FrancieBrady wrote: » I just watched a Primetime segment on the tourism industry and the lack of clarity for them and lack of action. That's exactly what I foreseen, TD's like yer man O'Donovan (get rid, he will lose you votes by the parish) bull****ting will just annoy and exasperate.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 10 mt benches...who'd have thought? :)
Bowie wrote: » Cell phone deal, siteserv deal, water metering deal, broadband deal, hospital beds deal. I'm likely missing a few. FG think the yellow pages is a Post-It with Dinny's number on it.
Bowie wrote: » Either FG are awful at brokering deals on behalf of the tax payer or FG are engaged in crony behaviour...and awful at brokering deals on behalf of the tax payer. No issues with Mr. O'Brien. Likely FG would buy the Brooklyn bridge off him at a loss to the tax payer. Dude
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Wow that was your opinion from the beginning!! Well how coincidental that is after people are suddenly questioning the exit strategy been too slow in the last week or so. But of course you seen this from day one. Course you did:)
FrancieBrady wrote: » My opinion from the beginning was that handling the virus was the easy bit. Anyone of the parties would have done it more or less the same and gotten the same bounce. I think the difficult bit was always going to be managing our way out of it and that is when the old FG will re-emerge and they'll fall back. 59 seats is wildly optimistic in September.
blanch152 wrote: » I remember Francie criticising from day one. In fact, he was consistent in calling for a stricter lockdown and even more stringent measures. Later he was strident about the need to test hospital staff, not enough being done, then later again it was the nursing home staff, somehow not realising that there was a worldwide shortage of testing. The same thing could be said for many posters on here who have oscillated all over the place, mainly grasping for a way to criticise the government.
Bishop of hope wrote: » And people shouldn't criticise the Govt should they? Their response to Covid was very good. Their actions elsewhere still leave a lot to be desired. They're still the Govt that were effectively voted out.
Bishop of hope wrote: » In fairness lads, the it's worse there than here is, wearing thin.
Having control of a budget whereby it's given to you and make what you will of it and being in charge of how it is generated is a different ball game.
McMurphy wrote: » Didn't see it myself, but according to the twitteratti crowd John McGuiness was creating quite the storm last night - implying FG are not (despite what they want us to believe) at all serious about govt formation talks, and (again this is second hand information) are in actual fact acting the dick. McGuiness is calling for a NGU. I get the feeling the recent opinion polls might be creating a bit of internal friction from within FF - I guess Michaél has a squeaky bum around about now, and is probably looking over his shoulder.
markodaly wrote: » McGuinness has always been contrarian when it comes to anything FF do with FG. He is still harking back to the days of Bertie and Haughey when FF used to get 70+ seats in every election and ruled the sway. Those days are gone and guys like McGuinness dont know it yet.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Yes, B, always in hindsight, always looking for the angle to try and land a punch on the Govt. Could one imagine the Shinners and Bullhorn Brigade being in charge handling this.
McMurphy wrote: » True too for the power swapping party's for the last century, who now cannot govern without each other nevermind without a wee mudwing party to prop them up. Will Michaél still be FF leader when the govt formation talks reach their conclusion?
markodaly wrote: » Ah, I give an inch, you take a mile. To state that FF's days are done being the presumptive party of power, it does not mean that a) FF are done or that b) FG are done. Indeed, this may be good for FG in the long term, as there are hints that a European ideological divide is now being created. SF is the main party of the left (for now, wait until they actually get into power and we will see their vote collapse) and FG being the main party of the right, and I use the term right loosely as FG are very very centrist.
franciebrady wrote: So fair play to the government here on what they have done well so far but also fair play to those brave enough to stand up and be counted too.
franciebrady wrote: They fool themselves that enough Irish people will not be able to separate performance during a crisis from performance in normal government. And also codding themselves that the hard bit of this crisis is to come...this in terms of governing is the easy bit.
McMurphy wrote: » I never said either were done mark, I said the days of the power swapping between them looks to have ended. There's a 3rd party to contend with now.
markodaly wrote: » Perhaps for now, but as I said, history is not kind to left-wing parties in Ireland. SF in government will ruin them and their easy populist answers to all the complex problems we have will be for naught.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Have you seen what way the youth vote? SF will be the main party soon, they are the only party appealing to the young voter.
Until that changes get ready for SF in power
FrancieBrady wrote: » I like to see people in denial...but most of all I love to see FG and FF people in denial and especially when they have to fantasise because they cannot deny the facts.
Edgware wrote: » And while in Munster check out the difference in the number of military engagements there during the War of Independence and what went on in Ulster. Then you will realise why the South got their freedom
markodaly wrote: » Here is some earth-shattering news for you. Young people grow old.... Yes, it is astonishing isnt it. Who knew? :pac:
markodaly wrote: » Here is some earth-shattering news for you. Young people grow old.... Yes, it is astonishing isnt it. Who knew? :pac: Yes, and we have seen a utopia in the North are SF are in power. SF in power will be just another disappointment of the youth vote, where they will realise again, that nice rhetoric does not translate into actual change or solutions.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » The trends show that when they get older they are staying with SF. The games over, it's just a matter of time Govt talks failed all because they refused to speak to SF. That's what the people will see
Brendan Bendar wrote: » That’s not what Middle Ireland see, dude.People who have skin in the game. What they see is what they can’t see.....the shadowy figures up on the windswept hills pulling the strings and the puppets responding to their promptings. The game is up ,dude, the Waterford ‘deppity ‘ couldnt hold back, Middle Ireland saw what was running the party.....and stayed well away!! Better get used to it my friend.