gormdubhgorm wrote: » You know and I know SF's tactic is as simple as this wait until the older/better educated age demographic of the electorate dies off. So they can rise in polls as the newer generation are too naive to see through the party. A generation who do they know of/remember the multitude of SF duplicity and double talk - in the matter of life and death. And more importantly human decency
TheCitizen wrote: » When the Assembly wasn't running you and other FG fans attacked them for the assembly not running, now you're attacking them for taking part in it. :pac: The attacks on Sinn Féin though if anything appear to be having the affect of galvanising and growing their support. It went into overdrive the week prior to the election and we heard the usual rhetoric that SF never perform as well in the actual election as they poll prior to it. This time the opposite was the case, despite a concerted frenzied attack from the mainstream media dragging up old stories from decades ago on behalf of FF and FG, SF outperformed their polling predictions. This government cycle is going to be fun. FFG will spend all their energy and focus angrily attacking SF while SF grow in opposition and outflank the two of them. And this thread is some laugh, come back in 6 months time and posters like you will still be sitting their spouting vitriol. You're worried about SF leading opposition and growing in that space. You should be and hence the vitriol continues..........
BloodyBill wrote: » Fact is most FF and FG people have more in common with the ordinary Unionist voter than the Sinn fein voters. Centre right ,conservative people, salt of the earth. The DUP arent the bigots or headbangers Sinn Fein paint them to be. I'd take them over left wing Republicans any day. Leo Varadkar speaks for middle Ireland ,always has really. I dont like how liberal he is and hes not great for us rural dwellers but most middle class people like him calling out the hypocrisy of the left wing bandits.
TheCitizen wrote: » Child like levels of rhetoric? The irony that that's what smartarse Leo is exactly engaging in in that clip above. He didn't look very smart the day of the election results. His party went from number 1 to number 3 in one election. In any other circumstances you'd expect his head on a block after a failure of that magnitude and indeed the talk was that Leo was to step aside and wouldn't be staying in the politics game longterm as he was expected to grow tired of his vacuous style of photo ops and glib rhetoric. It's amazing that after "losing the election" as FG heads put it themselves that he's still the FG leader and it should be concerning for FG fans that that is the case also; but on here at least it appears you're too busy attacking the main opposition party.
Shefwedfan wrote: » According to some of your SF fans on here the election is now dead and the new agenda is the RedC poll. At the moment FG are at 35% based on that poll......:P:P:P Not a bad return for our Leo Personally I think the poll is rubbish.
armaghlad wrote: » You’d really need to direct that to someone in SF, maybe tweet Michelle O’Neill, I’m sure she’ll have plenty of time to respond saying as she and her colleagues are doing nothing. The point of my original post was when you are sharing power with a bunch of actual lunatics (they’d make Gemma O’Doherty blush) then it’s easy for someone to criticise from the sidelines like Leo likes to do.
Shefwedfan wrote: » So if that is the case why are SF even part of it? why dont they make a stand for the people of Northern Ireland and not join the elections?https://www.sinnfein.ie/files/2017/MANIFESTO_ENGLISH.pdf Funny they have a manifesto and all for the "glorified county council" From the manifesto: There can be no return to the status quo. That means that all parties in government must uphold the principles of respect, power sharing and parity of esteem. Sinn Féin in the power-sharing Executive will exercise our democratic mandate to deliver a new politics, a progressive politics that delivers for all citizens
Odhinn wrote: » I may not have mentioned them (my bad), but I did include them in the possible total number of seats - 60, all told. SF Lab PBP GP SD 37 6 5 12 6
armaghlad wrote: » Oh please. Spare me this complete and utter bullshít. First off, the Stormont executive is a glorified county council, so jot that one down. SF are in power with a bunch of right-wing reactionary idiots who can and do veto anything that doesn’t tie in with their interpretation of either the bible or their sense of extreme British nationalism. This all against of a backdrop of ten years of conservative power and Tory austerity. So really calls the shots? Neither FG or FF have ever bothered their holes standing in elections in NI but the likes of Michael Martin and that sanctimonious git Varadkar (who made an absolute fool of himself yesterday) are happy to snipe from the sidelines, scared shítless of the thought of losing power in the Republic. SF are far from perfect, far from it but these wallies act like butter wouldn’t melt.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Yeah you get 'blah blah blah' as a reply. I got 'rambling' thrown at me when I dissected my many problems with SF, and the problems they have. It is funny have SF rhetoric on the internet descends to child like levels/ or at best teenage levels when they have no other retort. Of course many make take thier lead from the very top in fairness:
blackwhite wrote: » You accuse others of dishonesty - yet deliberately omit the Greens (who are certainly a party of the left) from the count :rolleyes: They were there to be courted by any party serious about tying to form a Govt - yet somehow it’s the fault of FF or FG that Sinn Fein are too toxic to even win over other left wing parties? Cut the dishonest BS - does nothing but undermine your credibility
McMurphy wrote: » Boy are you in the wrong thread.
blanch152 wrote: » Sinn Fein have done nothing in government in Northern Ireland to improve the lot of the people there. They are an abject failure, Varadkar was on the nail pointing that out.
bassy wrote: » Hi guys just wondering if anyone can help me out?. I've a tractor ride on mower and need a new cutting deck belt on it and need the deck looked at to cause it's loose and wonky. Any of you guys know someone in the kilkenny laois Carlow areas that could repair it?,cheers.
Shefwedfan wrote: » Do you think the country just magically recovered on its own without the government? Yes FG fecked up, hence why they are out but they have done plenty in the years they have been in government. What have SF done since they took over the power sharing in Northern Ireland?
