giveitholly wrote: » They had to make a big deal of mairead ronan turning 40 today on the breakfast show,in fairness she is the first working mother/woman to turn 40! Fair play to her
TaurenDruid wrote: » Yizzir right. Radio was much better when it was only Gaybo, Gerry, Ray, Tony and George on the radio, none of these vagina-havers polluting our airwaves... :rolleyes:
retalivity wrote: » Think you'll find fergal darcy lacking in the vagina dept, and he's a bigger dose than ronan
Harry Palmr wrote: » Ciara kelly on, me off. She never even gives herself a chance with her inane freestyle opening rambles which mean people like me immediately have the space to make a decision to switch off. It could be 5 minutes before she finally settles into a topic.
TaurenDruid wrote: » The opposite here. I can listen all day now, and usually do. Podcasts or Spotify limited to my walks. I have it on from 9 (I get the news/current affairs from Morning Ireland first), then, frankly, I can usually do with some light relief after that, so Dermot & Dave are perfect for that. I'd say most people are the same - there's only so much Covid news you can take. Mairéad's show is great - never really got to hear it before. There's a decent mix between music, light entertainment topics and more serious stuff. And I find her very honest and human. I used to like Ferg D'arcy's show when I occasionally heard it before, but I have to say I am finding him a bit wearing lately. And although I'm all for Irish music being promoted, there are more bands than The Academic and The Coronas! The Last Word I can take or leave - if the topics seem boring, I'll switch over to 5-7 Live unless it's Mary Wilson presenting, because I age 5 years just listening to that voice. Then we've excellent music for the rest of the night with Ed Smith or Dec Pierce, and Paul McLoone.
Waccamacca3 wrote: » Love the fact someone text in to mairead ronan a show that she is so negative and stop with all the me me me she just tutted
flangemeistro wrote: » I turned off Mairead at the start of the lockdown, Jesus H Christ the woman put me into a fit of depression, she blatantly said on a few days that "there's zero craic here" She sounded like she was going to burst into years a few times about using a box dye, talking about privileged and stuck up her own arse. She's shown how completely disconnected she is from her average listener and is going to come out of this with a lot less listeners. I've also found a similar trend with Jenny Green, obviously not as bad but constantly telling people to stay home and if someone rang in to say they were having a walk or something she's sounded notably pissed off and told them to remember their social distancing so I'm gone back to Darcy for those 2 hours.
JoeA3 wrote: » Jeeeesus. Why can’t these people just play the music, keep the links short and otherwise STFU. No one wants to hear Jenny Greene’s or Mairead’s “opinions” on anything else. Could you imagine Larry Gogan pontificating from up on a high horse like that? No way. And that’s why he lasted 40+ years in the business.
The Princess Bride wrote: » Wow, surprised she read it out!
sligono1 wrote: » Like another poster said the week before the lockdown I stopped listening to Mairead ronan the negativity and up on her high horse about every popular topic.as some one said why cant the all just play music. I would use the radio as a football instead 9f listening to Darcy he is so fake a real bandwagon fella. Its great working from home i can tune into any radio station in the world.i.find many simple have a format where they just play music why does the irish stations think they have to spent most of their time talking crap instead of playing music.
sligono1 wrote: » Shes not suites to the main role.on a radio show and her production team ain't much to write home about either.
NIMAN wrote: » You don't need an internet radio. There are phone apps, and if you have a laptop that'll work too.