FrancieBrady wrote: » So you just invented 20 mins. Very good.
Deleted User wrote: » That was a fairly brutal exposure of a fantasist Kinda suprised he walked right into it 10/10 internetting skills
blanch152 wrote: » Ah here lads, come off it. Looking very comfortable, relaxed, deep in conversation, that wasn't a quick jump-in for a photo opportunity. As I said, Louise wasn't known for her brevity back in the union days, unless she was walking out. Your credibility in comparing the two situations is just completely shot.
piplip87 wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/sinn-f%C3%A9in-under-fire-over-welfare-cuts-move-1.2435441?mode=amp So SF Northern Branch are supporting a motion to give more power to Westminster. Once again showing that they are not willing to make hard decisions, they would rather pawn off the responsibility and blame to Westminster. No doubt next year they will launch a campaign if any welfare cuts are introduced blaming everybody else. It's clear at this stage SF are not fit to govern. They collapsed the assembly over issues that would be dealt with in Parliament. They managed to keep it closed until Brexit happened so they could wash their hands of it. How anybody who sees themselves as a Republican can actually vote for a party that hands more power to Westminster to save themselves making tough decisions is beyond me.
FrancieBrady wrote: » 2015??
a very cool kid wrote: » While it's a but strange to pull up an old link I guess the point stands.... You can't whinge about "austerity", "workers" and the "tories pulling the strings" when it was your idea to give them the power to make the same cuts.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Well there has been the passage of time since that...so adjust your date setting and research why they did that.
Mortelaro wrote: » That's a very brief response Francie? Holding? I'd suggest a follow up email to SFHQ asking for more clarity in the reply I'd do it myself but I'd say you'd get a faster reply
FrancieBrady wrote: » efanton covered this yesterday. Boredom Morte is the problem with me this AM...I could not be arsed researching for people who cannot look at the date line on a newspaper.
Mortelaro wrote: » I generally don't go beyond the first line of efanton because of too many inaccuracies The make up of DCC yesterday being the latest So when you're rested I actually didnt know powers were voluntarily either not taken or handed back The problem with having financial powers is NI is not viable in it's own right
[Deleted User] wrote: » Iirc it was something along lines of the DUP blocking budgets at the time and stormont being on brink of collaspe,if their wasnt a budget (its a joke of a government anyway,deosnt work) So to prevent collaspe,westminster handed control to admin the budget,the DUP learned quite alot politically from this exercise and used same blaggarding over next year or 2 to repeatdely block legislation/reform, Eventually overreaching and,thus insuring stormonts collaspre for years on end, being inevitable outcome over a relatively modest compromise in the end
Mortelaro wrote: » That's one way of looking at it However why was the SDLP against this?
da_miser wrote: » SF if the are smart will take a step back and let FF/FG get on with running the country..............into the ground. SF will clean up at the next election , they dont have enough TD's to form a government this time, but next time will be different
Edgware wrote: » And then you woke up
Blueshoe wrote: » FF percentage of vote 22.2% Popular vote 484,320 SF percentage of vote 24.5% Popular vote 535,595 FF percentage of vote 20.9% Popular vote 455,584 Gp percentage of vote 7.1% Popular vote 155,700
Poor_old_gill wrote: » The issue I would then have with the reasonable wing of the party is their utter failure to rule in NI. The dereliction of duties, petty squabbles and non existent economic growth in NI should be ringing serious alarm bells in people’s heads..
da_miser wrote: » Fact is it's not in SF interests to be successful in the North. Why would the people want change if the North was economically prosperous? If every thing is hunky dory why risk unification with the South? SF need to get into power down South, Work hard and be the best government possible, get the economy going, make Ireland a leading country in many fields and then up North they can say, the North could have all that as well if there is unification, but London is holding back the Norths potential.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » That’s a cultish leap of faith opinion - worrying stuff. Maybe they just aren’t able to govern, as the evidence suggests. The funny thing about your ‘point’ is that the south already is streets ahead of the north economically and that’s been achieved without SF. So the south is doing substantially better without SF ever having been anywhere near power and the north, where SF has been in power, is a failed state living on handouts - and you think that this is some grand plan?
FrancieBrady wrote: » The first thing SF should do in Government here is to subsidise classes for those who think being in the Executive in Belfast is the same thing as being in The Dáil in Dublin. It is ridiculous that people are still making the comparison.
piplip87 wrote: » Yet SF voted to hand back power to Westminster regarding welfare cuts a few years ago. They are now screaming about how they have no power over the same issue they decided to hand back to Westminster...... They have constantly shown in the North that they are not fit to govern. Collapsing the assembly over issues that should be dealt with in Parliament. So since 2015 they have purposely handed power over to Westminster twice, Yet they claim to be Irish Republicans ?
FrancieBrady wrote: » The truth of what happened there was pointed out to you when you posted what you thought was a current article yesterday. It just makes you look incredibly uninformed. Being uninformed is one thing, refusing to take on board when it is explained to you is a much more serious issue for your credibility.
piplip87 wrote: » No I took that on board but yet the fact is that SF still handed power willingly back to Westminster. It's laughable.