noodler wrote: » They has been pay increases every year since 2016. They included reductions in PRD /threshold changes as well as gross increases.
addaword wrote: » And how many public servants lost their pay and pensions during the pandemic? The private sector took all the pain.
Jim Root wrote: » What price job security eh?
Just Be Confident Bro wrote: » I'm a civil servant. I am supposed to get a pay rise this year and go up two points on the scale (an extra point for pay restoration). I will be seriously fcukin pissed if that does not happen.
Deleted User wrote: » on one hand the berate us with job security on the other they scweam to take it off us.....just when it becomes relevant an awful bunch, id say they struggle badly tbh. lads, get out and march for taxing the rich. get the coffers of the state nice and full so that we can provide ye with the services ye deserve and dont be annoying us looking at our salaries and pensions, ye will only upset yerselves.
Sultan of Bling wrote: » Part restoration, not increases.
purifol0 wrote: » The budget for public services just goes to public sector pay & pensions. Garda Budget - 90% spent on pay - common complaint from members "We are so under resourced". Avg garda on 67K or 100K when pension is factored in. HSE budget - bigger every year, 100,000+ employees - nurses straight out of college going on strike purely for more money closing cancer wards because but hey they're are angels somehow. Joe public cant even get an appointment, so one in two have private health care Army - 75% budget spent on pay and pensions -no money left to actually run the equipment. Education - no money for infrastructure just pay & pensions, sorry kids you're going to have to go easy in the portakabins they're basically permanent. Teachers work so many hours, except the world plus dog knows they don't, and I'm not even talking about their holidays. Semi states - privatize profits and socialize losses - CIE are going bankrupt - what do they do? reduce pay in line with every other biz? Never! Just moan at the govt to cover there losses so they can continue to drive empty buses around and not be inconvienced by the nasty economics of reality. Civil service - get to retire earlier than the private sector worker, no particular reason except one rule for them and one for the rest of us. Thanks Labour! Private sector pays for the public sector, but when there's not enough money what happens? Govt just borrows it and heaps it on the national debt - screw financial responsibility - that wont buy the votes of the public sector unions. Which has us in the very mess were in now. A public sector on avg paid more that 40% more than the private sector worker it leeches off of.
Deleted User wrote: » be a good post if backed with any facts accounts are public. your assertions are all incorrect. rest is opinion, old, tired and many times refuted.
purifol0 wrote: » Haha yeah ok fine.
Sierra Oscar wrote: » What's your point? No one is disputing wages are rising in the public sector. They are increasing in the private sector too. Private sector wages increased by 3.5% in Q4 2019 as compared to 2.7% in the public sector. That trend has been well established throughout the economic recovery here in recent years. Private sector workers see accelerated wage growth during the good times while public sector workers see lower rises but are protected during downturns. That has been the way for a long, long time.CSO - EARNINGS AND LABOUR COSTS
Sierra Oscar wrote: » The public sector pay negotiations that are due to take place later in the year for 2021 - 2023 will obviously be shaped by current events, but I don't see any pay cuts on the horizon. The pay increases due later in the year will also go ahead as planned as it has already been budgeted for and the required productivity measures have already been delivered on by public sector workers. The Government would be going against it's own pay deal if they renege on the pay rises that it negotiated and naturally the public sector unions wouldn't engage in future pay negotiations if that occurred. The last thing the Government wants right now is all out strikes in the public sector.
Sierra Oscar wrote: » What's your point? No one is disputing wages are rising in the public sector. They are increasing in the private sector too. Private sector wages increased by 3.5% in Q4 2019 as compared to 2.7% in the public sector. That trend has been well established throughout the economic recovery here in recent years.
Jim Root wrote: » This is delusional. Any company I know is reneging on planned salary increases this year, even if they had been budgeted.
n97 mini wrote: » And those doing so should be on normal salary. But you'd agree those that have no work should be temporarily put on the C19 payment?
Mad_maxx wrote: » its better than what most receptionists or low level secretaries do in the private sector and they dont have a guarenteed pension differences between public and private are widest at the lower end
LRNM wrote: » Working for the ambulance service and earn 600 per week before tax for a 39 hour week. Anything after that has to be earned through overtime. Honestly if I got a paycut I'd just pack it in. It's piss poor pay and conditions and we're treated like dirt by the HSE. I don't know whats up with peoples obsessions with wanting to drag us down to the minimum wage levels of the unskilled private sector. Funnily enough, all the private sectors including low paid places like supermarkets are getting bonuses and pay increases for working through the pandemic. What do we get? A big fúck you that's what.
purifol0 wrote: » Why is it ok for govt to heap debt onto us to pay for you? If they reduced your pay you wouldnt even dream of going back to the private sector. 82% of public sector workers stay there for life, its just that handy, secure and lucarative. "If its do good in the public sector why dont more people join" - The cat is out of the bag and the pubsec increased its numbers massively over the last 5 years. Almost 400,000! All on full pay while tax take is nearly nil and the rest of us in the real world have bills and uncertainty.
n97 mini wrote: » And the current trend? Public sector business as usual, private sector decimated.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » How about we first of all identify who are these librarians doing no work? Where are they? Have they been reassigned by their local authority to other departments, or to the HSE for contact tracing? Do they actually exist anywhere beyond your own imagination? There have been no pay increases. There has been some restoration of previous cuts, though still a long way off, with the 5%-8% PRD applying across the board, and not even on the agenda for discussion about restoration. All public servants lost some pay. Many public servants on fixed term contracts lost all their pay. The only private sector folks who lost their pensions were the ones were greedy on their appetite for risk and their investments tanked. Don't expect others to pick up their gambling losses.
purifol0 wrote: » Just in case anyone thought I was being hyperbolic when I said entire budgets for public services are going solely on pay and pensions, well consider how much Ireland takes in per year in tax revenue, and watch where it really goes...
Geuze wrote: » (4) Current PSSAhttps://www.gov.ie/en/publication/432f22-public-service-stability-agreement-2018-2020/ PDF:https://www.gov.ie/pdf/?file=https://assets.gov.ie/6618/394821552e784f17aa5407e8af32e410.pdf#page=1 The principal pay measures in the agreement are: • 1 January 2018 annualised salaries were increased by 1% • 1 October 2018 annualised salaries were increased by 1% • 1 January 2019 annualised salaries up to €30,000 were increased by 1% • 1 September 2019 annualised salaries increase by 1.75% • 1 January 2020 annualised salaries up to €32,000 increase by 0.5% • 1 October 2020 annualised salaries increase by 2%