Mortelaro wrote: » The national broadband plan? I don't care who owns it I'd prefer its built now and benefiting the 500,000 homes with slow internet
At least it's being built We could have prevaricated endlessly like the way we were and never have one Honestly, there are people riding the pandemic payments They are doing us a disservice as we will all pay for that Arguably though,nothing should be done about it,the payments will soon cease anyway ,job done
smurgen wrote: » Young fine Gael taking serious flack on twitter and FG hypocrisy being exposed big time. Don't you just love to see it ��https://twitter.com/commie_spice/status/1264173336986255360?s=19
FrancieBrady wrote: » They deserve everything they get after tweeting that. I'm sure that Leo thought that clip was gone and forgotten forever.
McMurphy wrote: » Did your man Donal give you permission to copy that tweet and post it in a public forum smur?:pac: I have that clip bookmarked a few years now Francie.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I agree,but it is a pretty damning indictment of centre right politics,the state had to set in and build it (also dont see,we just have to hand it away to private business?)
I agree its good to build it,but complaining about people roasting the covid payment,while blindly cheerleading handing BAM a blank chequebook and defending it,is the definition of partisanship in my eyes
Mortelaro wrote: » My view is at least it's being built Much of the western rural world regardless of government type,has poor internet,we could have prevaricated or abandoned this I'm glad we did not So no I do not agree it's an indictment
I'm not blindly cheerleading anything The Covid payment cheaters are stealing The cost of the hospital is the cost of the hospital If it was projected to cost final bill,including all the things they have had to add to it, €2 billion at the start,would I think it made sense Yes I would Extra legitimate costs are costs The lad going on Covid of his own choice, because its €50 more than his normal pay is being dishonest and taking money from you and me
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Kind of reminds me of the flip flip SF did with water charges. Initially in favour of them, then seen the populism to be gained from protesting against them:) Or attending Syrzia events then dropping them like a hot potato:)
[Deleted User] wrote: » It pretty much is an indictment of the taught process that says private business will build to meet the market Quite why people think its a great idea to spend taxmoney on building something to hand over to private business to charge taxpayers is beyond me
The orginal hospideal cost was 600 milliom...latest estimates are 2.8 billion...likely to rise further now with covid costs
What job is ge earning e50 less than??,the whole country was shut down? Lads cite apple as great for using tax loopholes aided by FFG to evade paying tax....but lad getting e50 a week extra is robbing the country :pac:
Mad_maxx wrote: » FG are at best centrist FF have always been centre left ( largely rural - think healy raes )populists and have never been more left than under MM , he is as socially liberal as anyone in labour or the greens and just as keen to spend , a party can have many rural conservatives on social issues while still being centre left labour and the soc dems are middle class socialists SF are far left , eoin o broin is a marxist PBP are communist we haven no centre right in this country comparable to the conservatives in the uk or the republicans in the usa or even the liberals in australia ireland is undoubtably a centre left country, we love big government
FrancieBrady wrote: » Were you not berating people a while ago for deflecting?
Mortelaro wrote: » 2 reasons really It's either that or it doesn't get done and the state doesn't get caught for maintaining and upgrading the new network
Covid costs are also unavoidable I'd still rather have the hospital than not
You say pow tat oh,I say potato It's still dishonest Btw FFG as an entity did not create the loopholes The legislation was created when they were warring parties Regardless the apple money in Escrow isn't ours
RandomViewer wrote: » The traditional followers of FG, the ones who vote in the likes of Bruton and that hard faced yoke that replaced Piggy are as right wing as they come, the face of FG may have softened but the nasty streak is still very much behind the mask.
Deleted User wrote: » It pretty much is an indictment of the taught process that says private business will build to meet the market Quite why people think its a great idea to spend taxmoney on building something to hand over to private business to charge taxpayers is beyond me The orginal hospideal cost was 600 milliom...latest estimates are 2.8 billion...likely to rise further now with covid costs What job is ge earning e50 less than in??,the whole country was shut down? Lads cite apple as great for using tax loopholes aided by FFG to evade paying tax (to extent we spend millions defending their right to do so)....but lad getting e50 a week extra is robbing the country :pac:
[Deleted User] wrote: » Did FG spend millions of our money,defending apples right not to pay tax?? The money is immaterial,its pure blindness by idolgy
claiming lads getting e50 extra a week are the issue and robbing the country,is the political equilivalent of shouting at crows,after pigs breaking into a field of potatoes
FFG claim of being warring parties,has for the entirety of my life,been a lie and make believe opposition,when both are near identical in outlook as long as i can remember
Mortelaro wrote: » To be fair,pointing out people are entitled to change their mind on something said 5 years ago is not deflection, its just a valid point
FrancieBrady wrote: » Who 'pointed out' anything? Pointing at another party when your own one comes under scrutiny is deflection.
Mortelaro wrote: » I wouldn't go down that road on a parties recent history,especially nasty streaks or masks It opens the door to someone pointing out what most regard egregiously nasty stuff in the not distant past of one of the other major parties, that is revered
Mortelaro wrote: » Nope Not being allowed to change your mind is dictatorship though
FrancieBrady wrote: » JJ said zilch about 'not being allowed to change your mind'. What arises from Young Fine Gael taking credit is their complete ignoring of the fact that it was FG who mostly opposed reform of rights for LGBT people down through the years and very recently our present Taoiseach was instrumental in keeping those rights from people. JJ had nothing to say on that...nor you, so far.
McMurphy wrote: » Yeah, being in favour of water charges, but against the monstrosity that was Irish water, is exactly the same thing as a gay man opposing SSM and then (literally) coming out in favour of it. I can see why it reminded you of it tbh.
blanch152 wrote: » Luckily they weren't homosexual in West Belfast a few years before that. Wasn't tolerated by some of the hard men.https://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/people/sfs-gay-marriage-backing-contrast-past-intolerance-homosexuality-1390504 For all that Leo didn't support gay rights, he wasn't going around kneecapping them like those who had the support of many in Sinn Fein today. You have some neck for calling people out on lack of support in the past for gay rights.
Mortelaro wrote: » What has Leo's sexuality got to do with anything?