in the presence of a player, who I would describe as a very moderate person, and they were spitting fire over the use of those two flags together. A flag of one country, and they seen it as a terrible insult that the flag associated with the other country could not be used because some people might be offended. This is from players who stand and try to hold their chin up when stuff they find offensive is played before every game. If I am really honest, I didn't even know the two flags and been used. So the whole thing was a surprise to me You just don't get it. You will never get it. You want to dominate over us. You just have no understanding of equality or diversity
downcow wrote: » I have been very clear about this. I will be shocked if any Irish league club purposely puts the colours of a paramilitary organisation on its shirts, whether republican or loyalist. Another poster claimed to have gems that would prove this if he was PM'd. I have PM'd him some time ago I have said that I will be straight on here to eat humble pie and apologise when he provides this evidence. Strangely he seems to have disappeared. But I will not be found wanting if Linfield have purposely been involved in a disgusting act like this
Madeleine Birchfield wrote: » The Ulster unionists are afraid of demographic changes in Northern Ireland means they'll lose their majority and consequently their social/cultural/political power in Northern Ireland. Same ****e the Trump supporters/Confederate racists are worried about in the US.
downcow wrote: » Suffice to say they Northern Ireland guys were completely pissed off by this
downcow wrote: » flag that is commonly associated with the other nation?
downcow wrote: » Yes this was the final insult. We have two countries playing. Could you give me any justification why the flag of one country was flown and then the flag of a province was flown alongside it???? The answer is clear. They just could not stomach a flag that had any association with Northern Ireland being flown. Oh I would love to say what I know one of the Irish players said their coach when this happened. But I would be breaking confidence. Suffice to say they Northern Ireland guys were completely pissed off by this
RobMc59 wrote: » A friends Grandfather played for Linfield and Everton,won seven trophies and represented Ireland at international level.He is rightly proud of his Grandfather's football career and will be gutted to hear how his Grandfather's team is viewed by certain posters here.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Still arguing about the past. Yep, nothing changes.
Fionn1952 wrote: » Who would that have been? I can't find any record of anyone who played for Linfield, Everton and had RoI international appearances, Rob. My search was by no means exhaustive though. Acknowledging that Linfield have a very strong history of sectarianism is in no way a sleight on the man's playing career, and certainly not something I'd hold against him or his grandson. Burying your head in the sand and complaining that the grandson would be gutted doesn't make it any less true. Indeed, it is something the club had acknowledged issues with, and before the whole storm-in-a-teacup about the UVF colours jersey, seemed to be making some sort of inroads with. I'd be very surprised if your friend had a significant interest in his grandfather's career and was totally unaware of how significant an Irish international playing for Linfield was then, and why.
RobMc59 wrote: » I've attached a link about the player-Alfred Ireland Harland.My friend,his Grandson is also mentioned in the link as he was also a professional footballer.He was a decent player back in the day-He is aware Linfield is a Protestant club.http://www.linfieldfc.com/latestnews.aspx?id=22983
BloodyBill wrote: » Its definitely a small minded effort by some eejit in the office up in Lansdowne Road.
Most Southerners..below a line from Galway to Dublin...and theres a few million of us couldn't care less ... if the Irish team came out marching behind the Tricolor and the red and white Ulster flag we be grand with that.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » So not using the flag of the disgraced Unionist government that was stood down by the British themselves and is cherished by unionist paramilitary mass-murderers is small-minded? I don't know what circles you move in, I live in Cork City, but I assure you that the Irish team walking behind that Loyalist rag would not go down well with the vast majority of Rugby fans. What planet are you living on?
FrancieBrady wrote: » 'A world' where it's ok to call yourself after the bloodiest and most vicious Confederate the US has ever seen. Or is the nickname a 'coincidence' like the jersey?