Harry Palmr wrote: » Of those who have died of Covid 19 13% were diabetic but of course that's one of those context free stats that means little - type 1 or 2? what other chronic/underlying conditions exist in a given case? and so on.
Harry Palmr wrote: » That's here, the media briefing on RTE News Now has just fired out a load of stats.
Buford T. Justice VI wrote: » Apparently, the recommendation now is to treat all COVID19 patients as if they have diabetes due to patients developing diabetes like symptoms during the course of the disease
Harry Palmr wrote: » and 13% here do, which for me suggests the issue is ethnic based Type 2 in the UK population. The split betwen type 1 and 2 will be made clear in the UK next week according to the guardian
Adalyn Big Numeral wrote: » Well seems I've been the victim of the lock down.
banie01 wrote: » I'll be honest Mak, I think it'll have quite an impact on a lot of us who were in previously good control. I've given up my usual morning testing routine as my sleep cycle is banjaxed and they were always in at 10 or higher since lockdown started. My consultant appt was pushed out to November, so I'm going to focus on spending some time on the rowing machine and trying a bit of lifting to add some muscle mass. Your effort to control and then overcome your T2 is a great motivation to many on here. You've got this, you've knocked it into remission once and you will do it again!
CramCycle wrote: » Had my virtual hospital appointment over the phone today. All was grand, sent in all my info via email before hand, doctor seemed happy enough. Bit of weight gain and boluses have increased but the doctor was not concerned in the short term.
kowloon wrote: » Woke up in an absolute pool of sweat with a headache and sore legs. My laptop was open, undrunk cup of tea beside me. Not sure what happened, did I fall asleep and have a hypo later or am I becoming hypo unaware?
CramCycle wrote: » Sounds like a hypo to me. Could be either, have you been running lower than normal lately, hypo unawareness can creep in quick enough.
kowloon wrote: » . Maybe I haven't been sleeping at all and I've been setting up fight clubs in other cities.
banie01 wrote: » Don't invite Mak, sneaky feck is a judo-kai :pac:
Harry Palmr wrote: » Just got my appointment for a virtual consultation with my diabetic nurse for next week.
Adalyn Big Numeral wrote: » Almost forgot, I hadn't rode my motorbike for about five weeks. It was easier to get dressed into my uniform (I'm a soldier) and use the car for work as their was no traffic. So the other day I put on my motorbike trousers and couldn't fasten the waistband lol.
Rushy Fields wrote: » Hi, I have been having a lot of pains in my two arms over the past year. In particular, I seem to have developed frozen shoulder on my right shoulder with severe pain at times from sudden movements and lying on my right side. To compound things I am beginning to suffer with pins and needles in both hands which travels up my arm a bit. This seems to happen in the mornings when in bed and when I am about to get up. I am just wondering is part and parcel of being a T1 Diabetic which I have to suffer with for the rest of my days. ? OR Is there anything I can do about it? Anyone with similar experiences, would appreciate your knowledge..... I am a part-time Farmer and have an office job. But it affects my farming a small bit at the moment but I wouldn't like it to get worse. Any cures for the tingling/pins and needles in the hands?
Harry Palmr wrote: » That's interesting which hospital do you go to (I'm UHW in er Waterford)
pew wrote: » I'm dreading my next appointment with my consultant!! My last hba1c was great with gp but that was before lockdown. Let's just say leggings and flowy dresses are my friend right now :pac:
Adalyn Big Numeral wrote: » I was on duty over the weekend and the lads were wondering why I was wearing a winter fleece barrack jacket, I couldn't tell them it was because my shirts won't fasten lol. Like I said early, I was mostly using the car for work during the early part of the lockdown. I avoided cycling because I really wasnt' sure how safe I'd be in regards to the virus and being beside other cyclists. Just before lockdown I was being treated for a stress fracture in my left fifth metatarsal bone, lockdown came and my treatment stopped so I haven't been running. Although I swim a lot its only running which really keeps my weight down. Its actually funny to see how some of the lads have gained weight in work lol