riffmongous wrote: » We're not talking about the western world though are we, we're talking about last gasp Catholic Ireland in the 90s. I don't know what your younger years were like but there was nothing openly discussed about sex or masturbation in the Ireland I remember
riffmongous wrote: » If you forgot about all the actual sexual abuse that was occurring of course, which seems to be the way in this thread, some sort of self selection bias maybe
riffmongous wrote: » I think I'd prefer nowadays.. as a poorer family we'd be better off, less chance of corporal punishment, having access to the internet would have helped a lot academically, less Catholic Church influence on our lives
JupiterKid wrote: » Oh come on! My school in Dublin had sex ed in the late 1980s when we were 12/13 - granted it was ahead of the curve, but not unique. You could get bootleg porn videotapes in secondary school from certain students. The 90s was a decade of tremendous and very rapid social change in Ireland, changes which began back in the late 1960s and early 70s but which snowballed in the 90s.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » I went to a nominally multi-denominational (though still basically Catholic ethos) community school from 1996 - 2001. We received sex education. My husband went to a Catholic boy’s school from 1995 - 2000. No sex ed. None. Seriously. I was shocked. I really thought that by the late ‘90s, sex ed had arrived in all schools. I think my husband’s school was a more commonplace school experience than mine so I reckon a lot of people never received in sex ed in schools in even the late ‘90s.
silverharp wrote: » its a difficult one, kids today have the planet's knowledge at their finger tips , so I envy that but back in my day we werent bamboozled by choice and expectations were more reasonable
JupiterKid wrote: » Oh come on! My school in Dublin had sex ed in the late 1980s when we were 12/13 - granted it was ahead of the curve, but not unique. You could get bootleg porn videotapes in secondary school from certain students. The 90s was a decade of tremendous and very rapid social change in Ireland, changes which began back in the late 1960s and early 70s but which snowballed in the 90s. In hindsight, I’m glad that I grew up when I did, but I know that we all look back at out younger years with the bias rose-tinted specs to a large degree.
riffmongous wrote: » And anyway the suggestion that getting a bootleg porno from a student is a rebuttal to 'nothing openly discussed about sex or masturbation' is a bit stupid
CPTM wrote: » I think I'd like to have been a child in the 50s and young adult in the 60s. Seems like it was a good time back then, in America in particular. Wouldn't want to be a kid born today, too much technology starting to take them from the real world. They're all haunted as far as I can see, bewildered when looking up from whatever device they're glued to.
Sarcozies wrote: » Great time back then -- separate drinking fountains based on race, separate schools based on race, separate public transportation based on race. They really had it figured out back in the good ol' days.
DanielODonnell wrote: » The only difference for me if I was born in 2012 rather than 1992 is that my mother would have thrown me out of the house if I was born in 2012 as young parents now would never let their adult children live with them no matter what mental illnesses or social diseases they have.
ThomasFlynn wrote: » Seems a lot of people I know around my age generally disliked their childhood growing up in the 80's and 90's how much they hated it and how horrible it was. Children look back and think how did kids back as late as the 90's survive without the internet, phones, social media, its looks like a life of complete misery to them. Would you have much preferred to grow up as a child today instead rather than in your era?
JustAThought wrote: » Defo prefer the era I was brought up in - much more freedom, no video/photo witnesses to everything, the bullying was in person and you could usually mostly avoid them, no overwhelming pressure from internet/FB/instagram, technology overload and Jesus- the points to get into college nowadays. I was walking the dog in the park yesterday and this kid scooted up alongside me and started chatting about the dog. All I kept doing was checking to see where his parent was as I didn’t want to be accused of anything! Kid was dog mad so he scooted alongside us chatting for about 15 minutes until I stopped in the hope his parents would catch up or he would tire and scoot away. He was eight years old, and started to cry because his mother had said his dog had ‘run away at night and wasn’t coming back’ and he was scared that Freddy Kruger and the Slenderman would come and get him after midnight now that he didn’t have his dog to protect him and save him from the deamons. He knew they were real because he had seen them on the over 18’s section on Netflix and had read lots about them on youtube. My heart nearly stopped listening to him and his fears. No 8 year old kid should be facing into that cos his mother leave him to watch tv and use the computer when she is at work - and did I have a father because he didn’t anymore and a lot of his friends did. God Almighty. Give me my happy childhood anyday. He walked around the park with me and I let him hug the dog and his mother was at work and wasn’t there and he was going home to an empty house. My heart broke for him. Life shouldn’t be that hard or complicated or alone when you are 8 years old.
Randy Archer wrote: » While the inter web ,and wap on mobiles were big by 1998 onwards , lack of internet was grand. Who remembers phone dial internet and the noise For all your basic football /gaa news you had Aertel and BBCs version of it Magazines were a big deal then. Your favourite football club had a monthly magazine that you could browse at in Easons on Saturdays when you were mopping around the town with no money lol. Music mags were big deal too , and Playboy, allegedly of course, was legal by 1993ish (loads of stuff band before that ) Knacker drinking /underage drinking was way more exciting, no mobiles so parents could hunt you down and no Judas betraying the pack with stupid selfies posted up on Facebook or twitter etc, Updates about the next Training etc Were mobiles weren’t a thing ...you hear from it in school, maybe your coach would park outside the school to let ye know (he’d have kids in the school too ) Music was better , and there was even a sense of excitement to the album n single charts. None of that hip hop and r n b vomit either ,though some of the pop music was nonsense Less whimps around too , you either hardened up or got slapped . Grrrr Also, from 1991ish onwards, there was a big sense of positivity creeping into the country, the economy was starting to work and a lot of religious nuts were getting annoyed (divorce laws and new attitude towards single mothers ) by 1998 , things were fantastic in Ireland (oddly enough all my sports teams won stuff too lol ) People could say what they wanted and sod anyone who felt “insulted” - though I do recall the divorce and abortion referendums were nasty as was the fall out from Fr Brendan Smith Watching UTV was a rather surreal event in that it was like watching bingo..How many Nordies were shot dead tonight and what street were they from. You knew revenge would be sought the next night . Who remembers the channel 4 ads about the north . (Cat in the cradle ...) Hindsight , the fashion ,bare element of Cool Britannia /Brit Pop we’re shockingly bad. Saying that, it was refreshing to see U2 (around Achtung Baby) ditch the cowboy Jesus act that they picked up from the 1980s ....leather trousers with leather waist coat and no shirt ..what was Bono doing ?