rovers_runner wrote: » Given the lockdown is effectively over as of the middle of this week I'm suddenly a lot more optimistic about races come October. Once we hit Sept and realise there is little or no existence of the virus remaining in community transmission then the ban on large gatherings will be lifted. The Gardai know it's over, the CMO knows it's over. The Dept of spin are holding steady but will buckle after bank holiday Monday.
Downtime wrote: » Lockdown is over? Since when? The lockdown will be here for a lot longer, some restrictions might be lifted but I cant see the lockdown being "over".
rovers_runner wrote: » We are back to restrictions(businesses/hotels/services limited or closed). Lockdown means restrictions on movement, which isn't being policied anymore. Lockdown is over.
Steve wrote: » Mod note: If you or anyone else on here continue with speculation like the above then it will have consequences. Nobody knows what the future holds.
rovers_runner wrote: » If nobody knows what the future holds then how the f*ck can you consider an opinion speculation.
TheW1zard wrote: » Ah my whole season is fecked id say. Looking to 2021 now!
Trampas wrote: » Slight exaggeration there.
TheW1zard wrote: » If events go ahead ill be doing em!
Trampas wrote: » What events. Unless dcm goes ahead why would you bother if season is wrecked
average_runner wrote: » In fairness, the part about the community is correct and not speculation.
Once we hit Sept and realise there is little or no existence of the virus remaining in community transmission then the ban on large gatherings will be lifted.
Steve wrote: » Which part? This? Community transmission can only be contained within a lockdown. If the virus still exists then community transmission is inevitable. The only way to stop it for those infected to pass the contagion stage without infecting more people (lockdown) or for them to die in isolation. Right now, the CMO is reporting r0 of about 0.5, meaning that for every 10 people that are infected, they will pass it on to 5 others. This is DURING lockdown where everyone is staying apart.. Imagine what that figure would jump to if 25,000 people were running, coughing and spitting in close proximity. It's not going to happen. Posts saying 'this is over' are giving people false hope and encouraging complacency when it is absolutely not needed or wise to do so.
Steve wrote: » https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/ireland/ Let's be realistic, Are you really saying that 19,648 people infected and 1,102 dead is low? 3 days ago we had the highest recorded mortality rate ever in this country. Now, more than ever we need to have some common sense and a realisation that the age old "shure it'll be grand" is not going to save us.