bilbot79 wrote: » This isn't unfeasible at all Dublin gaff 550 splits into Irish countryside gaff - 300 Pad 1 abroad - 125 Pad 2 abroad -125 What's up doc?
KyussB wrote: » Long term working from home = your employers will make you a contractor, not an employee - and even if your current employer has difficulty doing that, any new job you take up, will only hire you as a contractor if you'll be working from home. Once the workforce is atomized like this, you become disposable like e.g. Deliveroo workers - your employer can shove a huge chunk of equipment/utility cost on to you - you lose all side-benefits you'd get as an employee - you sort out your own pension, no company contributions if you previously had that - you are available 24/7, not from 9-to-5 - some jobsworth managers, who need something to do to justify their jobs/existence, will use intrusive monitoring/tracking to 'verify' you are really working, or just to spy on what you're doing out of curiosity, on your own home devices (which are piss easy to access over your local network - any corporate VPN software can trivially be configured to access your LAN - most of this intrusiveness will in many cases be through mandatorily installing tracking apps yourself). You're not going to be an employee much longer - you're going to be a contractor, with your employer being able to fuck you over a lot more, because you're just this depersonalized thing behind a screen, who can't really do much to defend himself/herself when constantly under the threat of unemployment, and isolated away socially from all other workers and unable to unionize. Good luck with that...you think having a shit employer in a physical workspace is bad? Wait until you've got a shit employer that's so bad, that they can intrude on every hour of your waking day, in your own home.
KyussB wrote: » How can anyone feel as if they 'belong' to a company they are never physically at? When you work from home, you're identical to any other worker anywhere in the world, as far as your employers are concerned.
JimmyVik wrote: » Be careful. One guy I work with moved to west Mayo about 5 years ago and works from home. He wanted to leave for over a year now but cannot get a job that lets him work from home. There are jobs but paying half what he gets paid now, so he is kind of stuck.
Jim Root wrote: » Guy I know moved to the back end of Waterford and commuted 2 days a month was suddenly surprised when his pay the following year didn’t increase in line with the Dublin employees. Was crying blue murder.
jrosen wrote: » I think this is a little naive. Most companies who have work from home policies will have it stated in your contract that your children must be either in childcare or under the care of another adult in the house. What happens when your getting the kids up, fed, lunches made and all the usual morning chaos? what happens when they come home from school? The huge benefit with WFH is the commute. Anyone with kids will still need childcare to some degree.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Really? Where did you get this from? I'm hearing the exact opposite, that WFH is here to stay, and we have to find ways to make it work.
gazzer wrote: » Same. I work in the Civil Service and we have basically been told that for the rest of the year at least we will only be coming into the office once a week (one staff member per pod of 4 desks) and WFH the rest of the time. Though prior to COVID it was very hard to be allowed wfh even once a week. Mad how its been turned on its head in just a few months.
Jim2007 wrote: » Why do you need to feel you belong to a company in the first place? My family, my friends and my local community very much so, but a company no. It’s an economic arrangement, I’m not there to socialize or be popular, I’m there to do a job and get well paid for doing it.
Niamh:>) wrote: » Well I was talking about working around school hours, and maybe my husband doing the morning shift with the kids. I was never trying to say I could work with the kids here, but flexibility is the key , for both of us. I mean I’m doing that now and the kids are here !
M256 wrote: » If you work for a multinational it is very likely that most of your day you collaborate with colleagues in different countries without having met them, like never. You lose 2 hours a day in traffic only to sit all day in Skype in the office.
Biker79 wrote: » In that case, your job can be marked by head office in the States for automation. With current tech, somebody chatting on Skype can be replaced by a chat-bot, once their tasks within MS Office are automated.
Mr.S wrote: » Will it though? People don't live in the city (centre) just to be near work.
jrosen wrote: » What happens when your getting the kids up, fed, lunches made and all the usual morning chaos? what happens when they come home from school? The huge benefit with WFH is the commute. Anyone with kids will still need childcare to some degree.
Stheno wrote: » I think this is a somewhat simplistic view, particularly in IT, a lot of the jobs there would not be ready candidates for automation especially at more senior levels
mvl wrote: » ahh, sorry, but that is a simplistic view of what activities might happen on that chat: you can have architecture / research-related activities by virtual teams already, these are the ones enabling the automation you are about - so would be automated last ?!?
Augeo wrote: » What senior gigs can be readily automated?
Stheno wrote: » Do you mean cant?
Augeo wrote: » No, I don't mean can't. You made a point that particularly in IT a lot of the jobs there would not be ready candidates for automation especially at more senior levels. I asked what senior gigs can be readily automated ........ to clarify, I'm referring to outside IT.