McMurphy wrote: » Getting tiresome at this stage. You're entirely free to ignore me, but just chalk this down, if you're going to quote me, do so with the expectation that I will come back with a counter. If you have no answer to the counter, as already explained - ignore, because posts such as the above reveal an awful lot. There was no personal attack in the post you edited to say "blah blah blah" there was a reasoned response to counter what you posted - with explanations why they countered yours. If you have no answer fair enough - just skip on by. Also - just checked. Waaaaaaaaaaaay more 100+.
Shefwedfan wrote: » As usual no answer to the question and attack the poster. Seems your incapable of answering a simple question..... Funny you have no problems throwing it out.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » You had no answer in other words so dismiss it as rambling. I have made it very clear in the last post but it an inconvenient truth for you. Boards.ie I give thee a SF supporter - typical. Say nothing answer nothing and hope it goes away. Much easier to brush it away as rambling no nitty gritty discussion when it gets uncomfortable about the SF mindset and very recent actions that would be the death knell of any other party bar SF. Just because....
TheCitizen wrote: » You're rambling now
Beasty wrote: » FrancieBrady is now threadbanned
TheCitizen wrote: » Another broad sweeping statement. What have FG done in government the last 9 years? In a time of prosperity, the health service just as dysfunctional as ever, a housing crisis with families living in hotel rooms, a botched attempt to bring in water charges that cost a fortune but achieved nothing. Isn't that why (as FG gobdaw Patrick O'Donavon put it) "FG lost the election"? They lost it on Health and Housing and yet they're going back into government again, we'll see how that works out for them.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » There is a major difference in normal day to day, politics of politicians bluffing - to a party glorifying paramilitary organisation (SF), A paramilitary crowd which is a parties back bone (SF)- in this day and age. And not only that, a party who protects republicans who engaged in murder in thier community just because they had a row for instance. I find it all a bit sick, as do many others. Control through fear/omerta that is how it works. That is not politics. That is akin to the same tactics Hitler had with the Brownshirts/SA when they surrounded the Reichstag to make sure those inside knew how to vote on the Enabling Act in 1933. SF's tactics are still the same - only they are much more covert and insidious manner, to get people to toe the line and say nothing. Or talk in circles and muddy the waters, when it comes to criminal republican activities. You only have to look at the Sean Quinn case (murder victim after republican's took offence), Maria Cahill case (Republican rape victim) , Liam Adams Case (Republican pedophile kept in SF circles for years). The Liam Adams case really contrasts what happened Dennis 'the tout' Donaldson by the way.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/man-to-be-charged-with-murder-of-denis-donaldson-1.3945518?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Fman-to-be-charged-with-murder-of-denis-donaldson-1.3945518 Why was that I wonder? It is dirty murky world in SF the feminisation of SF may put a veneer of harmlessness to it. But do a small bit of digging and it is not a pretty sight. You only have to look at some of the comments from SF TD's during the GE and only a few years back the antics of O'Snodaigh where his SF helpers were spying in the Dail.https://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/sf-man-linked-to-ira-ring-spying-on-tds-26226624.html And AOS wife and his sister who have shown zero respect for the Gardai in thier past actions.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/wife-of-sf-deputy-among-three-fined-for-public-order-offences-1.405803 That is the mindset. It is kind of funny, when he spends loads on printer ink:https://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/aengus-o-snodaigh-admits-to-using-loads-of-ink-cartridges-but-insists-he-did-nothing-wrong-33091 But when AOS calls a Jewish TD 'Goebbels' we can really see the true colours of SF.https://www.herald.ie/news/osnodaigh-stoops-even-lower-with-nazi-jibe-at-jewish-td-27898237.html It is a real murky world SF live in. Lowest common denominator stuff which sells well in areas like Clondalkin, Darndale etc The ordinary decent 'clued in' Irish voter does not want this sort of stuff. This is the whole reason there is the stalemate. Under Dail privilege SF could easily come clean and route out those polluting SF. But they cannot, not because it is an illegal organisation, but because some very high profile un-elected current or former IRA members are pulling the strings in SF. It will not happen on thier watch. Also there is a real irony about why SF did not run more candidates. Because they got hammered in the local elections and they were afraid of running too many candidates in the GE. Think about it. Why did they do so badly in the locals in comparison to the GE? It was because the 'new' SF vote are not engaged in politics and probably completely ignore elections at the best of times so why would they vote in a local election? And all of this is before we get into SF's political record in NI which is completely at odds to a lot of what they say 'down south' when they actually turn up in stormont.https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:3Kdvi9pOC4gJ:https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/sinn-f%25C3%25A9in-under-fire-over-welfare-cuts-move-1.2435441+&cd=5&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie So yeah there is plenty of reasons not to vote SF even when people are not being murdered in rows (and being protected by republicans) , assassinated for being a tout, abusing Jewish TD's in the dail, spying on TD's in the dail - there is always tax evasion.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/slab-murphy-a-good-republican-despite-jailing-gerry-adams-1.2554445?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fpolitics%2Fslab-murphy-a-good-republican-despite-jailing-gerry-adams-1.2554445 But apparently according to Gerry it does not matter so much if you are a 'good republican' like Slab Murphy. Would any other party or party members get away with all this litany of stuff? Other than SF? Plus that is only scratching the surface. Yet your main worry seems to be worrying about some politicians 'talking out the side of thier mouth'. There is normal political 'talking out the side of the mouth' then there is SF which takes the talking to a whole different stratosphere. I barely have time to discuss SF and Northern Irish Bankhttps://www.theguardian.com/politics/2010/dec/12/wikileaks-sinn-fein-northern-bank SF knew the bank robbery would take place.