Hubertj wrote: » If someone is talking through their h*le there isn’t much debate to be had. So tell me how society would operate without credit? Also are you suggesting there governor of banks of Ireland acted illegally in relation to cartrawler? That sounds like a fairly serious accusation.
standardg60 wrote: » Discussion is making an argument one way or the other. Describing people as peddling when making an argument is essentially surrendering to their argument when you don't have a legitimate response. The housing market in this country has basically become a pyramid scheme over the last couple of decades. It requires more and more new entrants supporting an argument that stuff costs a particular amount and therefore can't fall below a particular amount. Who says land should cost A Who says developers should make B Who says construction workers should make C Who says estate agents should make D Who says banks should make E Actually they do because they have loaned to B to pay A, C and D. Credit is the enemy of society, what would things actually cost without it? The ST business section ran a complete sop to Cartrawler.com last Sunday despite having laid bare it's financial position over the previous two weeks, including the fact that Bank of Ireland was writing down millions on an outstanding loan. The Governor of BOI is unbelievably also the chairman of said company! People seriously need to cop on.
The_Conductor wrote: » Google 'Sheephill Avenue, Corduff' with the terms gangland, arson, drug dealing, gun attack, Gardai attacked, Doctor's surgery ransacked, pedophile scout leader, rape threat to Garda's wife, petrol bomb, knife attack, houses shot at, 20 Gardai needed to quell a riot, gun battle, mob feud.......... And thats probably just touching the tip of the iceberg....... They like to drop the 'Corduff' part of the postal address..........
Hubertj wrote: » Well if you can call what people peddle in here discussion....
MattS1 wrote: » Why would anyone willingly enter a contract such as that? Completely stupid.
coolshannagh28 wrote: » Is this a discussion or condescension forum ? last time around prices fell by 70 % in many parts of the country and there were still buyers for property , if there is a worldwide slowdown there is nothing to stop prices falling much more than the insiders predict.
Villa05 wrote: » Had a bit more of a look at that and it appears that median price is down 8% yoy and evidence of a move away from the cities to lower priced areas outside the city WFH effect?
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » Jaysus seems like a complete warzone
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » Any links to news stories? This has peaked my interest
cnocbui wrote: If I am reading it correctly, economists in the US had expected April new home purchases to decline to give a total annual fall of 21.9% with a resulting 480,000 sales.
cnocbui wrote: Instead, sales in April actually rose 0.6%, implying annual sales of 623,000.
The_Conductor wrote: » Theres parts of Sarajevo that were razed, that are safer than that estate.
TheSheriff wrote: » Only 65k
OneMoreBabadee wrote: » + Rewiring, plumbing, stud walls, plastering, floor/ceiling joists, staircase, etc. You don't know the extent of the fire damage. Anyway that example is not any indication of the property market in general, so I don't even know why it's being discussed on this thread.
Claw Hammer wrote: » it is more than a site. New roof windows and door, a bit of paint and you are laughing.
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » Specialized equipment to remove smoke damage from brickwork, remedial work to ensure its structurally sound after a fire. It's probably just easier to knock it if your allowed to build a detached property
OneMoreBabadee wrote: » That's an auction reserve price, not an asking price. And you're essentially just buying a site, (with extra demolition/removal costs) in an estate that probably has a lot of antisocial behaviour and undesirables living within. So 65k is probably about right.
coolshannagh28 wrote: » Just like your ignorant Luddite view that the inevitable will be reversed in some parallel universe you inhabit
Hubertj wrote: » its just a lazy throw away comment by someone that doesnt know what they are talking about. If anything, this will result in jobs being reshored to Europe, Ireland, US etc. The pandemic has resulted in many MNCs identifying supply chain challenges. Expect the likes of Apple to move some manufacturing out of China and back to US and Europe. Single source supply chains are done for many.
Mic 1972 wrote: » you need to be eligible to work in ireland even if WFH for an irish compny
ELM327 wrote: » So I've been involved in the CBA for a return of an outsourced dept to back in house, yet I know nothing?